We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
san diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rustic Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

I had heard of the place for years and we had the opportunity and stayed for a couple of nights recently. We were in one of the "historic rooms." The whole resort has tons and tons of charm, but could use some serious renovation to make it live up to their website and the price. The spa is wonderful, really modern, but not all of the staff are customer service oriented. The manager and desk staff were very helpful and truly accomodating. I am not sure if they were just short staffed in the dining room or what the issue was. The first meal we had there was good, but the service was really off -- we were never offered refills on coffee or tea, the server seemed overwhelmed and she was handling about four tables. It was just odd for a full service resort. The second meal had a different server and was much more professional and enjoyable. The average guest appeared to be over 50, but there were obviously younger people there, including small children, but they seemed to be there along with grandparents. I could see why a small child could really have fun with crouquet, horseback riding, a wonderful big pool, and bikes for riding. It is an expensive and fun family resort, it just doesn't seem like the place for the three to five day stay for Santa Fe fun for a couple in the 20 - 50 age range. There was a really good band in the lobby / bar on the weekend, but we just happened to stumble in and found them. Since you don't go through the lobby to get to your rooms and there was little if any advertising about entertainment, we could have easily missed the live music. There are other hotels of similar price range that are in town that might not offer all of the active recreation, but are probably better suited for couples.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahBL, Rich Verruni, Managing Director at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2009
Thank you for choosing Bishop's Lodge Ranch Resort and Spa for your Santa Fe visit. We appreciate your comments. Bishop's Lodge is a full service Ranch Resort with many amenities including, stables, spa, tennis and skeet and trap shooting, hiking trails, mountain biking and pool. We wish you had the opportunity to experience all of our amenities to get a real sense of our resort experience. We publish the Lariat our daily newsletter, to inform guest of daily activates and entertainment.
I apologize for the slow service in the restaurant for your first meal and I was pleased to hear that all the other positive service you experienced.
Your comments are greatly appreciated and we will review them with our staff.

Thank you,

Rich Verruni, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    123
    85
    97
    70
See reviews for
187
219
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

Our 2nd honeymoon was amazing from our room at the top of the valley looking into the mountains as far north as Colorado! The service from check-in on Friday to check out on Sunday (after an incredible Sunday Brunch) was impeccable.
The manager runs a tight ship! And the staff are kind, easy and affable. And pros - they all make it look easy. Dancing on Saturday night to Cuban Street music by Savor was the cha cha cha we love.
I would recommend this only if you are willing to have a really great time, relax, laugh and enjoy the elegance of professionals around you. And - enjoy the horses, trap & skeet, a massage at the spa or an outdoor pool!
Bishops Lodge has been a star of Santa Fe for 90 years for a reason!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahBL, Rich Verruni, Managing Director at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2009
We are thrilled that you choose to spend your second honeymoon at Bishop's Lodge Ranch Resort and Spa. Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience with others. I will be reviewing your comments with our staff thanking them for a job well done. We look forward to your next visit to the Bishop's Lodge Ranch Resort and Spa.


Thank you,
Rich Verruni, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley AZ
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

Very Picturesque surroundings, only 7 mins from plaza, although it feels like you are all alone in the middle or no where :-) The entire front desk staff for all 3 days were extremely accomodating, friendly & nice. Dinner was great, very nice atmosphere (roaring huge fireplace in middle of room). Luved having our own private fires in the rom (they stack wood outside your room) and also in the little fireplace on huge balcony - WHAT A VIEW! Luved it! (btw, luved fitness room, pool & the pilates & yoga classes - thanx Hallie!)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahBL, ManagRich Verruni, Managing Director at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share with others the special beauty of Bishop's Lodge and highlighting our service. Our staff appreciates the kind and positive feedback from our valued guest. We look forward to your next visit to Santa Fe and Bishop's Lodge Ranch Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

We stayed at the bishop's Lodge Spa And Resort. our stay was an excellent stay. my family enjoyed the scenery's and the beautiful hotel. as we were checking out and waiting for our shuttle to arrive. we over heard a manager , scolding a front desk clerk. because she wasn't answering the phone on a timely manner. in which we think it was very un perfessional. on how the manager confronted the employee, in front of the guest's. we feel the manager should have taken the employee, aside after she was done assiting guest's. and discuss the issue with the employee after the guest's departure. we will gladly return. how ever the management should not instill fear in there employee's.

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahBL, Rich Verruni, Managing Director at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2009
Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at Bishop's Lodge. Your comments are very important as we review all feedback with our associates. We pride ourselves on delivering 4 diamond level of service to our guests. Our interaction amongst staff and associates should be respectful at all times. Our behind the scenes management of the guest experience should not visible to our guest. Thank you for bring this issue to our attention. We look forward to your next stay at Bishop's Lodge Ranch Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

The Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa is not only a 4 star, luxury experience but also a step back in history. The beautiful grounds, the Adobe buildings, and the fabulous food make this an exciting place to be. It is a setting seen nowhere else in Santa Fe and an experience you'll never forget.

