We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomasita's Restaurant

Tomasita's Restaurant
500 S Guadalupe St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
+1 505-983-5721
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 434 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Tomasita's restaurant is a Santa Fe tradition serving classic Northern New Mexican cuisine. Stop by today for an unforgettable meal! Locally owned and operated in Santa Fe, NM, we take great pride in our high quality food, friendly and fast service, and of course our famous margaritas! Locals have consistently voted us as the premier restaurant for Best Red Chile, Best Green Chile, Best Margaritas, and Best New Mexican Restaurant! Our chiles are out of this world and you won't regret ordering either - or both! Tomasita's is a distinctly Northern New Mexican restaurant. Our recipes have been handed down for generation and serve as a reminder of the melding of cultures that together once depended on the corn, chile, beans, and fruit of the area. Since 1974, the Maryol/Gundrey family has maintained a commitment to the recipes and ingredients of New Mexico. Join us for lunch, dinner, or happy hour and try our traditional recipes with amazing flavor. Don't forget to top off your meal with a homemade dessert - sopapillas anyone
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had dinner here during a recent visit to Santa Fe. Very good food - Mexican flavor of course, but we loved that.

Visited September 2013
3 Thank SJG&K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
286 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Quintessential Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is the place to take all of your out-of-town guests if you are a local. If you are visiting Santa Fe, this is a place that needs to be on your list of places to eat while in Santa Fe. However, it is often crowded and most, if not all, of the times we have eaten here, we have had to wait. You might want to try one of the other restaurants that this family owns. Atrisco's is just as good and not far from Tomasita's. The food is typical northern New Mexican fare and will give you a good idea of the kinds of foods that are from this part of the world. Your food will come with sopapillas which can be eaten with your meal or saved until the end and savored with a dollop of honey.

Visited February 2013
6 Thank DB-Raw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
203 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food at a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had dinner there recently. Crowded, but the wait was short. Food was good and service excellent. Will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
6 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainair, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Friends and I traveled from Belen on the RailRunner for my birthday. We spent time at the Farmer's Market and shops. We then had lunch at Tomasita's Restaurant. It is a very busy place, but even with 8 of us the wait was not long. The food was very good- not great. Our poor waitress got very confused as we wanted separate checks. Other than that service was good. My friend had two bugs in her Beer (we were eating outside) and they took the price off of her bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
4 Thank ChristineSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“fine New Mexican cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My family and I had dinner at Tomasita's and all ages of our group were pleased. The food was quite good. The noise level, however, was over the top loud. Waiters fast and efficient.

Visited August 2013
6 Thank pozueloliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomasita's Restaurant also viewed


Been to Tomasita's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing