We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An apology would have been nice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Geronimo

Geronimo
724 Canyon Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87501
+1 505-982-1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Geronimo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 473 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Camino De Monte Sol
Description: Elegant fine dining in a 1756 adobe house. Santa Fe's only Mobil 4 Star/ AAA 4 Diamond Restaurant.
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An apology would have been nice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I went to Geronimo a week ago and the service and atmosphere were great. Our appetizer and desert were wonderful. I ordered their signature dish -- elk -- for a main course. While enjoying my dinner, I had one mouthful of food which didn't quite taste right. This did not repeat itself so I continued through dinner and desert. Upon getting my car, I started to experience severe stomach cramps. Sparing the details, let's just say that I was happy our hotel was only a mile away.

My guess is that one of the mushrooms was bad. I sent a note to the restaurant to make them aware of the problem I had. I was not looking for compensation but it would have been nice to receive a note back acknowledging and/or apologizing for the incident. As of yet, I have had no response. I would have expected more from a restaurant of this caliber.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    110
    63
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Amazing food/service/evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

OMG seriously amazing. This evening was so fabulous - from the incredible service (Thank you Danny and Nicole!) to the phenomenal food to the ambiance - it was just a perfect evening. I could not say enough great things about this place and if there was a 6 star option, I would give it :) Order the elk tenderloin, you won't regret it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good food served too quickly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a delicious meal here, but were disappointed in the service, given the expense. The service was so rushed that my pre-dinner drink order for a glass of wine didn't appear until after my appetizer arrived, shortly after we ordered, and there was no lingering between courses, so we were through with appetizers, mains, AND dessert in 70 minutes! Also, given the space in the restaurant, we weren't pleased to be seated right between 2 other couples, when there were plenty of vacant tables that they could have used to give us more space. They may have been reserved for later use, but at the rate they turn the tables, they could have spread us out more...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caeur D Alene
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“If you have to ask how much a plate costs, keep walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It is a place for taste lovers and presentation critics.
The restaurant is worth driving from Albuquerque, I was on my way to Los Alamos for business and made the stop. Have been recommending this place for the last 2 years.
The Cesar salad is something special and if I was to be in the area, meaning within 100 miles, I would go there to have the Elk Steak. Sweet, tender and tasty.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Geronimo Is Fine Dining and a Winderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I hadn't been to Geronimo in a few years, and it was even better than I remembered. Immaculate and intimate dining rooms, fine art from the neighboring galleries, gracious and knowledgeable service, and food that was inventive without being over-thought. This is truly fine dining at its best, and you just can't go wrong. About $200 per person included a craft cocktail and a very good bottle of wine. The appetizers and salads are generous, and the staff will gladly split them for sharing. Don't miss the foie gras.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geronimo also viewed

 

Been to Geronimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geronimo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.