We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional service, extraordinary experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Five Graces

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Five Graces to your Saves list
Inn of the Five Graces
150 E DeVargas Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“exceptional service, extraordinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The reviews below all say it, but I will echo it again. The property is gorgeous, the beds dreamy and the service and attention, down to the most minute detail, is personalized and professional. The breakfast was delicious and made to order. Fruit was really fresh. Newspapers were plentiful and for the taking. Our minibar was stocked with complimentary items. (Really! a free minibar!) We came home to chocolate covered strawberries and fresh baked cookies snuck into our room!
I see that one of the reviews said it was noisy. That was not our experience. It was so quiet and peaceful I could not believe we were in downtown Santa Fe. Great location for walking everywhere. When we needed our car, it appeared like magic.

Room Tip: You can see all the rooms on line and you can call on the phone and the staff will bend over backwar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    26
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
234
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Inn of the Five Graces is conveniently located within walking distance of both the plaza and Canyon Road. Because it is on a side street, it is extremely quiet. The breakfast is incredible - not only is it included, but the staff URGE you to order more than one dish, because every one is excellent, and they're right! Our room, Camillia, was wonderful - not only the furnishings and the working wood fireplace, but the quiet - it was off a private courtyard, and there was no room above. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a pleasant stay, and we will definitely return here the next time we're in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

So much has been written by others about this spectacular property, and it proved true. It is exquisite. Let me share the more practical aspects of these rooms. Our family stayed in two downstairs suites in the historic stone building, the Tourmaline and the Amber. These are huge suites with multiple rooms allowing great spaces and hallways. It was sunny our first day, then snow for the next two. The heating, at least in the stone building, is absolutely first-rate; forced air with plenty of floor vents and individual thermostat. It was so quiet you could barely hear when the heat came on. The watter pressure was great and the rainshower in Amber a real treat. Also abundant are doors - very ornate doors, not only in the bathrrom but also in the living room, bedroom, and even the kitchen in Tourmaline. The back doors to the patio area made it very convenient to travel between the two rooms, as they are located next to each other. The first day, we had breakfast delivered to our patio and enjoyed the sun, even at 8:00 am. The other two days it was raining or snowing, so we enjoyed breakfast in the huge breakfast nook in Tourmaline, which can easily seat six. One of our most enjoyable moments at the Inn was calling the front desk on the speaker phone, announcing our names and what we wanted to order, and having it appear in about 15 minutes! One day one of us forgot to order bacon until 9:57 and, even though it was so late for the breakfast times, it still appeared in a matter of minutes..protected from the snow, no less. We encountered a problem with the credit card at checkout (neither the Inn nor our fault) and even that was handled in a discrete manner with a satisfactory solution. There can be no other place like this. We will be back in a heartbeat [if we ever win the lottery!]
With much respect from Cherilee and sons

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Kansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Santa Fe: Blue corn tortillas at The Shed, the Loretto chapel with its miraculous staircase. The plaza, chocolate made somewhere in heaven, art galleries, sculpture, the opera. And shopping! The colors are brighter, the air is headier. Santa Fe, like only a few other places on earth, touches you. And a small cluster of buildings in one of its oldest neighborhoods has captured the spirit of Santa Fe more perfectly than anywhere I know. The rooms are wonderful. The staff could not have been better had I hand-picked them myself. And thats just the beginning.

You see, the problem is that I simply have too much to say about this little gem of a hotel, while at the same time finding no words in my English major's vocabulary which truly do it justice. Everything you love about Santa Fe you will love even more when you check in here. It's that special.

