We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 59 hotels in Santa Fe
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great family vacation spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Do not come here for luxury. But come for very friendly staff, good food, and pretty surroundings. The rooms were clean and staff very cheerful and responsive. Nice pool. Great for kids and families. I don't know what else to add, but the site keeps asking for more characters.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    90
    65
    79
    59
See reviews for
148
172
22
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

As a Santa Fe local who has enjoyed the Bishops Lodge since the late 1980's, and a current City Club member, (use of the facilities for the locals), it breaks my heart to see what has become of this once great Santa Fe retreat. While the staff does its "best", the corporate owners in North Carolina do nothing but rip the money out of this place leaving nothing left to maintain the facilities let alone attract the type of talent required to save this landmark location. Mediocrity is what you should expect on their good days. The worst part is the owners and staff continue to do nothing and wont until they are forced to act or better, sell to someone who cares. Trust their are several other wonderful Santa Fe resorts who do a great job, BL just is not it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to write this review. We always appreciate all the feedback we get from all of our guest. Thank you for the nice comment on our staff. We have stepped up our customer service efforts and dinning experience where we have full control as management.
Our goal is to offer a genuine Santa Fe authentic experience. I apologize if we did not fulfill that goal.

One of the things we battle constantly is the cost of ruining this amazing resort with it's rich history and natural elements that surrounds Bishop's Lodges 450 acres and 51 different buildings on the property. This alone makes us a unique resort and we ask for you and others who care about Bishop's Lodge to continue to support this amazing place like no other. By purchasing a City Club membership we can use those funds to help restore our chapel and basic up keep, keep our kids camp counselors employed through out the summer.

We really have our hands full on preserving this 96 year old resort on a day to day operations. Not being a box or chain hotel or resort we pride ourselves in being able to still offer unique programs that others in Santa Fe cannot due to the cost and operations involved. Where else in Santa Fe or resort can you enjoy mountain biking, hiking trail, horseback rides, pony rides, drumming circles, Kids Camp, Cowboy cookouts on the mesa, Equus (horse whispering program) all in one location in a nature setting. Not too many.

Bishop's Lodge thanks you for being a City Club member. If you have any suggestions on how we can improve our City Club program we welcome it. We would love to hear from you. We value all of our local guest opinions. This is your resort and we ask that you help us preserve the great memories as well as yours.
Our New City Club Coordinator is Morgan Dawson.
Direct Tel. 505-992-3605
E-mail: mdawson@bishopslodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for a week as part of a work-related trip with 2 children, ages 7 & 10. We were fortunate to have a two room suite conveniently located at the bottom of the hillside so it was easy to walk to the pool and horses. Buildings were scattered on the hillside and I would not have liked the steep climb to some of them. Our rooms were dated, but had an authentic, historical charm of what I imagine the old Southwest would deliver. The king size bed was very comfortable and the pull-out in the second room was about average for the less than great pull-out expectation. Some of the decks and walkways were in need of repair and posed a safety hazard. We found the pool area to be very nice and staff were very friendly and helpful. Food service at the pool was good and provided lots of good choices for the kids for lunch. Service in the restaurant was quite slow, but the food was good. The children loved Camp Appaloosa which they attended for 2 of the days, and one of the highlights of each day was the walk to the horse corral to feed the horses. There is a small playground. They also enjoyed the trail ride, which even the younger child was able to do. You may even get a glimpse of some movie stars as we did during our stay. It is a short drive into Santa Fe, or take a shuttle for a nominal fee to enjoy the shopping or many good restaurants. We liked the Cowgirl BBQ the best,which even had a playground for the kids. I also enjoyed a relaxing massage at the beautiful spa which was very nice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the bottom of the hillside for a short walk to pool and ranch. Children can ask t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here for four nights, as part of a work-related retreat. The location is terrific - about 4 miles outside (north of?) Santa Fe. It was very easy to get downtown, though: if you have a car, you need only turn left out of the resort, drive about four miles, and you will find yourself on Washington St. at the plaza. The resort has a shuttle, too, which ran reliably several times each day.

The grounds are lovely and well-maintained (plantings and outdoor art), and the eponymous Bishop's lodge, which is open to the public and located just steps above the main lodge building, has a long, wide, shady porch that provides a nice spot for reading or relaxing. While we did not use the pool, it appeared to be well-maintained and clean - and it was busy each day.

