We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical, mystical stay in Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Five Graces

Save Saved
You added Inn of the Five Graces to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn of the Five Graces
150 E DeVargas Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Charleston, S.C.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A magical, mystical stay in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our second stay at the Inn of the Five Graces was perfect in every way. From the staff's welcoming embrace to the twinkling light emitted by hundreds of luminaria perched throughout the property, our visit was wrapped in a warm glow. This family-owned Inn is a one of a kind, world class experience. The guest suites' hand tiled mosaic bathrooms, designed by Ira and Sylvia Seret, are works of art that turn an ordinary bath into an exquisite ritual. Meanwhile, the Inn's courtyard is an intimate setting to enjoy delicious huevos rancheros. Of the many incredible places we have visited around the world, we consider the Inn of the Five Graces to be one of our favorite romantic places—it is the perfect place to unwind and reconnect with one another. Thank you for another memorable visit! We hope to return again soon. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    25
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
208
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I returned for our second visit to this exquisite inn and wondered aloud if it could possibly be as wonderful as our first stay.We were pleasantly surprised--it was even better !! The Seret family has continued to add tasteful furnishings and renovations and the staff attitude and service is without peer.On our first night,we went out for a delightful Italian dinner and as we entered the Inn,my girlfriend discovered that she had left her wrap at the restaurant.The night manager instantly jumped up and before we could object,said:"I'll go get it for you!".Ten minutes later,he returned with the wrap and tried unsuccessfully to avoid being tipped--wonderful,accommodative hospitality above and beyond anything we have experienced.This is a fabulous Santa Fe gem of a hotel--we cannot wait to return !!

Room Tip: We have yet to see a room that isn't not exquisitely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

From the moment we pulled up to the door....we felt like we were staying in a private estate! The accommodations, the entire staff ,the food, the landscaping and even the weather were extraordinary. We wanted to spend so much time in our sanctuary of a suite...even though Santa Fe is an amazing town to vacation in. The history, people, churches, mountain air, museums and also shopping. What can we say? We already booked a return trip to this fabulous and spiritual gem of an Inn! We want to be able to experience the Five Graces in the fall time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Citrine Suite overlooking a fabulous courtyard patio. Make sure to lounge a while o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I loved everything about the place. It is a feast for the eyes with so much colour, design and architectural features that it's dazzling. My room was a vision of pinks and purple silk and the bathroom was astounding - the tile work was beautiful. I had done my research prior to going to Santa Fe and while it was expensive, it was worth every penny. The service was fantastic, the breakfast was great and the location was excellent. I would go back and stay in a different room, not because mine was bad but because they are all different and I would like to experience another room. I was more than happy with the 'fridge full of cheese, cracker etc. and I have to day, the tray of chocolate covered strawberries and blueberries and blackberries drizzled with chocolate presented to me on my last night.....well, that was just the cherry on top.

Room Tip: Can't really say. My room, Sheherezahd was in a great location and I could enter it from 2 loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our anniversary with a weekend in Santa Fe and were lucky enough to stay at the Inn of the Five Graces. What a gorgeous hotel - to say the least! Outstanding service (thank you to Forest, Rebecca and the full team), stunning rooms, delicious breakfast. The hotel is situated on an old and quiet street within walking distance to virtually everything. The hotel is exquisite and decorated in an east meets west feel with such rich fabrics & colours & the tiled bathroom mosaic was stunning. The staff was so willing to help & go out of their way to help and make us feel comfortable & all of the little details were incredible. Highly recommend as a very special treat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the moment you walk in the door you recognize the commitment to service. We were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived. The ENTIRE staff, Brian, Rebecca, Kim, Katherine,( and I am so sorry I cannot remember everyone's name) are helpful, kind and welcoming. Everyone speaks every time you pass, with a smile. They cannot do enough to please. Under the definition of hospitality you would find this inn. We travel quite a bit and the Inn of Five Graces sets the standard for service and hospitality.
Oh yes, the property . The collection of vintage buildings, in a perfect location have been BEAUTIFULLY restored. A tranquil setting only slightly removed from the center of activity. It is a lovely oasis in the heart of Santa Fe. The quality of restoration matches the excellent service.
When I initially booked I was a little concerned with the cost. All I can say is 'well worth the price'. Service is a dying art but it is alive and well at The I

