We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic but Comfortable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Norwich, Vermont
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Rustic but Comfortable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Frankly, I was concerned ahead of time to read so many negative reviews of the Bishop's Lodge Ranch on Tripadvisor that, when I first arrived and was shown to 189 Juniper Lodges, I thought my worst fears had come true. But when Arias opened the door for me, I was pleasantly surprised to find an enormous room, well furnished, with comfortable Queen-size beds and clean, good quality, white linens. It also came with comfortable seating around an adobe fireplace. The old-fashioned TV certainly did not faze me at all, as I was not at the Bishop's Lodge to watch TV programs. The bathroom was surprisingly large too, handsomely tiled, and well equipped. I especially appreciated the long Bishop's Lodge toweling robe one chilly night. And best of all, behind Spanish doors, there was a concealed, tiled sink for washing fruit and vegetables, and below it a small refrigerator, great for keeping groceries from Kaune's Market and cold drinks! This meant I could have breakfast and dinner out on the back deck, when I did not want to eat in the restaurant.

I liked the peace and quiet of 189, as it was the furthest room from the main lodge. Its location is very close to the paddock and the stables, and through the trees, wranglers could be seen preparing the horses for guests. It was also a great place to see desert hare hopping by. My room even had its own private parking space, which was greatly appreciated, as I would come back late at night from the Santa Fe Opera but would always have my reserved space.

This is a family-oriented resort with lots of activities for children and grownups, but it works well for the solo traveler too, especially if you want to take time out to just relax. On one occasion, I took advantage of the shuttle service to go downtown at noon to the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum to see the O'Keefe/Steiglitz/Ansel Adams Exhibition and to pick up tickets for the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival at the New Mexico Museum of Art. I even had time for a late lunch at the French Bakery at the La Fonda Hotel and a visit to the Cathedral before returning to the Bishop's Lodge on the 4:15 PM shuttle.

All in all, this was an enjoyable stay, enhanced with a friendly and helpful staff, in lovely surroundings.

Room Tip: I liked the isolation of room 189, but if you want more luxury choose the newer apartments on the up...
See more room tips
Green Features: Towels and sheets not changed unless asked. Organic toiletries. Santa Fe was under drought conditions, so cannot comment on water-saving remedies.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    111
    78
    92
    66
See reviews for
180
201
24
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

The room, grounds and staff were lovely. A magical place to celebrate my friends 50th Birthday. One of the highlights of our stay was the group drumming circle with Jade. A wonderful time was had by all. Jade is a loving soul who speaks from the heart. You won't be disappointed. A session with Jade will complete your stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel is way over-rated. Our stay there was annoying from the beginning to the end. We called and booked a room. When we showed up, the hotel had booked the wrong date. They said they'd change it, but when we arrived back home we realized we were charged for two nights. The horse ride was good, but someone changed our tip amount and we had to dispute it. The rooms were musty and wet. The beds were old and dusty. The TV was very small and was located far away from the bed. The staff is non-responsive. I would not go back.

Room Tip: This is a lodge, not a luxury hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishoplodger, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Bishop's Lodge. We appreciate everyone feedback and we share the comments and take your suggestions very seriously.

I apologize for any confusion on your reservation. After every reservation, you get a confirmation letter emailed for you to review. It sound like you booked 2 rooms or room mights. This may have lead to some confusion. Our monsoon season is creating a wet atmosphere and that maybe a reason why things felt wet in your room.

I'm sorry you did not take advantage of our Conde Nast award winning Sha Nah Spa, or free yoga, hiking trails, mountain bikes or pool.

We offer an authentic rustic Santa Fe experience. We hope you may reconsider us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This review is tailored a little bit more towards my overall wedding experience rather than just a breakdown of the hotel, but my experience at Bishop's Lodge was absolutely perfect! Every aspect was handled flawlessly. The Director of Events (Kristina) is INCREDIBLE. She is probably the most calm, organized person I have ever met. She always got back to me with lightning speed - and keep in mind that she probably had at least 50 other brides bugging her all the time - and she was so much fun to work with. The vendors that she recommend I work with were the perfect fit. The food was outstanding, the banquet staff was so helpful and they really went above and beyond to make the evening perfect. I ended up working with a Day Of Coordinator and she and Kristina worked seamlessly together. I truly had the "dream team" on my wedding day.

The venue is GORGEOUS. It's the place for you if you are looking for an outdoor venue with a lot of natural beauty. Lots of trees, greenery, etc. The Pavilion is not at all like a typical hotel ballroom. It has an amazing courtyard that cocktails are held in, but it is open to you the whole night. I definitely recommend that you add the outdoor lighting package (yes ladies. They have a lighting designer on staff!). The room has really high ceilings, chandeliers, and has a wall of French doors that can open out, There is also a huge rock fireplace that Kristina filled with candles for us, as well as putting them all around the room, that really gave the whole place a very soft and romantic feel. I was worried that the carpet and some décor was too southwestern at first, but once the tables and dance floor went down you didn't notice it at all.

Some of the hotel rooms are a little dated - other reviewers do mention that - but my guests had a great experience. All the staff we encountered - from restaurant to front desk to engineering - were very nice and eager to make sure I had a perfect weekend. They have a lot of activities for you too. Horses, a great pool and spa, skeet shooting, hiking - you name it, they probably have it.

Bishop's Lodge is different from anywhere else in Santa Fe and I am so glad we booked here instead of a downtown hotel. It was exactly what I wanted.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms in our block were in the Chamisa Lodge and they were fantastic. We also had people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

So peaceful and relaxing! Loved the room and the view we had. The food was fantastic and the staff was wonderful. I love the ShaNah spa and the products! Yes, it is a little away from town, but that is the best part! Love the peace and quiet here, and will definely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We got a summer deal, so our double room was "only" $225. View from room was beautiful, but the mattresses were quite old - for example those at Best Western Plus are much more comfortable, based on our experience. Curtain rod was partially broken so curtains did not fully close. Wifi was inconsistent. Breakfast was not included in the cost of the room, and when we went to the restaurant for breakfast there was no hostess to greet us and the service was very slow and borderline impolite. We had to flag servers down to order and bring us the bill after a long wait, and no one smiled or greeted us at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

During one of Santa Fe's busiest summer weekends, we managed to find a last-minute room at the Bishop's Ranch, which was a great stroke of luck. Every other comparable property in town was full. The trade-off for being just at the outskirts of town was peace, quiet and wide-open vistas from our room near the top of the resort property. We arrived from Albuquerque by airport shuttle, but even though we didn't have a car we were never inconvenienced.

We were particularly impressed by two of the outstanding hotel staff members, Arias and Roosevelt. These two professionals are not only courteous, they are extremely personable, friendly and helpful. Whether driving us into town or helping us around the lodge, they both made us feel at home and at ease. When we arrived there was a problem with our key cards not working in the lock, and they made sure the problem received immediate attention so we wouldn't be held up or locked out of our room.

My impression is that this is an excellent property for families, as well as for people needing to get away from it all and relax. If that is what you're after, you may enjoy staying along the upper edge of the property, where the rooms are spacious and the sunset views are spectacular. The trade-off is that you'll need to take a short walk down to the pool or dining area, but there is always the option of calling for a ride if you're not into the walk. During our walks we found the beautiful chapel building, saw the kitchen garden, met the horses and saw a few rabbits along the trail. Don't miss the chance to appreciate your surroundings when you're there!

Room Tip: There are many types of room options at the lodge, so be sure to ask about where your room is locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.