We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

From start to finish my getaway from the hustle and bustle to beautiful historic bishop lodge was everything I could of asked for and more. The local staff always has the best recommendations for activities in the area. Staying at the lodge gave my girlfriend and I the true Santa fe experience. Horseback riding with Joquim (famous rodeo legend/hollywood actor) is a must as well as message in the newly renovated in spa. Dinner was delicious as well had the 24 hour slow-cooked short rib that we could not get enough off. Just a short convenient ride to the downtown art galleries, bishop lodge provides the perfect santa fe escape.

Room Tip: fireplace is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank your for your review. The staff here at Bishop's Lodge has a variety of talented people. This is what sets us apart from other resorts and downtown Santa Fe Hotels. It's the experience we try so hard to give our guest. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    100
    74
    86
    61
See reviews for
169
184
23
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Bishop's Lodge offers really fine accommodations while putting you in touch with the history of the area and that old Santa Fe feel. The staff were exceptionally kind, inviting and accommodating. We stayed in Cienega which overlooked the pond and the horse pasture, and it was a joy to come back to the room each evening and burn some pinon in the fireplace. One of the on-site activities that I highly recommend is the two hour trail ride. I really reconnected with my inner-cowgirl as we were out in the foothills on 100 year old trails, crossing Little Tesuque Creek on horseback, and witnessing epic views of all the surrounding ranges.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This review is specifically for an activity at Bishops Lodge. My family of 6 (4 kids) stayed at Bishop's Lodge on Spring Break in March of 2014. We were busy signing up for horse-back riding, and planning our hiking around the area. When we asked what other activities there were, we were pointed to Jade's "Drum & Journey Circle". I looked at the brochure, but it looked like a company 'team building' class. I wasn't sure it was appropriate for our kids, being ages 6, 7, 10 and 11. Unsure, we even called Jade Gonzalez to check, she said the kids would be fine. I'm REALLY glad we went! The 3 daughters participated well, and had fun following others lead or making a drum beat for others to follow. The real surprise was my 10 year old son, who drug his feet all the way there. He played for the whole 45 minutes, and then for the next 2 days went on about how fun it was! My wife and I had fun, but it was most enjoyable because of the group activity with the whole family participating. I would recommend going to this, with school age kids, it was great! As this was March, the weather wasn't cooperating, and we were inside for this event. I bet this would have been even better if we had been able to do this outside.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My partner and I were fortunate enough to be able to join in with several other Hotel guests in Jade's Drum and Journey Circle ~~ which turned out to be a really fun, energizing and personal experience ~~ aside from being just wild crazy fun!
We sat in a circle beside a pond in the woods, Jade provided the drums we were to use and made a brief but meaningful introduction into the traditions, methods and power of drumming. She quickly showed us 'how'. And then in turn by leading and following we launched into an indescribably wonderful and rich experience. It was wild! We have since tried other drum circles in other parts of the country and some were quite good, but we will be coming back to Bishop's Lodge for this one!
The Lodge itself is of great historical interest and the mountain top setting is stunning, peaceful. There is great trail riding (really nice horses!) and hiking ~~ hard to believe you can be in town in ten minutes when you are up there it feels so remote and private. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: The Villas are especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Peaceful and serene, authentic adobe and beautiful rustic environment to unwind and to experience the culture and history of Santa Fe. Every amenity and recreational opportunity was a joy. WOW you've got to experience this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the presidential suite, what more can I add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We rented a 2 bedroom villa and were very pleased. It was very well decorated and equipped. Had everything we needed and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Very quiet and with beautiful views. The staff at check in were welcoming, provided insights to the property, and gave us all the attention we wanted. It is a short drive into town, but a shuttle is also provided if you don't want to find parking. The proximity to Santa Fe, but quiet and scenic location made this an ideal spot for our stay.

Room Tip: In the villas, the flew's on the chimneys are left open. Close them to keep the cool drafts out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We hope you come back and create more memories with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We liked the room and atmosphere. We'd like to hike in the area, but because of snow/ice, we could enjoy only small portion of what they afford.

Restaurant wasn't really impressive. There are many nice restaurants in downtown, there is no big reason to eat there (too salty, not attentive waiter, pricy).

One improvement I would suggest is putting more signs and lights. At night, it was really hard to find our building. It took almost 15 min. to find our place on the top of tight windy road...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your suggestions. We are currently creating more lighted areas around our signs. We also offer bellman service that are happy to guide or drive our guest to their rooms nightly. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.