We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unfriendly service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Over all poor service, expensive, unfriendly, awkward room arrangement, and strange place. Went to celebrate an anniversary and were highly disappointed. I even paid extra for an upgraded room, wanting to make it special. Dined in the onsite restaurant with unfriendly wait service. Room wasn't ready when we arrived, even though we were promised it would be ahead of time. The view from the balcony of our room was beautiful, but was blocked somewhat by an unfortunate placement of a large tree. Had a disappointing breakfast delivered to our room. Part of the breakfast was missing, and was cold by the time the essential items were brought back to the room. I am usually easy to please, but have had much better experiences at other places, for less than half the price. Will not be returning. Another thought, our floor was two different levels with the carpet covering it, so easy to trip over that flaw also. Find a better place please.

Room Tip: We had a room with a kiva fireplace with a gas flame. But the furniture arrangement of a couch and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    111
    78
    92
    66
See reviews for
180
201
24
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

First off the location is amazing. From there the service consistently disappoints. Over 2 days of inquiry it's been impossible to get a yoga schedule. The front desk transfers to reservations. Reservations is confused and transfers to spa. Spa never answers. This is a heavily advertised immensity. Another amenity is mountain bikes which actually means they tell you to drive to town and rent from a bike shop. Nothing like the pictures advertised. Another example is the pool which was a big part of our decision to rent a condo at Bishop. Apparently it's been broken since last winter but this was not mentioned when making reservation only a couple months ago via phone. The pattern is over representation of amenities something the 60 other 1 star reviews seem to reference too. I've never seen 200+ 5 star reviews and 60- 1 star reviews. 4/5 love it. 1/5 hate it. Something is wrong with service consistency when 20% of guests are upset

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry you did not have the experience we are known for. Our schedules are printed daily with our activities and handed to our entire guest when you check in. Our Yoga and Pilates are from 8am-9am and we have signage as you enter the front desk area. I'm sorry you were not made aware of the times upon check in. We have several mountain bikes for our guest. You can check them out based on availability at the front desk as part of the resort fee. We have our main pool for villa guest that can be used anytime by our rersort guest that is working and has a pool bar for all to enjoy.

If you’re looking to rent a higher grade of mountain & cycling product we do suggest the Local mountain and cycle shops downtown to meet your standards. Most guest love the outdoor experience we provide and that sets us apart from any other resort in Santa Fe. We specialize in being authentic and take pride in our customer service. I sincerely apoligize on behalf of all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misssouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was our third trip to Santa Fe, and first time to stay off the Plaza. The location is peaceful and the view from our terrace was nice. The room itself was spacious, however, the bathroom was underwhelming. Upon our arrival, there were clean glasses and makeup remover towelettes. After the first night, neither item was replenished. The used bottles of shampoo and lotion were left empty and scattered about the bath tub ledge our entire trip. The bath soaps are minuscule and replaced just once. The sinks were not scrubbed out the entire four days. Our kiva didn't start the first night and engineering had to come up and relight the pilot light. Soot everywhere that was never cleaned up.

We came to celebrate my fiftieth birthday. My husband informed them of this when booking but nothing special to mark the occasion. We celebrated his fiftieth at a spectacular hotel on the Plaza that went out of its way to help us mark the occasion.

The room was never refreshed before bed. No turn down service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about Bishop's Lodge. First, I would like to thank you for the nice comments about how peaceful our location is. I would like apologize for the not replenishing your shampoo and lotions. Guest normally call us at the front desk for more amenities or replenishments. We did fix the problem with your Kiva as you mentioned.

Since you did not have your dinner reservations here for your 50th birthday, we normally would have brought out a cake or dessert with candles from the restaurant. Please contact me directly so I may send you a birthday gift.

rvasquez@bishopslodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

I surprised my wife and 6 year old daughter with a three nights stay on mothers day weekend. Upon our arrival at this beautiful estate we were greeted with the sights and soothing sounds of running waterfalls feeding three ponds as we drove under the ancient cottonwood trees. This resort is truly breathtaking. The staff was courteous and professional and our room was like our private casita. Charming southeast decor with a wet bar and the most comfortable beds and pillows ever. Complimentary high speed internet was unexpected (we usually have to pay for this). We enjoyed our private backyard patio overlooking a fourth pond and view of the horses in the distance. My daughter Really enjoyed the sounds of nature and ducks swimming in the pond. but she Really enjoyed feeding the horses. And my wife couldn't believe te complimentary yoga every morning. On our third day she enjoyed yoga with lulu Lemon (yes that was complimentary as well). After our Sunday morning exploring and hiking, we walked to the resort Restraunt, Las Fuentes.. WOW... Awesome fabulous champagne brunch. Now this buffet is so incredible that you have to see it to believe it. We met the Restraunt manager Martin Tenorio, he demonstrated the highest level of professionalism and attention to detail. And the Sunday brunch is open to the locals in Santa Fe. We are locals and this was such a nice close getaway. 7-8 minute drive from town. Thanks Martin Tenorio and your awesome team! 5*****

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishoplodger, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so much Mr. Estrada. You and your family are always welcome at Bishop's Lodge. Please let us know when your wife's birthday or daughters birthday so we can do something special for them.

Thank you again,

Ruben Vasquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodward, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a beautiful property and the Villas are amazing. I stayed in a two bedroom villa with a fantastic view. The Villa was well appointed, clean, and stocked with all of the essentials. I did use the gym facilities and they were adequate. The food was also good. My family and I participated in a Drum & Journey Circle facilitated by Jade Gonzalez which was eye opening and insightful and I would highly recommend taking advantage of that. She was also very flexible in assisting us with our schedule. The staff at the lodge are very friendly and helpful and I will absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Amazing facilities, gorgeous food, excellent service.what more can I say. The best hotel I have ever been to, my husband and I even slept better than we have in years. I was really spoilt and definitely recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This resort has so much going for it, a beautiful location, history, great activities but needs attention. Our room was in the main lodge, up the "back stairs". The room was cramped, the trash had not been emptied from the previous tenant, there was no closet door (although tracks where a previous door had been), one of the lights in the bathroom was missing a bulb, the faucet hot and cold levers were loose and felt like they could fall off at any time. I could go on but just generally not well maintained for what is marketed as a "deluxe" resort. And we found this to be the case in other areas, for example the restaurant menu still has a 2013 date! Just doesn't seem to be much pride in managing this facility. And the room certainly didn't match up with the pictures that were provided when we booked it. Just a very negative lodging experience in what otherwise was a wonderful few days in Santa Fe. With so many other amazing places to stay in Santa Fe we would not try this one again until it is refurbished and managed like a true luxury resort.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.