We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost its lustre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristra

Ristra
548 Agua Fria St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2508 (Historic District)
505-982-8608
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ristra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #172 of 472 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $25 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Historic District
Cross street: Guadalupe/St. Francis
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lost its lustre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We returned to Ristra after we had a stunning dinner last year. I was disappointed to see that the menu was the same but the food wasn't as flavorful. The restaurant was almost empty on a Saturday night, which was sad to see. The scallops appetizer was divine, but when we asked to have an entree portion of scallops, they merely brought out the appetizer as an entree rather than an entree-sized portion. Our server was nice but didn't seem knowledgeable.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    15
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Still Delivering Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I first visited Ristra in the early 2000s and really thought it was top notch. We've had dinner there at least ten times and have never been disappointed. On a recent trip to Santa Fe we dined again...and contrary to the reviews by susan s and miner 53...the food was still delicious. We began with a Poblano Relleno, which was stuffed w wild rice and piquillo peppers atop spaghetti squash. My wife followed with the Spiced Duck Breast and I had the Pork Rack. Her's came medium rare as ordered, mine came medium as ordered. Richard, our server, couldn't have been more attentive. A Santa Fe native, he both gave us great service and also shared insights about town and the region. If anything, we were shocked at how empty it was on a Friday night at 7PM. If we had to guess why, it might be associated with the loss of owner, Eric LaMalle, who died in April 2013. Still, the atmosphere is pleasant, especially on a summer evening sitting outside. In previous trips my wife has enjoyed the mussels, which have a little kick thanks to the chipotle infused broth...and they've always arrived at the table piping hot. There used to be a beet salad that was divine, but perhaps the gazpacho would be a nice trade. The tuna tartare is another tasty appetizer. You ought to give Ristra a go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stop by for at least a drink with new bartender, Chris. He rocks. I don't get the bad reviews. This is a very nice restaurant with good food and a professional staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Needs a major facelift with their food!! Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Ristra used to be a good restaurant in Santa Fe, but no more. It's gone downhill.. and I won't be going back, ever again. The menu is tired, it looks shabby in the house part of the restaurant, service is sub par, and the food is not good. I had the mussels and they arrived cold. I couldn't get the attention of my server, who just ignored me. So, I had to eat cold mussels which I shouldn't have. Then their was a power surge, and I kept waiting and waiting, and I had an appointment. I finally had to go to the bar to try to pay my bill, their attitude was that I should keep waiting while their machines got to work. I couldn't. I had waited 1/2 hour. NEVER AGAIN! What used to be a good restaurant in no more. My boyfriend and i ate there in March, we were practically the only one's in the restaurant and the food was marginal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdake, AZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overrated restaurant not up to fine dining”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

First impressions were really disappointing as hostess led us through a couple of rooms and asked several times which table we wanted for our party of 4. Finally, found a round table set very near 3 other tables right in aa busy passage way to other rooms. Appetizers were good but not specially interesting. Spicy Calamari with spicy lime dip was best dish of the evening. However, the so-called Crispy Salmon was soggy, not a crispyness in sight....and was raw in the middle...inedible. Then, there was the service that needs much more training to remember who ordered what dish, and learn not to clear some guests dishes until all are finished eating. Access to the restaurant is dangerous with uneven bricks, roots and plants as obstacles.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristra also viewed

 

Been to Ristra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.