We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Santa Fe Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tecolote Cafe - CLOSED

Tecolote Cafe
1203 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505-0943
505-988-1362
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Hamburgers, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Tecolote Cafe was started in 1980 by Bill and Alice Jennison with a desire to feed guests great meals, affordably, with superior service. Mr. Bill and Alice's recipes have been pleasing palettes for 31 years. In May of 2010, sadly, we lost Mr. Bill after a long and accomplished life. Since August 2010, Katherine Adkins (Bill and Alice's daughter) and her husband Matt Adkins have been doing their best to honor Mr. Bills vision in carrying on the family business We offer a varied menu focusing primarily on New Mexican breakfast and lunch cuisine, as well as some American favorites.We bake all of our breads in house as well as our muffins and biscuits contained in our bakery basket. A little known secret to our great burgers? Fresh baked Kaiser rolls to vehicle our superb patties and ingredients. Whether you come for breakfast or lunch, we are sure you will be pleased with our delectable choices and our warm, friendly atmosphere. If you aren't, just let us know so we can make your experience everything you hoped for!Katie and I, or Alice, can't wait to see you on your next visit. So, come on in, and remember, we serve "Great breakfast, No toast!", just for you.
Mountain View, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Santa Fe Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a great breakfast here at a great price. The Yucatecas was fantastic as was the blue cornmeal and pine nut pancake (you only need 1)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    176
    87
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Yummy Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Food here was excellent! Their hot chile (both red and green are wonderful) was excellent on huevos and breakfast burritos. Large portions and constant coffee refills were served by a fun and engaged wait staff. A thoroughly enjoyable meal at a reasonable price!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were looking for a good brunch that wasn't too expensive and wasn't just New Mexican style - this was a good choice (though I would like to try others and compare) The pancakes are GIANT! You could easily eat just one if you are hungry. All the other entrees are average/small in size. The french toast was pretty good but nothing to write home about. The bread basket has good variety and is good. I hate to be a downer but I was expecting better based on all the reviews. The wait staff is great! They were very fast and friendly!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hands down BEST BREAKFAST IN SANTA FE.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Hands down BEST BREAKFAST IN SANTA FE. We randomly found this place and it looks like a little hole in the wall type place but that’s the cool thing about it. The food is amazing and the service is great. My boyfriend had the eggs benedict and he has traveled all over the country he said it was the best he had ever tasted. After telling the waitress the owner came to talk to us and thank us for the complement. My breakfast choice was the French toast. It’s not you every day French toast. The bread is handmade in house and is sliced very thick. You get a choice of 5 to 6 different types.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“As Seen on TV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Found this place on Yelp, then after we got there we realized it had been featured on Food Networks Diners, drive in and dives! We were warmly greeted and seated. My wife had an omelet made to order that tasted wonderful. I ordered the steak and eggs, they came with potatoes. My meal was average, I've had better steak and eggs. But the service really was amazing. Overall a decent meal. If I went back I'd order an omelet instead.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tecolote Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tecolote Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.