We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Little Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mamou French Cafe & Bakery

Chez Mamou French Cafe & Bakery
217 East Palace Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501
(505) 216-1845
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 472 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Bakery, French, Café, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Portales, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Little Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We discovered this restaurant in February and returned when we went back to Santa Fe in April. The food is excellent, the servings are generous, and the prices are very reasonable. I would definitely suggest trying it out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    42
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have traveled to Santa Fe for over 20 years mainly for the amazing dining experiences. I have my favorite places but do delight in finding something new. I definitely found it last weekend. Chez Mamou was heavenly. We went there twice in two days. Day one we just had coffee, pastries, and an amazing escargot pastry with a delightful tangy yet creamy sauce. It was so fabulous we went back the next day for lunch. We had escargot again, the seafood crepes, chicken crepes, ham and cheese croissant sandwich and the croquet madame. Everything we had was incredible and nobody could keep their forks out of everyone else's plate. As if the food wasn't delightful in itself the staff made it a memory and reason to go back again. Carlos and Sean were very engaging. We decided we could definitely hang out with them!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa fe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Parisian Sophistication in Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Chez Mamou is a wonderful little cafe/restaurant. They serve excellent French style coffee and have the most divine cakes & pastries. If you're feeling a little hungrier, they also serve delicious savoury meals; variety of wonderful breakfast/brunch style meals such as quiche, omelets and salads. The food is cooked on the premises by a proper French chef and is always fresh! The decor is also tasteful and somewhat European in style but light and elegant. The recent addition of Carlos the waiter is a good move as the service used to be in the style of the British comedy 'Faulty Towers'. I can now say it's perfect!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
“Best Lunch in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My boss and I went there for lunch for the first time today. It is a very cheerful dining area with lots of natural light and a feeling of being as comfortable as being at home. We were very happy there was not any music playing. The low hum of conversation of the other guests was very pleasant. Monsieur Carlos, our waiter was wonderful. It was the best lunch we had in Santa Fe and we have eaten out for lunch every day for the past 14 years. I ordered the Lobster Salad. It was superb. The lobster was cooked perfectly and was over fresh mesclun greens with slices of perfectly ripened avocado and sliced vegetables. There was a perfectly cooked shrimp on the top that was tender and delicious. The salad was dressed perfectly--enough flavor to enhance all the components without smothering or wilting the greens. My boss ordered the pork brochette. The pork was so tender he could cut it with his butter knife and the sauce for the brochette was great--flavorful and light. The brochette came with a side of potato au gratin that was very tasty and some broccoli and carrots.We found the serving size portions to be just right. We are thrilled that we finally discovered this Santa Fe treasure!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Place!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

They have really mean Espresso (In a good way). The staff is super nice. I had the best breakfast fun there while I was staying in Santa Fe!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mamou French Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Chez Mamou French Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Mamou French Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.