We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People recommended this place as a hidden gem...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TIA Sophia's

TIA Sophia's
210 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2129 (Downtown)
505-983-9880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 482 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Doing business, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Neighborhood: Downtown
santa fe
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“People recommended this place as a hidden gem...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

but it was as good as many other places in town, not better or worse. Typical Mexican fare. Service was adequate, not outstanding, as was the food. Location, however, is good. Near the Lensic Performing Arts Center and the Plaza.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    188
    54
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Authentic NM Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were welcomed immediately, seated quickly, and served food pretty quick as well. We had lunch, we enjoyed it, it was kid-friendly, and we will be sure to go back. Generous portions. Being on the Plaza, food is typically good because of such high-quality competition and Tia Sophia's is up there.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“great NM breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

A cozy, "local" breakfast spot. Good portions. Great price. High quality. A great combination of a local spot and tourists.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“We Almost Licked Our Plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you are really picky about your red and/or green sauce, you will find no better than at this unassuming cafe. We are native northern New Mexicans, and know our Mexican cuisine. We have been disappointed numerous times by restaurants that claim to serve authentic dishes. We were fulfilled by the awesome tast of the food at Tia Sophias. The service was efficient and friendly and the combination plate were delicious.
I would like to comment that if a person cannot spell posole, he/she should not order it.
Try this place for breakfast or lunch and you will not regret your decision, especially if you really know your Mexican food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I really enjoyed this place. The food is really good and the service was great. Didn't have to wait at all and its on the plaza so great place to take a break from shopping and eat. Will def. be eating here again

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TIA Sophia's also viewed

 

Been to TIA Sophia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TIA Sophia's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.