We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible, unique boutique experience in Santa Fe- Pure magic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Five Graces

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Five Graces to your Saves list
Inn of the Five Graces
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 E de Vargas Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Incredible, unique boutique experience in Santa Fe- Pure magic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My partner and I went to Santa Fe for a long weekend to attend the Santa Fe Opera and check out the art scene. We found the Inn of the Five Graces on TripAdvisor and truly found it to be a unique experience. We're attracted to boutique hotels for their attention to customer service and this Inn certainly surpassed our expectations. The proprietors, Ira and Silvia, have created a very special- magical place. Each room is uniquely designed with art, furnishing and designs from the near-east and Asia. As a matter of fact, I noticed that Silvia created each mosaic pattern and design in our bathroom- a very intricate and beautiful pattern.
While the aesthetics of the Inn were incredible, so was the service from the super friendly, knowledgeable and eclectic staff. I appreciated their attention to our needs and desire to make sure that our trip was as wonderful as possible. Their concierge planned our itinerary in advance of our stay so that when we arrived, we were all set to go--- making the long weekend getaway perfect. Down the road from the Inn, the proprietors have a shop called Seret & Sons where we were able to purchase unique, limited edition furnishing from Tibet and southeast Asia. So, I will definitely come visit the Inn again upon my next visit to Santa Fe.
Kudos to Ira & Silvia and the remarkable staff!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    26
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
254
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

From beginning to end and top to bottom, the Inn creates a very special experience. On the basics, everything was terrific. Our room (Jasmine) was spacious, uniquely appointed and very comfortable/cozy. It had an outside sitting area which was a great place to enjoy a glass of wine in the afternoon. Every person with whom we interacted was super nice and helpful. The location was convenient to everything w/o suffering from the bustle of the central square area.

What made the stay special was a bunch of thoughtful small touches including, fresh/homemade salsa upon arrival; fresh made cookies every night; no-charge mini bar; delicious breakfast served by very friendly staff in a tranquil courtyard; free wi-fi; extensive wine list, delivered to your room; etc... Everything was authentic and high quality. Even when checking out, the bill came with a couple of cookies for the road and a weather report for our hometown.

All in all, one of the best places we've stayed the past decade.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Had a wonderful stay here for a friend's wedding. Inn is well-located near the plaza and gorgeously appointed. As other reviewers have noted, the staff was truly extraordinary, delivering attentive service that feels anything but stuffy--you truly feel like you are being welcomed into their home. The little touches were wonderful--chips and homemade salsa to welcome you, fresh cookies each night, fridge stocked with brie and crackers and other snacks, and wonderful breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a gem of a hotel- the owners spent a decade putting it together a luxe experience with beautiful handicrafts from their experiences around the world. (They also own Serets ) We booked a 2 bedroom suite with comfortable living area (Silk Tree #11) suite for 4 nights. It felt like home every night after our Santa Fe adventures.

Location: well under half a mile pleasant walk to Old Santa Fe's attractions: Palace of the Governors, Loretto Chapel, St Francis Cathedral, and restaurants. Within easy driving distance of the Rail district and Canyon Road's galleries. We didn't make use of the hotel shuttle, but the staff will drive you anywhere in their Range Rover.

Guest Experience: They've clearly put a great deal of thought into the guest experience. Every staff member individually went above and beyond what we expected. Each night we were greeted with fresh cookies, sudoku, and crossword puzzles in our room. Another example: noticing my parents' difficulty finding nearby parking when they visited, a staffer took my dad's keys and said, "We'll take care of your car, have a great day." Then he politely tried to decline a tip ("we want our guests to feel comfortable and not stress.") This happened 3 days with 3 different staff members. The mini bar has unlimited soft drinks and water- more than helpful in the hot dry climate. We used tap water to fill our camel-bak reservoirs for Bandelier hiking, it is over chlorinated. If I'd thought to ask, I'm sure they would've filled them at the restaurant.

