We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for lunch and a drink” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Del Charro Saloon

Del Charro Saloon
at Inn of the Governors, 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
505-954-0320
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 414 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“OK for lunch and a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Depends on what you want. This place has limited ambience. Just a bar, some tables and a few TV's. That said, the drinks are good and the food is pretty decent which is why locals show up there. Potato salad was very good - hamburgers OK - margaritas were very good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    171
    48
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This bar/lounge/restaurant is located in the Inn of the Governors. The menu is limited, as befits a bar restaurant, but the selections are interesting. We ate there twice and all the dishes we had were very good. Service was very prompt and friendly. Best of all, the prices were very, very reasonable. We did not sample any of their drinks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A very good lunch at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were visiting Santa Fe for the day and stopped to get information at the Tourist Office. On leaving we asked where might be a good, but reasonable place to have lunch. We were advised that they liked Del Charro Saloon just down the street. We arrived just after noon and the place was packed, but luckily we found a table for 2 in the Saloon side. Despite being very busy we were waited on quickly and our waitress was cheerful and friendly. The menu had a limited selection, but good variety. My wife ordered the House Marg and I tried the Santa Fe Brewing IPA. The Marg was a generous size and my wife thought it tasted very good. I really liked the beer so had a second. As we pondered what to have to eat the gentleman at the table beside us offered that his Adovada Burrito was very good, if I liked spicy food, so I ordered that and my wife had the Chef's Caesar with salmon. Despite being very busy we were served quickly. The quality of the food was definitely better than most pub's we thought. The real plus was when we received the bill, I had to look twice thinking they must have neglected to charge for something, but no it was correct. All in all a very good lunch for a very reasonable price.
My only regret is we don't live closer as Del Charro would certainly become a favorite for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rescue, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

.....and oh so cheap. Bikers, cops and tourists. Loud and fun. Good bar food.Try the hot fudge sundae!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great Margs and people watching!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The house margarita was recommended to us by our waiter,a nd it was by far the very best I have had in a long time. Fresk lemon and lime and th tequila was so smooth it made me have to watch my intake! Simply delicious. Food was good, and considerably above average for "bar food". Service was good and our waiter definitely knew how to handle 6-7 tables at once and not drop the ball. He may have been busy, but he never made us feel forgotten. If you are staying near the plaza, this is definitely worth a stop - and they are open late!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Charro Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Del Charro Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Charro Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.