We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big flavor reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomasita's Restaurant

Tomasita's Restaurant
500 S Guadalupe St, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
+1 505-983-5721
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 462 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Tomasita's restaurant is a Santa Fe tradition serving classic Northern New Mexican Cuisine. Locally owned and operated in Santa Fe, New Mexico by the Maryol/Gundrey family for over 40 years, we take great pride in quality food, friendly and fast service, and great margaritas.
Wyoming USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“big flavor reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a great tex mex resturant located near the Santa Fe road runner station ( and a long walk from the plaza).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    249
    154
    42
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Popular spot for locals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Food and service were good but the atmosphere is just OK. I picked a table and sat down only to be challenged by the waiter that I was alone at a table for four - it was not a busy time. He finally allowed me to stay after I told him I preferred that table. He seemed a bit put off by it even though the area never got crowded while I was there.
Food was OK and margarita average.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“awesome fresh food...you will be glad you did!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

we arrived at this restaurant hoping to get their breakfast blue corn pancakes, but they were not doing it any more and we opted for lunch at 11AM...well, it was so very tasty and just the right amount of heat.
the service was excellent and even though we drove from Albuq. to eat there, we will be doing so again when we visit in Dec. this year.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very over rated food but great margaritas.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Wife and I ate there twice just to see if maybe they were having a bad day. Nope, I had one of the worst tamale dinners I have ever had, in fact didn't eat it after first bite. I have eaten at Mexican restaurants all over the US and I would have to say this one our least favorite. By the way I'm Hispanic
and I do know my Mexican food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Maria is a great waitress! yummy vegetarian tamales too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Thanks to Maria, our waitress for incredible service. She acted like a concierge by giving us plenty of recommendations of where else to eat, drink and have fun. The veggie tamales were excellent. We enjoyed the sangria. Nice atmosphere on the patio!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomasita's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tomasita's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomasita's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.