Traveler Tip: If you book here, call ahead and ask the staff to recommend & reserve restaurants that match your preferences. Nearby restaurants we tried and liked for dinner: Cafe Pasqual's, The Shed, Guadalupe Cafe. Lunch: The Teahouse.

Food: Breakfasts were delicious, with helpful friendly service on a nicely shaded, quiet patio.

You feel like you're a member of the family here- we're definitely returning.

Book Suggestion: 109 East Palace: Robert Oppenheimer and the Secret City of Los Alamos by Jennet Conant. Hard to put down history and biography that vividly depicts an extraordinary time (and exceptional people like Dorothy McKibben) in the area's history. I can only imagine what the thousands of engineers & scientists thought when they arrived here in 1942-3 from all over Europe- it must've felt like they landed on the moon.

Day Trips: Check out Bandelier National Monument, and Los Alamos. The History Museum is housed in the Boys School the Army appropriated for the Manhattan Project. Bradbury Science Museum is also well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Everything from start to finish was wonderful during our three night stay. Our room (Aria) was amazingly appointed (very interesting fashion and design roots worth learning about before you go) and the staff of the Inn are very friendly and helpful. Exotic world music, custom lighting, a breezy courtyard, valet car service...I could go on and on, but the short story is that we loved the place.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, I would reserve a room away from the dining courtyard as you can hear ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Its in a great location, an easy walk to the plaza. The hotel is great and the staff are better still. We had the Lavendar room, which was great as we had the two loungers right outside our door. This was great to come back to after being out for the day and ralaxing with a bottle of wine. All the contents of the fridge in the room are complimentary and replenished daily. This was especially appreciated due to the amout of water one should consume in Santa Fe. Th eother great thing was that there was no tipping. Not that we mind tipping, but not having to have the hassle especially when breakfast is delivered to our room was great. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC-USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Anyone who has read any of my previous reviews of world-wide properties can easily see that I'm almost never at a loss for words in describing a place we have stayed The Inn of the Five Graces has me tongue-tied (OK, keyboard-tied). It is so utterly, astonishingly great that I am absolutely unable to conjure up adequate words to describe why we loved it more than any other urban hotel we have visited. But I'll try.

The suite we stayed in was like a warm, welcoming museum. Wonderful dhurrie rugs on the floor, gorgeous hand-made Asian textiles on the walls, antiques everywhere, and a shower with walls and ceiling covered with a wondrous mosaic designed by the hotel's owner and his wife, Ira and Sylvia Seret.. I had the pleasure of meeting him twice at his store, the source of the decor of the rooms. He doesn't manage the hotel (he leaves that to his very capable son, Sharif), but we did visit him at his huge 70,000 sq. ft. emporium -- Seret & Sons -- , which is crammed with rugs, doors, tilework, sculptures, etc. either made in in plants he owns in central Asia or purchased from various sources, including Indian palaces undergoing updating and renovation. (I left the store a few dollars lighter after purchasing an antique Mughal elephant). Ira is utterly delightful, and his personality infuses not only the physical aspects of the Inn, but it has also infected the staff, which is the most genuinely friendly, helpful, and caring staff I have encountered anywhere.

The Inn is an absolute "must-stay" if you are anywhere within the Santa Fe area code.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Five Graces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Five Graces

Address: 150 E de Vargas Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn of the Five Graces 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn of the Five Graces combines luxury with an aura of mystery. With an ethnic décor enhanced by East Indian and Tibetan antiques, oriental carpets and nomadic textiles combined with Southwest architecture, the interiors feature many handcrafted pieces as well as spectacular tile mosaics. Passionate about this land with its wealth of Indian legends, the owners invite you to embark on a sensory voyage to fully savour this melting pot of cultures and colours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn of the Five Graces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Five Graces Hotel Santa Fe
Inn Of The 5 Graces
Hotel Of The Five Graces
Of The Five Graces Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Five Graces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.