We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do the Paella!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Farol Restaurant & Lounge

El Farol Restaurant & Lounge
808 Canyon Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2726
5059839912
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Farol Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #123 of 464 restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $20 - $26
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Public transit is available on Canyon Road. Call or visit Santa Fe Trails for current schedules.
Description: The El Farol experience combines classic tastes of Spain, Santa Fe and Mexico with a unique blend of art, dance, flavor and aroma. You will be able to choose some of the finest wines and sherries the world has to offer in an upbeat, rustic 1835 adobe where the walls tell stories of artists, poets, lovers, local history and beauty.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Do the Paella!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The first knockout meal out I ever had in Santa Fe was the paella at El Ferrol, and fifteen years later their's is still the best paella in town (except that they no longer include duck sausage).

Great atmosphere, great food (try their tapas), and often really great music

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    136
    112
    60
    36
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unremarkable lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Santa Fe salad very ordinary...mixed greens, chicken and two slivers of avocado.
Halibut salad underwhelming as well. Dining on the Veranda was very enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best overall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This tapas restaurant is wonderful on several important counts. The ambiance is sweet and artful without a lot of 'foody' carry over smells - that's a real one for me. The service is fantastic - we experienced Janell on 2 separate occasions - truly an excellent server who cares and knows her stuff! Her recommends were right on.The tapas were FABO! very different from others and truly delicioso! We also got to experience their live music offerings on both visits. 1st was the BEST Reggae I have ever heard! Local! and nice Flamingo female guitarist and vocals. My husband and I really enjoyed getting on the dance floor. This is the oldest restaurant building in Santa Fe! and located on cool Canyon Road. Our 1st visit at El F was 24 years ago!!! Fun they are still going STRONG!! Marilynn and Tim T

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Paella on Canyon Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We had paella for two and margaritas at El Farol for dinner. We sat outside on the porch, with an oncoming thunder shower. In the evening, it's a pleasant experience as the traffic is much reduced. The paella is chock full of seafood, so we were satisfied even though we left much of the rice. The service was attentive and the drinks were ample. All in all a pleasant evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Loved this place. Four of us dined here on Thursday, August 16, 2012. We just showed up and the staff found us an excellent table in a small room off the bar. Nice and quiet. Service was very good and the tapas were wonderful. Wine list quite good. I've read other comments about the staff but our experience with the staff was wonderful and we thank them for their service - - especially since we did not have a reservation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Farol Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to El Farol Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Farol Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.