We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific burgers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Chama Steakhouse

Rio Chama Steakhouse
414 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2770 (Downtown)
505-955-0765
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 472 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Vancouver, WA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Terrific burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Best burger I've had in many moons! The chama ranch burger is ground in-house so don't be afraid to order it rare if that is your pleasure. House french fries are crunchy on the outside and creamy inside. Served with chipotle catsup. A serving of the sweet potato fries is enough for two. Steak was excellent with minimal seasoning, letting the meat's quality shine. Service was good and the house Bloody Mary nice and spicy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    62
    29
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A great steak in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A really great steakhouse! Super steaks, sides and delicious margarita! Service was terrific. We will add this to our list to revisit on the next trip to Santa Fe.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rio Bravo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Rio Chama is the best find in Santa Fe'. When it comes to food you will dream of till the next time you visit, this is the place.Ribs so tender and tasty they fall off the bone and the Prime Rib sandwich has become a staple on our visits.We have tried many different meals over the years and the Enchiladas still stand up to any others we have had in Santa Fe', the best to our liking.When it comes to food in Santa Fe' The Rio Chama has to be on your list of stops to dine Lunch or dinner. Clean, Friendly and always top rate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love this restaurant. We travel to Santa Fe often, and always stop in for a bite. Beautiful views, great food, and very nice atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stopped in for a couple of drinks one afternoon. What a beautiful building in Santa Fe! We had wine and margaritas. Both were nice pours. Wine list is average. The bar decor is nicely done and if you like to watch sports, they offer several flat screen TVs. The waitress though seemed like she didn't want to be there and no personality, but maybe she was just not having a good day. However, we never saw her again after we said we were just having drinks. So service is not great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Chama Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Rio Chama Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Chama Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.