We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Choza Restaurant

La Choza Restaurant
905 Alarid St, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3041
505-982-0909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 414 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My fiance highly recommended this place, so we stopped in for a late night dinner. We watched a server assist non-locals by giving them samples of chili prior to ordering so they would know the heat level- may want to request this if you're not used to it. Being from ABQ the chili spicy-ness was nothing to me, but I can see how non-locals are surprised by green chili "heat". It's normal for the heat to vary... but this chili had great flavor. Their guac was great too. Overall, we were pleased.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    175
    64
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Centralia, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“LA CHOZA - La Familia Tipica Mexicana.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

When We First Arrived In Santa Fe (This Time) We Wanted A Typical Mexican Dinner, So We Went To LA CHOZA. It's A Small Unpretentious Place, Off The Beaten Track, But We Followed The GPS & Ended Up There. Free Off-The-Street Parking, Bustling With A Mix of Locals & Others. Waitress Was Prompt In Seating Us At A 4-Top Corner Table & Answered All Our Questions. Dinner Arrived On A Plate, Each Item Overflowing Into The Others, As Is Typical For Mexican Food. It Was A Good Start To Our Santa Fe Familia Experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Favored by locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I heard this restaurant was favored by local residents and, when we tried to go on a Friday evening at 6.15 the wait was 45 minutes! We returned on a less busy evening. The decor and ambiance is pleasing, but we were underwhelmed by the personalities of the hostess and waitstaff. The food was good, but not as good as some of the other places we ate at in Santa Fe.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“first time eating here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Was told the chili was "gringo spicy" and in fact is was almost too hot to eat. Waitress said that it comes out of the kitchen a different heat level every day. We had to wait 45 minutes for a table. We had called to make reservations and was told that they don't accept them, just to fine people coming in and being seated because they had a reservation. Would not go back

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Authentic New Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is one of the best New Mexican food we ever had; seems to be a favorite spot for locals. It was crowded eventhough it is tucked away from the main road. The atmosphere is excellent. We liked green and red chile mix (christmas).

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Choza Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Choza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Choza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.