We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bishop's Lodge IN Santa Fe” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bishop's Lodge IN Santa Fe”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel is way over-rated. Our stay there was annoying from the beginning to the end. We called and booked a room. When we showed up, the hotel had booked the wrong date. They said they'd change it, but when we arrived back home we realized we were charged for two nights. The horse ride was good, but someone changed our tip amount and we had to dispute it. The rooms were musty and wet. The beds were old and dusty. The TV was very small and was located far away from the bed. The staff is non-responsive. I would not go back.

Room Tip: This is a lodge, not a luxury hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishoplodger, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Bishop's Lodge. We appreciate everyone feedback and we share the comments and take your suggestions very seriously.

I apologize for any confusion on your reservation. After every reservation, you get a confirmation letter emailed for you to review. It sound like you booked 2 rooms or room mights. This may have lead to some confusion. Our monsoon season is creating a wet atmosphere and that maybe a reason why things felt wet in your room.

I'm sorry you did not take advantage of our Conde Nast award winning Sha Nah Spa, or free yoga, hiking trails, mountain bikes or pool.

We offer an authentic rustic Santa Fe experience. We hope you may reconsider us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    111
    78
    92
    66
See reviews for
180
201
24
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This review is tailored a little bit more towards my overall wedding experience rather than just a breakdown of the hotel, but my experience at Bishop's Lodge was absolutely perfect! Every aspect was handled flawlessly. The Director of Events (Kristina) is INCREDIBLE. She is probably the most calm, organized person I have ever met. She always got back to me with lightning speed - and keep in mind that she probably had at least 50 other brides bugging her all the time - and she was so much fun to work with. The vendors that she recommend I work with were the perfect fit. The food was outstanding, the banquet staff was so helpful and they really went above and beyond to make the evening perfect. I ended up working with a Day Of Coordinator and she and Kristina worked seamlessly together. I truly had the "dream team" on my wedding day.

The venue is GORGEOUS. It's the place for you if you are looking for an outdoor venue with a lot of natural beauty. Lots of trees, greenery, etc. The Pavilion is not at all like a typical hotel ballroom. It has an amazing courtyard that cocktails are held in, but it is open to you the whole night. I definitely recommend that you add the outdoor lighting package (yes ladies. They have a lighting designer on staff!). The room has really high ceilings, chandeliers, and has a wall of French doors that can open out, There is also a huge rock fireplace that Kristina filled with candles for us, as well as putting them all around the room, that really gave the whole place a very soft and romantic feel. I was worried that the carpet and some décor was too southwestern at first, but once the tables and dance floor went down you didn't notice it at all.

Some of the hotel rooms are a little dated - other reviewers do mention that - but my guests had a great experience. All the staff we encountered - from restaurant to front desk to engineering - were very nice and eager to make sure I had a perfect weekend. They have a lot of activities for you too. Horses, a great pool and spa, skeet shooting, hiking - you name it, they probably have it.

Bishop's Lodge is different from anywhere else in Santa Fe and I am so glad we booked here instead of a downtown hotel. It was exactly what I wanted.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms in our block were in the Chamisa Lodge and they were fantastic. We also had people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

So peaceful and relaxing! Loved the room and the view we had. The food was fantastic and the staff was wonderful. I love the ShaNah spa and the products! Yes, it is a little away from town, but that is the best part! Love the peace and quiet here, and will definely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We got a summer deal, so our double room was "only" $225. View from room was beautiful, but the mattresses were quite old - for example those at Best Western Plus are much more comfortable, based on our experience. Curtain rod was partially broken so curtains did not fully close. Wifi was inconsistent. Breakfast was not included in the cost of the room, and when we went to the restaurant for breakfast there was no hostess to greet us and the service was very slow and borderline impolite. We had to flag servers down to order and bring us the bill after a long wait, and no one smiled or greeted us at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

During one of Santa Fe's busiest summer weekends, we managed to find a last-minute room at the Bishop's Ranch, which was a great stroke of luck. Every other comparable property in town was full. The trade-off for being just at the outskirts of town was peace, quiet and wide-open vistas from our room near the top of the resort property. We arrived from Albuquerque by airport shuttle, but even though we didn't have a car we were never inconvenienced.

We were particularly impressed by two of the outstanding hotel staff members, Arias and Roosevelt. These two professionals are not only courteous, they are extremely personable, friendly and helpful. Whether driving us into town or helping us around the lodge, they both made us feel at home and at ease. When we arrived there was a problem with our key cards not working in the lock, and they made sure the problem received immediate attention so we wouldn't be held up or locked out of our room.

My impression is that this is an excellent property for families, as well as for people needing to get away from it all and relax. If that is what you're after, you may enjoy staying along the upper edge of the property, where the rooms are spacious and the sunset views are spectacular. The trade-off is that you'll need to take a short walk down to the pool or dining area, but there is always the option of calling for a ride if you're not into the walk. During our walks we found the beautiful chapel building, saw the kitchen garden, met the horses and saw a few rabbits along the trail. Don't miss the chance to appreciate your surroundings when you're there!

Room Tip: There are many types of room options at the lodge, so be sure to ask about where your room is locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Unfortunately, we were only passing through Santa Fe on our way to Colorado so had less than twenty-four hours. Got a room at Bishop's via Hotel Tonight because I had heard all of the rooms had been redone. The rate was almost $300.00, and was definitely not worth it. Our room was spacious but worn terribly. Looked the same as it would have in the sixties. Beds were fair with budget linens. Tub and bathroom area had cracks and mold. Old fridge in the bathroom but no trash can! Coffee is provided but is not good. Grounds are kept poorly. Upside is the quiet. There are too many other wonderful places to stay in Santa Fe - I would choose one of them.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, marketing/public relations at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for the trouble you had with your room. We hope you took advantage of our large pool, horseback riding, hiking trails, lawn games, or some of our other activities during your brief stay. We are happy to hear that we provided a quiet environment during your stay.

Sincerely,

The Bishop's Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I agree with a previous reviewer. The austerity, remoteness, setting, and your knowledge and history of the original Bishop of Santa Fe all add to the mystique and interest here. But the reality is the upkeep of the property is lacking. We had a problem requiring maintenance, and it was 6 hours before a man arrived. The dinner was unremarkable, and took forever to arrive. If I was indeed a monk, I would consider this a "near" paradise, but instead it's a bit shabby upon close inspection. If you want the history lesson, read the book, but skip the stay. "Death Comes for the Archbishop" by Willa Cathe, voted the 7th-best "Western Novel" of the 20th century.

Room Tip: Take on of the upper level rooms, away from the business meetings at the lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, marketing/public relations at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are sorry about the engineering issues in your room. We are a resort full of rich history and hope you experienced our historic chapel during your stay.

Sincerely,

The Bishop's Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.