We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service ..service a bit slow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mamou French Restaurant

Chez Mamou French Restaurant
217 East Palace Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501
15052161845
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 520 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
275 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“excellent service ..service a bit slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

It's truly a French Cafe and Bakery ran by a nice French women.. The food is excellent but each time I've gone there the waitress is not. She's had a sour look on her face, and the food was a little slow in coming out. I will probably go back, but will make sure I'm no in a hurry or not that hungry, but isn't that kinda one of the reason you go to a restaurant is that you're hungry.. but truly the food is good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Front of house needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The food was delicious but the service is slow. Our waitress was good but the woman behind the pastry counter at the register did absolutely nothing to help out the waitresses. Didn't run food or ANYTHING. Just stood there. I saw that our drinks were ready and our waitress was busy with another table and the register woman didn't even bring them to us. Clearly a very poor work ethic as she does not appear willing to help out her coworkers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Indialpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I'm hesitant to write this review in fear of the restaurant being overcrowded next time I have to go there, but they deserve as much business as possible.

French cuisine without the attitude. Elegant, but casual. The portions are good. The service is very friendly and helpful.
Enjoyed the food so much, we went back a few days later.

The restaurant was preparing for a private party that took up the entire floor. So they seated us outside where they have about 5 tables.

Even with the overflow party, we didn't have to wait for our order. The service was still spot on.

We all ate different entrées but everyone in my family was impressed. More impressive are the home made pastries. Flaky, great fruit flavors, not overpowered by sugar.

If there's one meal that you should go to in Santa Fe, it's waiting for you here. Despite the dominance of New Mexican food in the area, this was quite a find. Come early, before 6:30 pm if you don't have a reservation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank THSHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in downtown Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Slightly off the beaten track (by a few blocks) but well worth the effort. An excellent patisserie -- for breakfast or lunch -- and a great French menu for dinner, including all the classics. Enjoy!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Elliot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We loved discovering this quaint little bistro. We sat in the alleyway courtyard and took lunch. The menu was Classic French and everything that came out of the kitchen looked delightful! We opted for salads and a bottle of excellent Sauvignon blanc recommended by the very attentive waitress. We wish we had time for another visit!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cushmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mamou French Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chez Mamou French Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing