We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local place in Santa Fe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Choza Restaurant

La Choza Restaurant
905 Alarid St, Santa Fe, NM 87505-3041
505-982-0909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 472 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good local place in Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

La Choza is a restaurant which manages to please locals and tourists both. Hard to do in Santa Fe!
It's not right downtown, so you have to make a little effort to get there, but the reward is that it is not swamped with tourists, and there is parking - a major plus. It is also a very attractive restaurant with colorful rooms and a patio, too. The food falls a little short of its sister restaurant off the plaza, The Shed, but it's still really good in its own right. It has all the New Mexican favorites. Our enchiladas and Chili Rellenos were really tasty, though the chili a little soggy. Sauces were great, especially red. This is a really fun place and a great one for a meeting or gathering.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    159
    57
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Delicious local New Mexico food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

When I told the friendly folks at our hotel desk that I wanted to enjoy a meal somewhere off the main plaza, where the locals get their New Mexican food fix....he suggested La Choza. And it did not disappoint. La Choza is run by the same folks that do The Shed on the main plaza, but the food is half the price and just as delicious. My husband and I both ordered the stacked enchilada plate with green chile and it was amazing. Slightly spicy, even for our Texas palates, but we thoroughly enjoyed every bite. The La Choza Red margarita was also delicious. It was a bit noisy, and took awhile to get a table. There was a bit of confusion when my husband called and he got the impression they did not take reservations, because he was told it was first come first serve, but when we arrived there was clearly people that had made reservations being seated. I recommend making a reservation for dinner time. Service was quite slow because there were several large groups and I think there was not enough staff for all of them, but my husband and I were in the mood for a nice longer relaxed meal anyway, so this was fine by us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“La Choza Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was the fourth restaurant we chose to visit during our recent stay. Somewhat hidden and near the train tracks, the Road Runner did go by during our visit. This restaurant was also a very good choice with a varied menu. We did not have reservations but were seated right away on the patio which was nice. This restaurant is amazingly large. Reviews we read indicated this was a sister restaurant to The Shed. The food may be a bit spicy to some but very good. We enjoyed a great dinner, had a nice visit with friends and experienced attentive service. Beware, the burritos were huge!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent New Mexican food. And they automatically serve so papilla' s with every meal. Enchiladas are layered and very good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Best New Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Living in Santa Fe I eat a lot of New Mexican food. This is the best I have had among the 40 or so family run NM restaurants. Everything is fresh and delicious. Almost all of these NM restaurants serve basically the same menu so you need to differentiate based on the nuances of what is served. La Choza seems to have figured out how to flavor each dish perfectly raising their NM entrée versions to the top in Santa Fe. The chile rellenos are the best I have had. The sopapillas are the thinnest and crispiest that I have ever had. (Have your waiter bring them at the end for dessert, just add honey.) The prices are good too. Overall, the best family run NM restaurant in Santa Fe. Although tourists are starting to find this place, it's more of a locals hang out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Choza Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Choza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Choza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.