We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth searching out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chris' Cafe

Chris' Cafe
3568 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM
505-424-3566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 414 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Spanish, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Our cafe is located across the street from the Hampton Inn. Look for "The Lofts" sign, or, just look for a wall of yellow Penske trucks. We're behind that wall!
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Worth searching out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We had read a review on Chris' Cafe in the ABQ Journal and sounded like a place to try when in Santa Fe. We spied it from Cerrillos Rd tucked into a small shopping center area called The Lofts - look for a lot of Penske trucks in the parking lot. With 7 tables it is not a big place but everyone was so friendly and inviting. Though tempted to each get a breakfast as everything sounded so good, we refrained and shared the Bario omelette. Filled with bacon, onion, cheese and mushrooms and smothered in red chile (green and Christmas also available) my husband said it came very close to how I make omelletes - no small compliment to the chef! The fried potatoes were very well done and tasty - especially useful to sop up that red chile! Toast or tortilla also came with the meal. Chris came out of the kitchen to say hello and thank us for stopping by! How many places do that anymore! A real neighborhood sort of feel and I wish I went to Santa Fe more often!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Owner at Chris' Cafe, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much, ABQJane. You're review was one of the best we've had, and coming from a Senior Contributor, it means even more. We do work diligently to maintain a level of quality in our kitchen. Because of our size, we're able to work with smaller batches to maintain freshness too. I hope to see you again real soon, and again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    46
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Local family business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Went to Chris' for the first time this past week and had a great meal. Friendly staff that was willing to fill me in on local tips. Great food and extremely generous portions--I had breakfast at 10:30 and couldn't eat again until 7pm that night. Plenty of vegetarian options, I'll be back to try the eggs florentine! Location is a little tricky since it sets back from the road but those staying at the Hampton on Cerrillos and wanting something besides the standard chain hotel breakfast should definitely dash across the street for a real breakfast!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Owner at Chris' Cafe, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you, J C, for a great review. Your mention of our portion size is one thing that we're trying to get out there. We're a working person friendly place. Big portions, small prices ( For Santa Fe, which has the highest minimum wage in the nation, we are cheap!), and quality that exceeds most. If your ever in town again, come back and say "hi".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service, atmosphere, and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went to Chis' for Sunday Lunch today and were surprised by the delicious food. It is a small Cafe on Cerrillos that is easy to miss but worth finding. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the green enchiladas were excellent. Heard great reviews on their breakfast menu look forward to going back for breakfast soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Owner at Chris' Cafe, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Sfemerys, thank you for a great review. I'm glad you found us, which is the hard part. We're hoping that once you find us, you'll continue to come back. We look forward to cooking for you again, and yes, our breakfast is great!!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, OK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great Food, Busy Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Chris is one of the best chefs in Santa Fe. His food is high quality and each dish is individually prepared when ordered. Best breakfast in Santa Fe.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Owner at Chris' Cafe, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Bandmom, it was so good to see you guys again. And thank you another wonderful review. It's nice to know that there are some people out there that understand what we're doing here, especially with the quality of breakfast we're trying to achieve, and our use of quality ingredients. Look forward to seeing you, your husband, and your son again next time your in town. Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice family restaurant. Great food. A+ service. I would recommend to anyone looking for well priced and excellent food. This cafe is a must try for anyone.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris V, Owner at Chris' Cafe, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
caesar93, thank you for your excellent review of the cafe. We work hard to put out a quality product, and thank you again for recognizing our efforts. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chris' Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Chris' Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chris' Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.