We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privacy in the heart of Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Five Graces

Save Saved
You added Inn of the Five Graces to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn of the Five Graces
150 E DeVargas Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Privacy in the heart of Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I are avid travelers and chose Santa Fe for our honeymoon after discovering it by chance a few years before our wedding. We booked the Inn of the Five Graces for our hotel, and could not have been happier. On trips before and since we have stayed at the Inn of the Anasazi and the Inn and Spa at Loretto. Both are nice, but neither comes close to the true sense of privacy and relaxation at the Inn of the Five Graces. Yes it's expensive, but is worth the splurge - especially if it's a once-in-a-lifetime occasion. The Five Graces is tucked into a quiet side street just blocks from the heart of Santa Fe, and is within walking distance of just about anything you could want to do as far as shopping or dining. The rooms themselves are situated around a beautiful secluded courtyard with their own private entrances - no long, boring hallways with identical doors here. Once inside the room, you might as well be lost in something out of Arabian Nights. I was so blown away by the decor and atmosphere in our room I spent a full 5 minutes taking pictures of the bathroom. I have never found a hotel so close to everything a travel destination has to offer that feels like it's a million miles from anywhere. Absolutely amazing, you won't regret a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    25
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
215
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I feel I must say that I am guilty of never having post a review when very well deserved and this one is over due. If it weren’t for the Inn’s staff I would have never known of Trip Advisor. Upon driving up to the hotel Kandice was eagerly waiting outside as if only for us, a first at any property we have ever stayed at. Before we could get into the office our bags were already being hauled off to our suite and the car was already being parked, service at its best if you ask me. My wife and I entered the office and were greeted by Joshua who had warming/welcoming smile that reminded us both of being kids treated like adults. He walked us to our suite which was Jasmine and as he perfectly described about this room, “it was opulence at its finest, and visions of grandeur detailed just for us.” Throughout our stay the Inn’s staff was more attentive and helpful than I had ever experienced, I think my wife would as well agree. From daily newspapers to espresso, having wifi and breakfast, use of their fitness center, 24 hour concierge assistance and ALL of the other inclusives this property adds, why wouldn’t you stay here? The only reason for writing this review is because this property is non-tipping, something I didn’t find out until the end of out stay. Upon checkout, I did try to tip Joshua as he was an asset to our stay that we will never forget. Not only did he refuse the tip, but he kindly asked if in lieu of the tip, I’d be so kind to post a review for the property and staff. He explained to me that he does appreciate the observance of good service, but it isn’t money that drives the staff. It is the happiness of the guests and the willingness of being able to be there for us. Only once in my life have I experienced a staff member not refer to himself as I, but to himself as we and us and actually make it about a team environment. This was a general manager of a Mandarin Oriental in Asia. Only he has ever stuck in my head as wanting to re-visit because of over the top service. Now I have found my second. As long as Joshua is at this Inn we will return. He is an employee that will go far not only in life, but with how he provides customer service! When you visit Santa Fe, you NEED to stay at the Inn Of The Five Graces and nowhere else. Yes, the rates are a bit higher but once you do look at what is included I can tell you NO where compares and the service is unlike any, anyone can experience. Thank you Joshua and Kandice for making our stay what it should have been! We will see you next winter!

Room Tip: Stay in the Jasmine suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPDempsey, Public Relations Manager at Inn of the Five Graces, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear TerriM52970,

I want to first thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review and share your thoughts and experiences with us…with the world. We work very hard to find the best guest service agents and while I am never surprised to hear great things about them, it always makes me very proud to know that their service was such an important part of our guests stay. We are more of a family here and I believe that our connection to the property as a family is what makes it such an honor to be able to provide the best service possible. I will extend a heartfelt thank you on behalf of Joshua and Kandice for your kind praise and we will do everything we can to ensure they are here and waiting for you upon your return.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again next winter.

Blessings,
The Seret Family and the Entire Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Perhaps the most unique and pleasant experience I've had in a hotel in the states. Small, intimate, cozy, with one of a kind decor. The staff goes to great pains to know their guests and attend to every need. It is expensive, but the price is truly all inclusive. While my wife and I enjoy Santa Fe, for us, the destination is Inn of the Five Graces, not the city itself; what more can I say?

Room Tip: Doesn't matter; I'm pretty sure we've seen them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPDempsey, Public Relations Manager at Inn of the Five Graces, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear T453,

To be singled out as a destination within the wonderful city of Santa Fe is truly an honor. Santa Fe is a pretty wonderful place…but is nice to know that we make it that much better. We are very grateful for your review and kind words. Our guests experience and value of their stay are a passion of ours and we are glad to know that we met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you safe and happy travels.

