We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steaksmith At El Gancho

Steaksmith At El Gancho
104B Old Las Vegas Hwy, Santa Fe, NM 87505-8199
505-988-3333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #235 of 482 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $14 - $14
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Steaks were good, and it was good value for money , as you get a soup/salad with the entree. Loved the bread which is baked on the premises.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    14
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bordentown, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good place, reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We are staying at a nearby B&B, Raven's Ridge (lovely place, great hosts) and we went here since it was close by. The food was very good--nice steaks--and the service was excellent. They have a team approach, so any server can attend to your needs. Great idea, more restaurants. should try it. The price was very reasonable, and the decor, despite other reviews, seemed fine to me---maybe replace the old wood captain's chairs, but nice art and simple decor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent and Friendly Service with Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We tried out Steaksmith at El Gancho for the first time this weekend. It is just outside of Santa Fe on Old Las Vegas Hwy. The atmosphere was wonderful as was the food. The service was great and one of the owner's was one of our servers. I didn't realize that until later when we had a conversation with him. Great guy! You don't usually expect an owner to be serving food so I was impressed. Steaksmith is a very friendly place to eat.

This isn't a con but we didn't have one single dedicated server. Everyone was happy to look after us. This did lead to a bit of confusion on our part to begin with. We ordered their homemade ice cream for desert and upon them discovering that they had run out of that particular flavor they gave us two other flavors to try out "on the House." That really impressed me and I've not run into many other restaurants that would have been willing to do that.

Bravo to Steaksmith at El Gancho!!

FYI - their homemade ice cream is wonderful...as was the medium rare steak I had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food/service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the owner of our B&B, Phillis. We live in Montreal and have travelled in many countries in Europe. We were amazed by the quality of the food and the service. The owner/manager came to our table to recommend typical local food and came back later to make sure we were happy with our choice. Very good price/quality ratio.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a pretty good place with a lively bar happy hour. The servers we had were friendly and professional, the drinks were fine and not overpriced, and the food is pretty damn good. Give it a try. Chris and Lucas at the bar are as good as it gets.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steaksmith At El Gancho also viewed

 

Been to Steaksmith At El Gancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steaksmith At El Gancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.