This was the retreat for the first Bishop of New Mexico back in the mid-1800's and still has a small chapel on the grounds which is very interesting. There is a pool, fitness area, and world class spa. Horseback riding and skeet shooting as well. We had booked a day for skeet but it was just too cold!

The staff here were very friendly and helpful. Oh, and I loved the cozy little bar, of course stocked with generous selections of fine spirits. The rooms are spacious with lots of Southwest Decor and each with it's own kiva style gas fireplace.

I have been to this resort a number of times, both with family and without. It caters to the individual or family with equal zeal. As a matter of fact, there was a family sledding on the front hill this year.

I recommend the Bishop's Lodge to anyone who is looking for a luxury style vacation or event. it is a unique property that offers a unique stay.

  • Liked — Atmosphere and Room
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

We looked forward to our 5-day in Santa Fe. The trip was fun because Santa Fe is great, but this lodge is terrible.

We arrived around 8:30 PM on a Sunday night (3-31-08). After check-in and dropping off our bags, we went to the restaurant for dinner. It closes at 9:30 PM, and we were seated around 9 PM. We were clearly not welcome: the hostess was unfriendly, the candles at our table were not lit despite a request to our server, the bar staff decided to run the vacuum as we ate, and restaurant staff moved items to and from the kitchen through the main room, next to our table. It would have been better to be told up front to go elsewhere.

Another night we ordered room service. We made the mistake of not calling for tray pickup before 9:30 PM and as a result we were told that "no one was available" to remove the dishes. Since the rooms all open to the outside and animals are not far, we kept the tray in our room until the morning. This sort of indifferent service was rampant.

Wireless internet in your room? Forget it. There's a weak intermittent signal, but prepare to go someplace else for any computer work you need to do. As a check, I walked my computer to the front desk area and the spa / pool area. It was no better.

The plumbing works poorly. We were in the South Lodge, and the toilet was slow, often requiring multiple flushes. I checked the restrooms at the pool / gym, and they were the same even though that building is much newer..

Parking is worth mentioning. While there are lots of spaces at the base of a hill and near the main lodge building, areas near some of the buildings are marked "fire lane - no parking please." But guests and staff park in these fire lanes consistently with no consequences. Management seemed not to care. I'm not sure that fire equipment could get through if necessary given the unsafe fire lane parking, and that's ridiculous.

The schedule of activities is inaccurate. An 8 AM Yoga class on the printed schedule we were handed at check-in turned out to be a Pilates class. The stables, advertised as closed on Mondays, were closed on Tuesday as well. Moreover, the personnel running the exercise classes were haughty; they seemed not to want to be there.

There were bright sides: housekeeping was excellent, the workout room was adequate, and the restaurant’s food was good. Moreover, the setting is beautiful, although that’s a tribute to the Santa Fe area, not to this hotel. Anything would look great here.

The public face of the lodge - front desk clerks, restaurant hostesses – was quite rude. On the other hand, the not-so-public face of the lodge - waiters, housekeeping, grounds personnel – was friendly. Maybe people are promoted here for being unfriendly.

We will never stay here again. It's a waste of money, it's potentially dangerous given the fire lane issue, and much of the service is poor or non-existent. There are better ways to spend your money in Santa Fe.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Rude staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

I don't remember ever having been moved by a place to the point that I would take the time to write a review about it. We went there looking for a relaxing couple of days - and we really found it at The Bishop's Lodge. If you are looking for a beautiful, tranquil setting where time seems to stand still and you can truly relax, this is that kind of place. It is peaceful without being boring. The rooms are unique and attractive - our room had a woodburning fireplace, a sitting area, coffered ceilings, and a very comfortable king bed - all with a southwestern style which really worked in this very hilly setting. There is a charming chapel on the property which was built in the 1800's by the Bishop who lived on the property back then. The dining room at the lodge was a big treat - we ate all our meals there. The food is wonderful - probably the best breakfast potatoes I have ever tasted. Dinner every night was a very nice experience - delicious and an unbelieveable value. They serve a wonderfully prepared 3 course dinner for two, which includes a nice soup or salad, several entree choices, such as Rack of Lamb or NY Strip or Prime Rib - all with side dishes, followed by a gourmet dessert.. AND, this INCLUDED a bottle or local Chardonnay or Merlot. You would expect to pay at least three times what they charged for these dinners. This was that rare case in which you actually got much more than you paid for. The staff was more than cordial - we found them to be kind. We were there for three days, and never encountered anyone with a bad attitude. We loved, loved, loved everything about the place. And though there is no place like home, we really didn't want to leave. I have nothing but high praise for The Bishop's Lodge. If you go there expecting the Ritz-Carlton, you will be disappointed. But if you are looking for a picturesque setting in a very comfortable, homey resort, your expectations will be exceeded. This is getting wordy - I just want to drive home the point that this will not be one of those vacations where you come home exhausted. There is plenty to do, but this is a place where you can truly relax. Oh yeah - their spa is top notch. I got one of the best massages I have ever had there. Final thought - we awoke to snow on our last day - it was beautiful and a great finishing touch.

  • Liked — The beautiful views and overall location - off the beaten path
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#43 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.