Blessings,
The Seret Family and the Entire Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

The Inn of the Five Graces is a Santa Fe treasure we discovered quite by accident when we were asked to leave our hotel on New Year's Eve because the bank was foreclosing on the property. You heard right, folks. Evicted on New Years Eve. That said - we were lucky enough to get a room at the Five Graces - a beautiful, stunningly decorated casita with a great kitchen (with fresh chips and homemade salsa waiting upon our arrival), a warm fireplace, cozy living room, perfect Wi Fi and a comfy bedroom with a king size bed covered with a dreamy feather pillow. Plus a fridge full of Perrier/water/chocolates - all free! But then again, this place is a Relais & Châteaux and you can always expect the best and to be treated like royalty. The staff was so friendly and helpful and let's not forget their complimentary breakfast. Yummy!! And fyi, they'll happily accommodate kids and even give you a crate for your family dog. We just loved our stay there and can't wait to come back! Thank God we got evicted!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPDempsey, Public Relations Manager at Inn of the Five Graces, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Addison107,

Thank you for your very detailed review, words of praise, and traveler recommendations. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are happy to have been able to step in and save your stay and New Years Eve in Santa Fe. We look forward to your return and hope that your new year has continued forward in good graces.

Blessings,
The Seret Family and the Entire Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We just spent the most warm, cozy, and beautiful Christmas at this incredible hotel. Every minute was a delight. EVERYTHING about this hotel is superb. There is not in this world a more attentive nor kind staff. How we appreciate everything they did for us, from choosing superb restaurants every evening to making our little doggie feel as welcome and comfortable as we were. We are still thinking about how wonderful it was sitting in front of our beautiful burning kiva with delicious breakfasts in front of us. We are already planning our next trip back.

Room Tip: We loved Aria. It is so beautiful and also pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPDempsey, Guest Relations Manager at Inn of the Five Graces, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear lilyh46,

We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful and beautiful Christmas stay with us. We cannot thank you enough for your kind words for the property and the staff. It was a pleasure to have you here with us and we look forward to your return. Have a wonderful and safe new year.

Blessings,
The Seret Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The rooms are certainly unique with an Asian-N. African flair. Smell of firewood and furnishings lent a home-like coziness to the wonderfully over the top elements of the decor. The beds were comfortable and the linens were of higher caliber. The standout service, especially, from the evening/night staff despite a skeleton crew was memorable- from preparing fruit platters, cheese plate, coffee etc. to re-kindling the fire, always with a smile. Additionally, the complimentary food and drinks in the room catered to our dietary preferences were much appreciated (healthier options- more fruits, nuts etc). Between the altitude and the dry air, it was nice to have a ready supply of drinkable and portable water at our disposal for hydration. Simply put, breakfast was wonderful, however, there was considerable wait two days in a row. Granola was one of our family favorites.

I would recommend making dinner reservations at the local eateries in advance as they were booked 7-8 days prior to our arrival. Also, there were several local music/play venues with memorable performances. I highly recommend the Lensic performing arts center located very close to the inn of the five graces (http://www.lensic.org). Many world famous artists travel through here. If of interest, plan for a walking tour of SF offered in am (can be arranged by the inn) and a drive outside of SF to Taos through the very picturesque, winding "high roads" of the Sange de Cristo Mountains. There is limited cell phone service, hence not much GPS help from google maps and the map provided by the hotel is not always sufficient, but navigation help was readily provided by the folks inhabiting the small towns and scenic sites.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPDempsey, Guest Relations Manager at Inn of the Five Graces, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear GeorgeThomas,

Thank you for your review and for taking the extra time to detail your experiences not only at the Inn, but out and about Santa Fe. The holidays can be a very busy time here so your advice to fellow travelers to plan ahead and take advantage of local venues is invaluable. We recommend taking full advantage of our Concierge Services to arrange any and all dining experiences or activities you may wish to plan in advance. Please accept our sincere apologies for the wait time you experienced at breakfast, our kitchen can get quite busy but we always strive to provide that best quality and service possible so your comment will be noted for the future. That said, we are happy to hear that you did enjoy your meals including our Chef’s homemade granola. We hope that you are having a wonderful start to the New Year and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Blessings,
The Seret Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We had a lovely stay. Our room was stunning, as was the entire hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful and warm and pleasant. We really enjoyed staying here. The location is terrific. During the winter, when we visited, driving around Santa Fe wasn't too congested, but I imagine that in the spring and summer, it gets very crowded and this location becomes even more critical. We'll come back.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with special tile work - it's fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWMEX1, Public Relations Manager at Inn of the Five Graces, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Dear LA12345,

Thank you for your lovely review and for your insight regarding our location. It can indeed get very busy here in the summer and we are in a perfect downtown location to offer convenience and an oasis like serenity within our walled compound. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return. Have a happy and safe new year.

Blessings,
The Seret Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Five Graces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Five Graces

Address: 150 E DeVargas Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn of the Five Graces combines luxury with an aura of mystery. With an ethnic décor enhanced by East Indian and Tibetan antiques, oriental carpets and nomadic textiles combined with Southwest architecture, the interiors feature many handcrafted pieces as well as spectacular tile mosaics. Passionate about this land with its wealth of Indian legends, the owners invite you to embark on a sensory voyage to fully savour this melting pot of cultures and colours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn of the Five Graces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The 5 Graces
Inn Of The Five Graces Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Five Graces
Of The Five Graces Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Five Graces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.