We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Tourist Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomasita's Restaurant

Tomasita's Restaurant
500 S Guadalupe St, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
+1 505-983-5721
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 462 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Tomasita's restaurant is a Santa Fe tradition serving classic Northern New Mexican Cuisine. Locally owned and operated in Santa Fe, New Mexico by the Maryol/Gundrey family for over 40 years, we take great pride in quality food, friendly and fast service, and great margaritas.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Good Tourist Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Santa Fe has many red and green chile restaurants and Tomasita's is one of the better ones. It is definitely on the tourist map but locals go here as well. They serve a good version of what traditional northern New Mexican food should be. For good traditional food near the Plaza it is definitely a reliable bet.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    251
    156
    42
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Decent Food, Terrible Margs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It's our tradition to eat at Tomasita's each time we're in Santa Fe but have never ordered a margarita before. Today, we thought we'd treat ourselves to a frozen margarita with lunch. Although our food was good, we agreed the margarita was the worst we've ever had. It was so sweet that I just couldn't choke it down, even after watering it down and adding ice and tequila. We finally had to send both of ours back and the server was kind enough to take them off our check. As for the sauces, they warn you about the green chile being super hot. It was not. But......the red chile was. My husband loved it, I couldn't handle it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, KS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and flavor at a nice price point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The restaurant was packed on a Thursday evening, very casual atmosphere and food had good flavor and price was not too high.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had dinner here during a recent visit to Santa Fe. Very good food - Mexican flavor of course, but we loved that.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
“Quintessential Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is the place to take all of your out-of-town guests if you are a local. If you are visiting Santa Fe, this is a place that needs to be on your list of places to eat while in Santa Fe. However, it is often crowded and most, if not all, of the times we have eaten here, we have had to wait. You might want to try one of the other restaurants that this family owns. Atrisco's is just as good and not far from Tomasita's. The food is typical northern New Mexican fare and will give you a good idea of the kinds of foods that are from this part of the world. Your food will come with sopapillas which can be eaten with your meal or saved until the end and savored with a dollop of honey.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomasita's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tomasita's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomasita's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.