We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be great, but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Could be great, but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We got a great deal online and Santa Fe is driving distance for us. The resort is older but quaint with stunning grounds. The rooms are in 3-12 room blocks nicely separated so that you feel nicely secluded. Note that this does mean quite a walk to the restaurant/spa/pool/stables if you don't feel like driving. In summer this would be OK, but in winter with icy roads, not a good idea. Our room was spacious with a great view and a small patio. We did have to ask them to shovel the snow off but that was done promptly. Patrick at the front desk was fantastic, others, just ho-hum. They turn the ice machines off in the winter so getting ice means that you are supposed to go to the restaurant and get it yourself. They should tell you this when you check in. Any reason they cannot bring ice each day when housekeeping makes up the room? Note that Patrick did arrange to have some delivered on our first night.
The grounds are stunning and hiking is great. Take a map with you and yak-trax and/or poles if you hike in the winter as the trails can get icy and/or muddy if the freeze/thaw thing is active.
The spa staff is indifferent and often not there. Another winter thing, I guess. Snow was piled up on the pool deck and the gum-cigaret butts-plastic trash was around the hot tub the entire time. Doesn't anybody clean up out there?
On the whole, Bishop's has potential but attention to detail is lacking. I would not stay again unless there was a great room rate. The restaurant is average at best (see review for Las Fuentes).

Room Tip: For quiet and scenic view go up the hill away from the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    97
    71
    84
    60
See reviews for
161
180
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We really had a nice time at Bishops Lodge. It is a beautiful property. It is lovely at Christmas time. We did not use the spa or the other "resort" activities such as horseback riding. We also knew to read the small print of the Groupon deal. It was, however, a little surprising to be charged an extra $30.00 a day. There were a couple of other minor things such as finding a previous guests clothes under the bed and being over the rather loud Christmas ensemble/karaoke party. (we sang along lying in bed, so it wasn't so bad). But we will probably go elsewhere next year on our annual Santa Fe trip.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, go to one of the out-lying buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Honda, California
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is the other twin sister who stayed at Bishop Lodge. It is absolutely stunning here. Our room was large (Deluxe Suite) and the back door opened to a little porch and we could see the horses. We had a real wood burning fireplace and a stack of wood was delivered to our front door, no extra fee. I loved the decor, it was rustic and extremely comfortable. I also liked the layout of the room, there was a sitting area with cozy comfortable couch to watch TV. The scenery and grounds are just stunning. The sitting area in the lobby is rustic and beautifully decorated, we were here a few weeks before Christmas, snow still on the ground and the Christmas lights were up. For our birthday dinner, we were sat right by the huge fireplace and the food was excellent (I had the almond crusted trout, yum). As far as the grounds and decor go, the ONLY thing I would change is to open up the hot tub area so it's not surrounded by walls, it would be awesome to sit in the hot tub and see out to the hills that surround the hotel. Don't be scared off by the distance from town, it's a BRIEF (2 minute) shuttle ride. The hotel offers 3 free rides a day in both directions...BUT...if you want to go to town (or come back) at a time other than the 3 free times (10 a.m., 2 pm, 4 pm) it was a simple phone call and $7 fee. We started taking the free shuttle into town, then we only had to pay the return fee one way if we wanted to stay out longer than 4 p.m. There was NO hassle with the shuttle!! As soon as I called, the shuttle arrived within 10 minutes completely reliably. The service from all of the staff members was outstanding. Also, we were talking to one of the staff members and he said he really liked working at Bishop Lodge because "the owners treat us really well." For me, that's something that means a lot and it is reflected in the outstanding service we encountered at Bishop Lodge. Our room was extremely reasonably priced, a bit over $120, which is a far better deal than most of the places in town. And an incredible sense of spaciousness both on the grounds and in the room. There was one thing I didn't like about Bishop Lodge...and that was LEAVING!!!!! We will definitely be back next year!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed closer to the Lodge area and I was glad, it was easy to walk over to catch the Shuttle and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I’m thrilled you had the opportunity to experience all that our resort has to offer and I look forward to passing kudos along to our “first rate” staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My twin sister and I came for our B-Day, originally booked in Superior Deluxe category but opted to downgrade to Deluxe Suite. The Superior Deluxe was more pristine and renovated but farther from main lodge and did not have wood burning fireplace. Our Deluxe Suite admittedly was more rustic and perhaps others may perceive in need of updating but that's actually what we liked about it. We hope Management will refrain from plans to renovate and leave it in it's perfectly homey, warm, inviting condition. It was clean, everything was in working order and we felt very comfortable, cozy, relaxed - like a small cabin rather than a sterile cookie cutter hotel room. Room is very spacious with separate sitting area, kiva fireplace, sofa, even a mini bar w/small refrigerator. Very large dual-sink bathroom and separate bath/shower toilet. The best part was opening up the patio door each morning and looking right out at the horses. You can't get that tranquil experience downtown. We had our birthday dinner in the restaurant, rustic elegant lodge ambiance w/large fireplace. Appetizer, salad, entree, dessert and wine, 4 people bill was approx. $200., very reasonably priced and delicious, memorable experience. Staff was beyond accomodating and helpful in every way. The complimentary 3X daily shuttle service was a big bonus and made it very convenient for the short (several minutes at most) drive to town. They were also reliable for drop off/pick-up for non-scheduled shuttle times. I regret not going horse back riding. The only thing stopping me from crying at check-out was knowing that we will surely be back next year-did not want to leave this winter paradise.

