We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it so much: we ate here twice on our trip.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zia Diner

Zia Diner
326 S Guadalupe St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2649 (Downtown)
505-988-7008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 472 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Liked it so much: we ate here twice on our trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The highlight of this Zia's are the desserts. We really enjoyed the strawberry rhubarb pie. It was really hard to make a selection from the dessert menu. The service was outstanding always with a smile. We tried quite a few things on the menu including: hummus, mac & cheese, homemade soups, and various sandwiches. We liked it so much that we ate here twice while we are in Santa Fe. Overall, when they describe Zia's as "comfort food", they are so right. Save room for dessert.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    118
    63
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“I love this place for a casual, different, delicious meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I'm stuck on their turkey dinner w/ a caipirinha. Oh man. I used to live in Santa Fe, and this and Coyote Cantina were my two favorite places to eat. Great atmosphere, great outdoor dining, great service, and if you're lucky, you might catch a mellow band to accompany your meal. And the price is right. Highly suggested!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My family ate here while vacationing in Albuquerque/Santa Fe this past weekend (January 31st to February 2nd). While walking through the city of Santa Fe we saw this diner, the desserts up front especially, and decided it would make for a good lunch stop.

The restaurant was nice inside, lots of room, and we were greeted quickly by the friendly staff. The menu is fairly extensive and offers a mix of both Mexican and American fare. The family ordered the Nachos, Chicken Fajitas, Cheeseburger, and Chicken strips. Everything was delicious, except the toothpick I found in my Fajitas. The staff was very apologetic for the incident and offered to correct the problem. The dessert was okay, not as good as we expected when we walked in, but the quality of the food we had for lunch was above par for the restaurants in the area and the service was really good. We would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“For "comfort food", you can't beat it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We've eaten at the Zia for probably 10 yrs, and it's always been great. My wife likes the meatloaf and I usually get the chicken-fried chicken. Very much like a nice home-cooked meal, and their desserts are wonderful too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulce, NM
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have been to the Zia Diner a few times, and it was a delight to return. We were visiting from out of town, with our family, and Zia just continues to be excellent! Great menu, fresh and often organic food, with new and interesting combinations. It was fun to share the diner with our family!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zia Diner also viewed

 

Been to Zia Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zia Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.