We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In all the tourist mags” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tomasita's Restaurant

Tomasita's Restaurant
500 S Guadalupe St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
+1 505-983-5721
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 414 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Tomasita's restaurant is a Santa Fe tradition serving classic Northern New Mexican cuisine. Stop by today for an unforgettable meal! Locally owned and operated in Santa Fe, NM, we take great pride in our high quality food, friendly and fast service, and of course our famous margaritas! Locals have consistently voted us as the premier restaurant for Best Red Chile, Best Green Chile, Best Margaritas, and Best New Mexican Restaurant! Our chiles are out of this world and you won't regret ordering either - or both! Tomasita's is a distinctly Northern New Mexican restaurant. Our recipes have been handed down for generation and serve as a reminder of the melding of cultures that together once depended on the corn, chile, beans, and fruit of the area. Since 1974, the Maryol/Gundrey family has maintained a commitment to the recipes and ingredients of New Mexico. Join us for lunch, dinner, or happy hour and try our traditional recipes with amazing flavor. Don't forget to top off your meal with a homemade dessert - sopapillas anyone
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“In all the tourist mags”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Good but typical Mexican dishes. The servings are substantial and nicely presented. Good service, with a moment to actually talk with patrons, if you are so inclined. The sopapillas never fail to please, and with an iced tea or hot coffee, make a wonderful mid-morning or mid-afternoon treat, as well as an end of the meal treat.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    291
    175
    51
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quick Pick me up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just had time for a quick bite so a couple of appetizers and off we went. Nice atmosphere, quick, but not real friendly service. Would have liked to try more from the menu, but I would go back when have more time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best price on dinner and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Been to Tomasita's so many times it is hard to count, but it still has great traditional food at a decent price for downtown Santa Fe and the margarita is hard to beat. That's why the place is so crowded, but they're pros and can handle it. Try the Sanga-rita (Margarita and Sangria) whew, it's addictive.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Price, Good Drinks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place was reccomended by our hotel staff and we were glad they did. I had the burrito supreme and that it was. They warn you about the hotness of the chile, however it was great but not that I thought deserved warning people of it's hotness. I had the green chile so maybe the red has more bite. Cocktails were average but prices in all were very reasonable for pricey Santa Fe. Waiter we had was poor as it took us close to a half an hour to get our check from the first time we asked for it. I would return again but with all the great choices to dine in Santa Fe iy will be sometime before I return as I have lots of other options at this point.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great margaritas and red chile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I'm local here and I enjoy Tomasita's. The menu has a good selection and is not too expensive. Their red chile is one of the better around town.So are the margaritas. It's in the Railyard and sometimes that means you wait because it's touristy. But I've never waited too long (more than 10-15 minutes) and the service has always been quick.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomasita's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tomasita's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomasita's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.