Room Tip: If you want more updated/renovated room w/mountain view, pay the small difference for Superior Delux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We would like thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review about Bishop's Lodge. We love guest like you who appreciate our wonderful resort. We look forward to your next visit with us.

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We decided to stay at the Bishop's Lodge again on our second trip to Santa Fe after nine years because we liked the rustic scenery and the ranch lodge atmosphere of their 450 acres a few miles north of town. We stayed at the Sunset Lodge building which is has couples rooms only a short walk from the main lodge. Our room was large with a Kiva style fireplace, comfortable king sized bed, and setting area with couch and chair. The bathroom had double sinks and a large shower/tub combo. The furnishings were a bit old, but we didn't mind this. The toiletries were top notch and very nice. The main lodge bar was cozy and the restaurant was adequate and served a full menu. The Sha Nah Spa was excellent with a comprehensive treatment list for men and women. She had a massage and facial and I had a massage and foot treatment. Both therapists was excellent with many years of experience. The spa building also contains their pool and fitness center. When we were there a huge winter storm blew in and covered the place in 9" inches of snow turning the buildings, huge trees and grounds into a white winter wonderland. Overall we like the lodge very much even though it's showing its age somewhat and upgrades needed in the older buildings. However, the historic setting and ranch lodge atmosphere make up for these shortcomings in our opinion.

Room Tip: Couples should be Ok with Sunset Lodge rooms and families should choose the upgraded rooms in lodges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and the front desk was very accommodating, quick, friendly and informative. We stayed in Juniper 1&2 and though there were enough signs to direct us, we still got lost. :P we asked a gentleman raking leaves for direction and will we all laughed about the experience he kindly told us exactly where our room was. As we were driving up to our cabin a deer slowly walked out of the forest about 6 feet I front of the car. It just looked at us while we frantically jumped for the camera and moseyed on its way toward our front door. We pulled right up to our front door and unloaded. I do suggest they add room numbers to both front and back door. We were part of a wedding party and therefore we got to look at both king and double queen rooms. The king room is nice but I personally loved the double queen room. We had a fireplace which we were able to light later that night with the wood they left outside of our door free of charge. The bathroom is HUGE as well as the closet. There was a wet bar, fridge and sink which was perfect! Truly, the only complaints I have are that the ice machine was broken and if you're not used to smelling horses I'd suggest a different cabin farther away from the stables. You could smell them outside but not inside thank goodness. The kids had a great time walking outside the door and looking at the fish pond and petting the horses though! Totally worth the smell!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

OMG Love it there. It is a super quiet place to stay. We were upgraded to the room with a fire place. Every day they drop off wood for your stay. A newspaper every day on the front of your door. They are pet friendly we took our husky Duke with us.
The restaurant at the lodge was so good we never left to go anywhere else to eat.
Just a very peaceful time away that is close to home...

Room Tip: ROOM 164 right out front of the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.