We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Tourist Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomasita's Restaurant

Tomasita's Restaurant
500 S Guadalupe St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
+1 505-983-5721
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 520 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tomasita's restaurant is a Santa Fe tradition serving classic Northern New Mexican cuisine. Stop by today for an unforgettable meal! Locally owned and operated in Santa Fe, NM, we take great pride in our high quality food, friendly and fast service, and of course our famous margaritas! Locals have consistently voted us as the premier restaurant for Best Red Chile, Best Green Chile, Best Margaritas, and Best New Mexican Restaurant! Our chiles are out of this world and you won't regret ordering either - or both! Tomasita's is a distinctly Northern New Mexican restaurant. Our recipes have been handed down for generation and serve as a reminder of the melding of cultures that together once depended on the corn, chile, beans, and fruit of the area. Since 1974, the Maryol/Gundrey family has maintained a commitment to the recipes and ingredients of New Mexico. Join us for lunch, dinner, or happy hour and try our traditional recipes with amazing flavor. Don't forget to top off your meal with a homemade dessert - sopapillas anyone
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
183 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Good Tourist Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Santa Fe has many red and green chile restaurants and Tomasita's is one of the better ones. It is definitely on the tourist map but locals go here as well. They serve a good version of what traditional northern New Mexican food should be. For good traditional food near the Plaza it is definitely a reliable bet.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SantaFeRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Decent Food, Terrible Margs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It's our tradition to eat at Tomasita's each time we're in Santa Fe but have never ordered a margarita before. Today, we thought we'd treat ourselves to a frozen margarita with lunch. Although our food was good, we agreed the margarita was the worst we've ever had. It was so sweet that I just couldn't choke it down, even after watering it down and adding ice and tequila. We finally had to send both of ours back and the server was kind enough to take them off our check. As for the sauces, they warn you about the green chile being super hot. It was not. But......the red chile was. My husband loved it, I couldn't handle it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyd'sTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, KS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and flavor at a nice price point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The restaurant was packed on a Thursday evening, very casual atmosphere and food had good flavor and price was not too high.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank lancewoodbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had dinner here during a recent visit to Santa Fe. Very good food - Mexican flavor of course, but we loved that.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SJG&K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
356 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Quintessential Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is the place to take all of your out-of-town guests if you are a local. If you are visiting Santa Fe, this is a place that needs to be on your list of places to eat while in Santa Fe. However, it is often crowded and most, if not all, of the times we have eaten here, we have had to wait. You might want to try one of the other restaurants that this family owns. Atrisco's is just as good and not far from Tomasita's. The food is typical northern New Mexican fare and will give you a good idea of the kinds of foods that are from this part of the world. Your food will come with sopapillas which can be eaten with your meal or saved until the end and savored with a dollop of honey.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank DB-Raw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomasita's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tomasita's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing