We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomasita's Restaurant

Tomasita's Restaurant
500 S Guadalupe St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
+1 505-983-5721
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 417 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Doing business, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Tomasita's restaurant is a Santa Fe tradition serving classic Northern New Mexican cuisine. Stop by today for an unforgettable meal! Locally owned and operated in Santa Fe, NM, we take great pride in our high quality food, friendly and fast service, and of course our famous margaritas! Locals have consistently voted us as the premier restaurant for Best Red Chile, Best Green Chile, Best Margaritas, and Best New Mexican Restaurant! Our chiles are out of this world and you won't regret ordering either - or both! Tomasita's is a distinctly Northern New Mexican restaurant. Our recipes have been handed down for generation and serve as a reminder of the melding of cultures that together once depended on the corn, chile, beans, and fruit of the area. Since 1974, the Maryol/Gundrey family has maintained a commitment to the recipes and ingredients of New Mexico. Join us for lunch, dinner, or happy hour and try our traditional recipes with amazing flavor. Don't forget to top off your meal with a homemade dessert - sopapillas anyone
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had dinner here during a recent visit to Santa Fe. Very good food - Mexican flavor of course, but we loved that.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    305
    180
    51
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
“Quintessential Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is the place to take all of your out-of-town guests if you are a local. If you are visiting Santa Fe, this is a place that needs to be on your list of places to eat while in Santa Fe. However, it is often crowded and most, if not all, of the times we have eaten here, we have had to wait. You might want to try one of the other restaurants that this family owns. Atrisco's is just as good and not far from Tomasita's. The food is typical northern New Mexican fare and will give you a good idea of the kinds of foods that are from this part of the world. Your food will come with sopapillas which can be eaten with your meal or saved until the end and savored with a dollop of honey.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food at a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had dinner there recently. Crowded, but the wait was short. Food was good and service excellent. Will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainair, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Friends and I traveled from Belen on the RailRunner for my birthday. We spent time at the Farmer's Market and shops. We then had lunch at Tomasita's Restaurant. It is a very busy place, but even with 8 of us the wait was not long. The food was very good- not great. Our poor waitress got very confused as we wanted separate checks. Other than that service was good. My friend had two bugs in her Beer (we were eating outside) and they took the price off of her bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“fine New Mexican cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My family and I had dinner at Tomasita's and all ages of our group were pleased. The food was quite good. The noise level, however, was over the top loud. Waiters fast and efficient.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomasita's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tomasita's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomasita's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.