We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshly Prepared” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mucho Gusto

Mucho Gusto
839 Paseo De Peralta, Ste H, Santa Fe, NM 87501
505-955-8402
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 465 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between E. Alameda & Palace Ave
Description: Fresh authentic Mexican cuisine. Gluten free items available.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Freshly Prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The thing you can count on here is that everything is fresh. You get a sense that someone's grandmother is in the kitchen cooking for you. Do not hesitate to ask for what you want. The chef often is able to make your dream come true if you just ask. I noticed that to please the healthier tourists and the elder local crowd that the chef under-seasons many dishes and one needs to request a little more seasoning if you would like it to match a typical good restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    112
    36
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“busy, make reservations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

delightful - a place the locals hang out. it is authentic and fresh. but if you are going at prime time, make a reservation.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect ending to a nice visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We went because a picture on trip advisor of the Orange tequila shrimp looked amazing! It was even better in person. We made reservations and were seated immediately upon arrival. I like sweet and tangy so the meal was perfect for me, it would have been too sweet for my husband. His enchiladas were perfect though. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Charming, relaxed dinner, a perfect end to a day.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lives Up To Its Name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

As someone who has to eat both gluten and soy free, it's not easy to find a suitable Mexican restaurant. This one had incredibly good food and a well-informed staff that could make recommendations and alterations. We all enjoyed it, including those who ate off the regular menu. I would eat here frequently if I was local.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I ate here one night. Excellent Mexican food away from the Plaza. Plenty of parking and located closer to the Canyon road area. I can't remember what my meal was but I know I finished it. But I do remember the dessert. It was a delicious flan. Seemed to be a very popular place with the locals. Don't miss it. Would eat here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mucho Gusto also viewed

 

Been to Mucho Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mucho Gusto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.