The Five Graces is not a cheap hotel. It is small, exclusive, and the only one of its kind in the world. If you go in the winter though, you can find good offers. Come see it. You'll never imagine how wonderful it is until you do. And while you're there you'll probably meet Joshua, a young force of nature filled with enthusiasm about what he does and the people he meets; make sure to say hello for me. I miss him.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wow! I know this place is the #1 Inn for Santa Fe but it still exceeded my expectations. Yes, it does cost a bit more, but how can you put a price on feeding your soul? Seriously, from the moment we checked in and were greeted personally by name to the moment we wistfully drove away, the entire experience was heavenly. The staff bend over backwards to make you feel like royalty with every single interaction. The rooms are decorated with such artistic flair, I enjoyed the walls and artisanal touches more than the art museum we visited in the square. This is not just a place to sleep, it is a virtual massage for the senses. These people think of everything. I even received a complimentary rose on my first morning there. And speaking of complimentary, everything in their fully stocked refrigerator is free. Once you check in, the effort is to enhance the value instead of nickel and dime-ing you like some other places. I could go on about all the little touches that made this place one of my top 3 favorite inns of all times, but suffice it to say I don't believe you will be disappointed by any aspect of your stay other than sporadic wifi in the rooms. But here's the thing, if you are in heaven aka your room at the Five Graces, would you be willing to sacrifice a single moment to the Internet?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We so enjoyed our Thanksgiving stay at The Inn. First off, the staff make you feel that you are the only people there and you are royalty. The beds are just glorious! First rate kitchen and stocked fridge. We looked forward to sumptuous breakfasts. 315 Restaurant is just across the street and is wonderful. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My mother, daughter, and I stayed here the nights of February 27th and 28th. We had originally booked the Tourmaline, but when we arrived, they had upgraded us to the Amber (a two bedroom suite as opposed to the king bed with a pull out couch we were expecting). From that moment on, our stay was simply heaven on earth. Although we were a little early, they had no problem checking us in and showing us around. Sarah was so welcoming, I swear we felt like family!

The room was simply breathtaking. I'm going to post a ton of pictures so you'll see the amazing work the Serets have put into this place. The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept on (and I actually slept, which I find difficult to do during travels sometimes). The tub in the bathroom was so deep and soothing, I honestly never wanted to get out. You'll be amazed at the mosaic tile work in the bathrooms. It's like living in an art museum! Pay special attention to the stunning textiles and furniture. We couldn't leave Santa Fe without visiting Seret & Sons store just a couple blocks away to purchase a few items to bring a little bit of the inn home with us.

Now I have to tell you about the brilliant extras. We especially appreciated the little fridge filled with drinks and snacks that were included in the price of the room. Seriously. We've traveled quite a lot, and most places do their best to wring you of every dollar you have, but not here! A bowl of blue corn chips and dish of green chili salsa welcomed us to the room. Later, we came back to the room after the turn down service to find a plate of gorgeous oatmeal cookies. We had the same treatment the next day as well, fruit in the morning, and cookies in the evening. Oh! I almost forgot the breakfasts! You could order one of everything on the menu (don't do that though, it's obnoxious) because it's all included in the stay, but anything you order will be divine. I was quite taken with the french toast with strawberry butter, but my daughter was over the moon with the made to order omelette that she said was the best she'd ever had. Also, gratuities are included in the price of the room. They actually told us at the front desk that they do not accept tips. That was hard to get used to, but a nice change.

Overall, we fell head over heels in love with both Santa Fe and the Inn of the Five Graces during this trip. We are already planning our next stay! This is not just a place to stay during a trip, this is an experience most people will be thrilled with. Yes, it might seem expensive, but considering all that you get for the price of the room, it's worth every single penny!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Five Graces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Five Graces

Address: 150 E DeVargas Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn of the Five Graces combines luxury with an aura of mystery. With an ethnic décor enhanced by East Indian and Tibetan antiques, oriental carpets and nomadic textiles combined with Southwest architecture, the interiors feature many handcrafted pieces as well as spectacular tile mosaics. Passionate about this land with its wealth of Indian legends, the owners invite you to embark on a sensory voyage to fully savour this melting pot of cultures and colours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Inn of the Five Graces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Five Graces Hotel Santa Fe
Inn Of The 5 Graces
Hotel Of The Five Graces
Of The Five Graces Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Five Graces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.