We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kakawa Chocolate House

Kakawa Chocolate House
1050 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM
505-982-0388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Dessert in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dessert
Dining options: Drinks, Coffee & Tea, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Coffee & Tea, Lunch
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Past reviews have pretty much said it all. Near the entrance to the Canyon Road gallery area, this makes a great stop for a pick me up before or after surveying the amazing art on display in Santa Fe. We splurged and had the large sized (6 oz) hot chocolate and we were glad we did. Tempted to lick out the cups once we had finished the thick, silky blend. They use almond mike and coconut sugar in addition to a tremendously rich chocolate and flavors like chili or citrus, so it's unlike any other hot chocolate you're likely to have had. Their candies (we shared a caramel, chocolate, chili square) are delicious too. You can buy various flavor chocolate powders as well as other items to take out. A great excuse to go back!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    92
    20
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Didn't realize they had ice cream!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Most of the reviews focus on the chocolate and the hot chocolate in demitasse cups. However, it was pretty warm when we got there and guess what! They had ice cream. It was really delicious. So welcome after walking around in the afternoon. Well worth the walk though!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic chocolate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We tasted a few of the hot chocolates here - varied and delicious! The chocolates are outstanding. Well worth the visit and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing CHOCOLATE Treats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Went to visit the chocolate house today. It is not a big place, but like a boutique tea house. I'm not a "chocolate" person, but have to admit the chocolate treats (drinks and sweets) are pretty amazing. Incredibly indulgent and tasty smooth. The owner is very gracious, hospitable and friendly, and overall a very pleasant experience, offering a nice break for the day. If you like sweets and chocolates, this is the place for you

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa mesa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A chocoholic's nivana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Top quality chocolate in a old adobe bungalow with seating for enjoying the best chocolate ice cream ever. Don't miss the optional fudge sauce..yummy!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kakawa Chocolate House also viewed

 

Been to Kakawa Chocolate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakawa Chocolate House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.