We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Roadhouse

Harry's Roadhouse
96 Old Las Vegas Hwy, Santa Fe, NM 87505-9367
505-989-4629
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 473 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We learned about this place from Food Network and arrived at the perfect time, 5 p.m. We scored an umbrella table in the absolutely gorgeous back garden surrounded by hollyhocks. The margaritas were, of course, wonderful. They were served in small martini glasses with the ice cold shaker that refilled the glass several times. The turkey enchiladas in blue corn tortillas were absolutely delicious with the green chili. Everyone in our party enjoyed the meal the but real winner was dessert. Among us we had the coconut cream pie, lemon meringue pie, and chocolate pie. All of them were just wonderful. By the time we left, there was a line out the door, including people standing in the rain.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    199
    49
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Never go against the Family!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We tried Harry's last night based on a recommendation from Mom's friend, instead of listening to my uncle and godfather who has been right on with all his suggestions. The place was crowded. The food was a little too exotic for us Wonder White Bread Loving People. :-) The food seemed a little dry but the prices where well within our budget. You could tell because my dad a smile on his face.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“An Institution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Harry's Roadhouse is an institution in the Santa Fe area. We have been visiting SF once or twice a year for a long time and invariably this diner/restaurant is listed as a "must-see." Today I had a chili relleno burrito, which was enormous and tasty. Half of it will be my dinner tonight. The building has several rooms plus a well-stocked bar. If you go, be sure to bring a good appetite because the portions are large and are "heavy fare"... no tea room portions. Be prepared to wait because it is always busy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, NM
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The locals, including us, love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great food, in a diner/ dive setting. Comfort food abounds! Harry's Roadhouse is a favorite with locals. I saw a woman from Texas getting into her car and she said to me "great food!" I said, "are you from out of town?" When she said yes, I told her that she lucked out. She agreed. The atmosphere is crowded and busy but the food is worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, KY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oh, that Harry's twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

You pull off the Old Las Vegas Highway in Santa Fe, give Harry’s Roadhouse a once-over and think you’re probably walking into an hour of firehouse chili, slam-bam burgers and beer that tastes like flavored water.

Inside and out, it looks like a farmhouse kitchen decorated by whatever the owners found in Aunt Millie’s attic. But you notice right away how happy the diners are – and how much the staff gets a kick out of making them happy.

Though the menu couldn’t happen anywhere but New Mexico, it borrows from all over the world. It’s been created over the years by cooks who clearly love taking ordinary ingredients and doing something with them that hasn’t been done quite that way anywhere else. Three examples that speak for themselves:

“Today’s Benedicts” from early July 2013 – Poached eggs on English muffin with Tabasco Hollandaise and a crab cake on the side. ($10.95)

Southwest Veggie Chop Salad – Corn, jicama, poblanos, red peppers, carrots, red cabbage, cucumber, black beans and green onion tossed in avocado dressing and topped with cornbread croutons, sprouts and avocado. ($7.50)

Moroccan vegetable stew over cous cous with charmoula and harissa – butternut squash, chick peas, cauliflower, carrots, spinach, potatoes and raisins with Moroccan spices ($10.50)

Wash down food like that with strongly brewed iced tea or Santa Fe Pale Ale, and you’re back on the road feeling like you just got away with Aunt Millie’s silverware.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Harry's Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.