We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffe destination spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iconik Coffee Roasters and Cafe

Iconik Coffee Roasters and Cafe
1600 Lena Street, A2, Santa Fe, NM 87505
+(1)505-428-0996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 472 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Café
Description: Premium Direct Trade Coffee, lightly roasted, brewed to perfection by a highly trained and friendly staff. Top notch Direct Trade teas. House-Made Baked Items, Light Breakfast and Lunch, all items sourced locally. Most items organic. Gluten Free Available.Open Monday-Friday 7:30AM till 6:00PMSaturday 8:00 AM till 5:00 PMSunday 9:00 AM till 3:00 PM
Restaurant details
Description: Premium Direct Trade Coffee, lightly roasted, brewed to perfection by a highly trained and friendly staff. Top notch Direct Trade teas. House-Made Baked Items, Light Breakfast and Lunch, all items sourced locally. Most items organic. Gluten Free Available.Open Monday-Friday 7:30AM till 6:00PMSaturday 8:00 AM till 5:00 PMSunday 9:00 AM till 3:00 PM
Muncie, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Coffe destination spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We are checking out coffee shops while on vacation in NM (my husband owns a shop, and it's fun to see what others are doing). We saw a story on Iconik, and it was highly recommended by several people, so we had to check it out. Be aware that it is a destination spot; you won't just happen on this place as it is back on a side road away from the beaten path. However, it is worth the trip. The ambiance is great - urban, a bit quirky, with a funky coffee roaster out front. A variety of seating options to accommodate socializing with groups, or sitting solo doing work or reading (several people were enjoying paper books!). Outdoor seating includes a built-in sandbox for the human kiddies, and no less than three water bowls for the furry kids. Iconik is a coffee roaster, but also a bakery/cafe, so unlike a number of places we have visited they actually have food. The aroma when the baking is at its peak must make people weak in the knees.

I have had lattes at 8 or so places in the last four days, and this was one of the two best. Slowly made, with care. The flavor was rich, full of depth - I could taste and smell the coffee without any bitterness or seeming like it was overpowering. As I have noted throughout other reviews, this was not a sweet drink, but it didn't need any additions. Just savor the coffee (this trip is changing my palate). [This coffee was so good I bought a bag of beans to bring back to Indiana]. My husband had the lemonade, which he pronounced very good, but also not sweet (not Indiana sweet). That leaves the food: they had one white chocolate apricot scone left - if you can get one, do it and have it heated. Drier than, say, Panera's, but wonderful flavor and texture. The oatmeal cranberry cookie and peanut butter Nutella cookie (gluten free, this one!) were also really lovely. They serve lunch, for future reference. If you get the chance to check this place out, do so for sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is coffee the way it should be, single origin and roasted so you can taste the bean, not the roast. Darren knows what he's doing, the old school Otto Swadlo roaster is something to behold. The vibe here is as good as it gets for a coffee house. The cappuccino will ruin you! You will not be able to go anywhere else to get this kind of deliciousness. Todd is a master. The food here is great. Natalie is such a sweet heart and is always cooking up something good. Love, love. love the salted caramel cookie! This place is a little off the beaten path but worth the effort to get there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Hands-down best coffee in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

BEST coffee in Santa Fe and rivals coffee anywhere. They have great food, although a limited menu. I love the atmosphere, too. I wouldn't go anywhere else and I've been everywhere for coffee in Santa Fe. The staff is really nice, too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Best coffee shop in SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Having lived most of my life in Seattle, I am a little picky on coffee places. Finally, Santa Fe has a good independent coffee shop. Iconik coffee is the best in town and the out-of-the-way location is worth discovering.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Cool coffee bar, great coffee and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Iconik seems to strive to be a different kind of coffee shop. They are typically Santa Fe with the organic coffee, fair trade bought, that whole jive. They definitely have a trendy atmosphere, with cool music, unusual but interesting decor, a wide variety of seats (bar stools, couches, wood chairs, etc), and a young staff. Overall it isn't exactly my thing, but hey it's a coffee bar in Santa Fe. Along those lines, it's a little hard to find and parking isn't obvious. They are in a business and residential park, so most of the spaces are labeled with who can and can't park there.

For uncool people like me, the reason to come here is the quality of the food and coffee. They roast and grind the coffee beans for every cup individually. This ain't Starbucks - it's high quality, almost personalized coffee. They have a good selection of the types of coffee bean you can get, and I'd imagine a coffee connoisseur would be in heaven here. Their baked goods were also delicious. My wife had a cookie and I had a brownie. I don't remember if they offered sandwiches or other substantial food, but I remember a tower of baked goods which all looked amazing. They weren't cheap but not exorbitant either. I think the coffee was around $3.50 a cup (might have been ~12oz cup) and the cookies were a couple bucks. However I thought the prices were totally reasonable for the quality. I also have to say that the staff were very helpful and answered our questions about the roasting quite well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iconik Coffee Roasters and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Iconik Coffee Roasters and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iconik Coffee Roasters and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.