We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an option vs. "The Plaza"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What an option vs. "The Plaza"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

For anyone who wishes to get more out of their Santa Fe experience, I recommend Bishop's Lodge Ranch Resort and Spa. Most resorts on the Plaza offer you the location for shopping, but they don't offer the stuff that Bishop's Lodge does to keep you entertained. Multiple hiking trails, horse riding and skeet shooting are just a few of the unique amenities at the resort.

I was attending a conference so I couldn't do as many of the activities as I'd have liked, but I did get a chance to enjoy a spa treatment and eat some fabulous food. All of the employees were serviceable and really anticipated our group's needs and requests.

You won't be disappointed...a lot of these reviews said that the rates were too high....well, welcome to Santa Fe. If you're going to spend the money, spend it where you can get the most for your money, and this is the place.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    110
    76
    92
    63
See reviews for
178
197
24
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

The Bishop's Lodge Resort and Spa was AWESOME! I had a great visit while there for a meeting. The staff was friendly and very accommodating, the setting of the resort is absolutely beautiful, and the experience was one of a kind! I highly recommend Bishop's Lodge to anyone traveling to the Santa Fe area - I believe it is truly the best way to experience the real Santa Fe. Enjoy!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

We just returned from a great ski weekend in Santa Fe. Because we needed a place to stay and spread out all of our gear, we stayed at Bishop's Lodge. It was perfect since they upgraded our family to a suite with plenty of room and a fireplace. The beds and furniture were very comfortable and the views of the surrounding mountains spectacular. Bishop's Lodge was very quiet, which was perfect after a noisy stay at a cheap hotel at the Albuquerque airport the night before.

There was a nice workout room and hot tub. We were so busy skiing and shopping in Santa Fe that we did not eat in the restaurant, though it looked great. We enjoyed being 3 miles away from the busy city center, and at night on our way back to the hotel, we actually pulled off the side of the road so we could see the incredible number of stars in the sky.

The complimentary salsa, chips, and bottled water that awaited us in our room when we arrived were very welcome, though when we ate dinner later and had more chips, we were chipped out.

As beautiful as the hotel is in winter, it probably would be even more spectacular in the summer with the large pool, horse stables, and hiking trails. Our teenage kids have stayed in many nice places (and some not so nice), and this was one of their favorites.

  • Liked — The sapce and the quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aledo, tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

The night we arrived, our room had no heat, we contacted the front desk who were helpful at first...but when we arrived back to our room after dinner we found ONE space heater (from the 1970's) for two rooms...the front desk staff was rude when we asked for a safer, newer model. It snowed 25 inches for 2 days straight but no effort by staff to shovel a path to our room...However, maintenance staff was helpful and nice... not nice enough to make up for the rude night shift at the front desk...I recommend the El Rey Inn instead

  • Liked — the snow was pretty, it was fairly close to the road to the ski resort
  • Disliked — rude staff
  • Tips/Secrets — just stay at the El Rey Inn
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2006

The setting of the Bishop's lodge is lovely, the room- a king deluxe- was nice, a little cold. The bed was comfortable, and the fireplace is a great addition- and needed. Hot water takes about 5 minutes to heat up. The restaurant is very good but very expensive. Breakfast can run you $40 with tip. The resort fee is ridiculous, oh wait, but that wonderful three page Newspaper is included in it ! The spa is nice but expensive, $110 for a 55 minute massage. I pay $75 in DC and get a wonderful massage for that price. Facial was $120! I just felt kind of fleeced after staying here and I'm not opposed to spending money when it is worthwhile. A clip joint is what I kept calling it. Santa Fe in general, was dissapointing as well. The food is great- pricey but worth it and the scenery surrounding SF is just wonderful, but the town has gone really touristy- that is the primary industry so I'm not sure why I expected soemthing better. Everyone I met kept asking me, how do you like it here? I was never quite honest about it, because people were so eager to express there love for the place, I felt bad telling the truth. I guess I just didn't get it.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2006

From start to finish our stay was just generally frustrating and disapointing. We had stayed at the resort two years ago and quite enjoyed it. But since they changed management companies, everything has been downhill. I think the old company that used to manage the resort was called Interstate Hotels and Resorts. Unfortunately not a single member of the old management was there and for those managers who are there now, they need to brush up on their hospitality training.
Try the Inn on the Alameda if you want personable service. For now the Bishop's Lodge has lost its way and lost a returning guest.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

While the location of this facility is lovely (but that's New Mexico!), our stay lacked simple details which should have been automatic at such a pricey resort:

*We booked online well in advance. When we needed to revise our arrival / departure dates slightly, we suddenly found the originally quoted prices to have increased significantly. It took numerous phone calls, speaking with different managers, to finally get the price we were originally quoted.

*We arrived late in the evening and had a very hard time finding the resort, even with MapQuest directions. The signing at the entrance consisted of one small light at the bottom of a very indiscreet sign. Finding our casita was even more difficult. The front desk staff gave us a map but, alas, the area is not lighted at night, and there were no signs along numerous widing roads through the canyon. We even bottomed out our car at one location!

*Our ridge room casita was very nice, quiet and clean; however, the housekeeping staff needed some direction. Dirty towels and even a vaccuum were left outside on the sidewalk for days on end!

*Maintenance of the rooms needed some attention. We had numerous light bulbs out. One evening during torrential rains, water started pouring into our room. It took two calls to the front desk to have someone come up. The maintenance man finally arrived and decided to wait until it quit raining! He simply put towels down. As a result, rain poured in all night soaking the suede sofa and carpeting! What a shame!

*The resort fee is absolutely ridiculous. My wife is disabled -- she and I used none of the activities, but were still charged the entire fee.

*Meals at the facility were very expensive.

*From our perspective, the location was very inconvenient. We had to take a car to go everywhere -- for meals, to have a drink, to go Santa Fe -- even down to the lodge! Staying in town is much easier -- you can walk everywhere!

All in all, this place has a lot of potential -- but management needs to fine tune its services, employees, accommodations, etc.
We'll probably not go back.

  • Liked — New Mexico's beautiful scenery
  • Disliked — Hotel service
  • Tips/Secrets — Read reviews carefully and understand this location's concerns
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.