As other reviewers have noted, the accommodations are in buildings of varying age and composition, scattered throughout the property. With the exception of the villas, the accommodations are short walking distances from the main lodge, where the restaurant, bar, concierge, and registration desk are located. While none of the buildings (again with the exception of the villas) is far from the main lodge, several are on the hillside, and require a bit of a climb (either up steps or up an inclined paved walk).

All of the accommodations have attractive exteriors; I did not see the interiors of any but ours. We stayed in the building named Vista de la Valle (which was at the "top" of the hillside), and loved our room. The room was large, well-furnished (kiva fireplace, a comfortable king bed; nighttable; a spacious desk and chair; a small sofa and an upholstered chair; coffee table and side tables; armoire with several drawers, TV, and small refrigerator), and attractively decorated.
Unlike some reviewers, I did not find our room in need of "updating" - the furnishings seemed to be relatively new and in very good condition.

The bathroom had a double sink in a small counter. The toilet and shower/tub were adjacent, with a separate door. The bathroom is small, and the lighting a bit dim.

Our room was immaculate, and the housekeeping staff cleaned it very promptly each morning (usually while I was in the restaurant for breakfast).

The main lodge building is lovely - each of the rooms in it, including the restaurant, is just beautiful. Food and drinks are served on the large patio - with beautiful views all around.The food at the restaurant (breakfast and lunch) was very good. Some might find the service a bit slow, but I found it merely relaxed! The service was friendly and reasonably attentive.

A few details kept me from rating the resort five stars. The trail map was confusing (the trails are color-coded, but the map was printed in black and white), and the front desk was unable to tell us where the trailheads were. Once on the trails, we found them inconsistently marked. On a Friday evening, the bar and restaurant closed early (I believe before 9:00 p.m.) and without warning, though not due to an emergency. A movie star was staying at the resort over the time we were there, and it seemed that the staff might have been a bit preoccupied with that.

Overall, it seemed to us that the Bishop's Lodge resort delivers the beautiful, relaxing, "old Santa Fe" atmosphere that the managers' comments below promise. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Wow, what a great detailed review. Thank you for pointing out everything you liked about our historic resort. You actually did come during a busy week. We had over 300 travel writers visiting us for a movie launch. I'm glad to hear you were still able to enjoy our resort while we were very busy. Thanks for the suggestions on the trail maps. I will review your comments with our new front desk hires regarding trail map. We appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rock springs wy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nestled in the mountains north of Santa Fe is wonderful getaway resort. We were always treated with respect and graciousness from the hotel staff, servers and management. We felt like it was a first class facility and the accommodations were grand. Wonderful food, just a little too much sometimes and beautiful environment overlooking the valley. We stayed there for only 24 hours but it felt like we were there a week. Almost like we were in a different country. Very relaxing. We took the Railrunner train up from Albuquerque and Bishops lodge picked us up and dropped us off. The room was grand, comfortable and spacious.

Room Tip: Get a patio that overlooks the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Jade Gonzalez' Drum Circles were the highlight of our time in Santa Fe. Thank you Bishop's Lodge for offering this AMAZING experience. My boys, 4 & 6, and I were on a road trip looking to connect with more cultural experiences. The drumming and totem work has deepened our appreciation for each other as we use cues about our totems to better relate to one another and connect. Jade has incredibly sweet and kind energy as she leads you through this beautiful session. I wish we lived closer and could tap into her creativity and radiance more often. I highly recommend this to anyone who has a chance experience Jade's wisdom, experience and glow.

Green Features: The food and environmentally-friendly room was a perfect landing spot on our road trip from Michigan to California. The room was clean without the residue of chemicals and the food was fantastic. We loved the ranch, my kids played outside on the ranch, fed horses and played near the pond.
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here while on a 3 month tour of the USA, having stayed here once before some years ago. We were impressed then and even more so this time. What a relaxing place this is, it is quite a large spread out place, having cabins or casitas all over the property. Our room was a massive 3 room suite with a terrace and seating area outside. Given we came on a deal for 40% off the standard rate we were stunned by the place. All the staff are cool, well presented, helpful and will do anything to make your stay the best ever. Hats off to the pool staff who are incredibly attentive without being pushy, the restaurant is first class, we even met the chef who came and chatted to us. One waitress (Trista) deserves a special mention, what a sweetie she is!!

Room Tip: We had room 120, it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Bishop`s Hotel
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe
Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#35 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.