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is more like an upgraded motel. There is no restaurant/food, no bar, no swimming pool or Jacuzzi, there are no private balconies or patios - if you want to sit outside be prepared to sit with other guests at your patio table. It is really basic property with no finer amenities. Yes, you get some crackers and candy bars, etc, in the fridge, but for $500+ a night, I can buy my own snacks. The 'free' breakfast they provide is very basic and average; again, limited on the food selection.The staff is friendly and the property is pretty. The rooms are neat, sorta, gaudy, but different and fun. The décor is very flamboyant and colorful which might get on your nerves if staying for a long while. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharif S, General Manager at Inn of the Five Graces, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Tami O,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I would like to apologize that your experience had not been what you may have expected. It seems as though you may not have been fully aware of what a stay at our Hotel would offer and include and expected something different. To give a better idea to readers of this review, our hotel is a luxury inn set on the “oldest block” in the United States. You will find a compound of original adobe buildings that have been converted into a hotel, offering luxury amenities within a historic setting. Our amenities, such as the spa, fitness room and restaurant are located in different areas of the property as opposed to a large resort designed and built to have everything in one main building. Our dining experience is with one of the finest restaurants in town, 315 Restaurant and Wine Bar, including a wonderful room service menu. We believe our layout adds to the charm and the experience, and I am very sorry if you were not aware of some of the amenities that may have been offered to you during your stay. I should also add that if your preference is for something different than what is offered at 315, adjacent to the hotel are three great restaurants, each with a lounge or bar.

You are correct that we currently do not offer a pool or hot tubs as we are a boutique hotel in Santa Fe’s historic district. Although you booked through a third party website, one of our reservationists had attempted to contact you prior to arrival for any assistance you may have needed or to provide any information you had not received. Unfortunately your desire for a property with a pool and hot tub were not addressed prior to your stay and for that we apologize.

What we do offer is a unique experience, which you would not find at a larger resort. While in the heart of Santa Fe and a walk away to most everything downtown, we are tucked away on a quiet street and are one of the few properties in the downtown area that is set around several courtyards. Our courtyards are lush and serene and have plenty of intimate spaces to rest and relax. Although not all of our suites have private patios or balconies, some do offer them. To find everything you may have been expecting, to be standard in every room, you may have had to look outside of the downtown area. What we offer is a very special setting that is authentic and set amid the historic architecture that makes Santa Fe a truly cultural experience.

The proprietors, Ira and Sylvia Seret, are renowned designers who have put great care and creativity into the design of each of our rooms and suites to make them as inviting and comfortable as one's own home. We consider the property to be much more than what you describe as "an upgraded motel." We are surprised by your comment given some of the particular features in your suite, Magnolia. The bathroom, for example, is as large as a bedroom with a deep soaking tub, separate walk-in shower, double sink vanity, heated flagstone floors and hand-woven carpets. The mosaic tile-work that adorns the walls and shower, which is one of the more sought after features of our rooms, took nearly 4 months to hand lay. Every room is designed with handcrafted furnishings and textiles, incorporating special antiques from around the world. I would have to reiterate other guest reviews that reflect a special and unique visual experience that you will not find anywhere else in the world.

We further regret that you were not able to find the value or experience you had hoped for during your stay. In addition to our service and ambiance, we have purposely included as many of the little things that tend to add up while staying at a hotel. Yes you could always go out and buy your own snacks, but it is not our intent to have you go out of your way so that you may have them in the room. That is why the mini-fridge is quite full with an entire range of snacks and drinks. You will also find we do not charge a service or resort fee and we offer complimentary amenities such as WiFi, valet parking and access to our fitness room. We are a gratuity-free property and include the full breakfast. The breakfast menu includes something that everyone might enjoy from the healthier options to local favorites. If there had been something particular that you had desired for breakfast that was not listed on our menu, it would have been our pleasure to have accommodated your request. Our intention is for you to arrive and let us take care of the rest.

As a smaller boutique hotel, we take pride in our work and find satisfaction in providing a great experience. Please know that we truly value the comments of our guests who may have felt otherwise. Our reservationists and staff are very knowledgeable about the hotel, area attractions and restaurants, and are available at all times to answer any questions. I would always recommend taking the time to see what they could offer, to either enhance your stay or make sure you have selected the right room and place for a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn of the Five Graces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Five Graces

Address: 150 E DeVargas Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn of the Five Graces combines luxury with an aura of mystery. With an ethnic décor enhanced by East Indian and Tibetan antiques, oriental carpets and nomadic textiles combined with Southwest architecture, the interiors feature many handcrafted pieces as well as spectacular tile mosaics. Passionate about this land with its wealth of Indian legends, the owners invite you to embark on a sensory voyage to fully savour this melting pot of cultures and colours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn of the Five Graces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The 5 Graces
Inn Of The Five Graces Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Five Graces
Of The Five Graces Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Five Graces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.