We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And a great time was had by all!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“And a great time was had by all!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is the place to go for couples, girls out on a road trip or families. We were encased with wonderful surroundings, great staff and any type of day spa you could ask for! The Lodge was quaint, rustic and Southwestern. Our room was large and inviting with our own Kiva fireplace to ward off the chilly Spring nights. The view from our room off our private deck was lovely. Able to access pool and hot tubs 24/7. A plus. Most places close those facilities down after 10 pm. The only complaint was the room service arrived cold. Very close to town and shuttles were offered to and from anytime of the day or night. Will go back !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    122
    85
    97
    69
See reviews for
187
219
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
205 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wanted to surprise my wife for our anniversary so I booked a room and a massage here. Our initial thoughts when driving on site then seeing the lobby was "what a rustic delight this place will be." Rustic turned out to be old and worn out by the time we got to our room. The rooms were stuffy, the A/C wall unit sounded like there was a creature living inside and the bed was uncomfortable. All that cheap management had to do was spend a little $ and provide a few simple upgrades such as new carpet, new bed, A/C pest control, bathroom tile repairs, etc. We complained to the front desk and they acted like 1) it's not the first time they've heard this complaint, 2) they didn't care! The only bright point about this resort was the massage - wonderful! My wife and I got the couples massage and my only complaint was that it wasn't longer! However, that was not enough to ensure our return. We will not be staying here again. Massage? Maybe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I appreciate the time you took to write this review. Bishop's Lodge Ranch Resort & Spa is located 5 minutes from downtown Santa Fe and in the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. We are surrounded by 450 acres of pristine national forest scenery. This alone set us apart from any resort located in downtown Santa Fe.

I apologize on behalf of our entire staff if we did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been addressed at our staff meeting. We take all of our guest comments and reviews very seriously. Your complaints have been addressed.

I am so pleased you’ve enjoyed your time here at our Shanah Spa and appreciate the compliments regarding some of wonderful thing you did pointed out.. We are very thankful for your visit. Please feel free to call me so I can personally apologize and perhaps change your opinion about wonderful 96 year old historic resort.

Sincerely,

Ruben Vasquez
Marketing Manager
505.819.4023

Thank you again for this review. Please feel free to contact me upon your next visit, I’d love to meet you and Lucy.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

As other reviewers have said, beautiful scene and breathtaking. The trails around Bishops lodge are a pleasure.

As a frequent visitor to the US I am constantly disappointed by the intrusive noise of air conditioning. Unfortunately Bishops Lodge was no exception. I stayed in a gorgeous large room, during perfect springtime temperatures that invited opening doors. But none of the soft sounds of nature were available -- over the clunk and whirr of fans and plant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downtown PHX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time in our 2 bedroom villa. 1700 sq ft. Lots of room. Granite kitchen. Steam shower & whirlpool bathtub were nice too ! The view over the valley was spectacular. Brother in law stayed in regular room which looked old, used and bit cramped. The grounds are high desert shrubs but still interesting.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, MA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Spent three plus days here for a work retreat. The main lodge is really nice, loved the bar. Because we were a small group, we ordered off the menu and met in a small room off the restaurant, which was fine. The staff was very good an attentive. The rooms are a short walk away. My room was is the north lodge and was spacious. Admittedly it could really use some updating. My "about the lodge" sign was cracked (glass) and upside down, there was cracked paint in the bathroom, the carpet had stains, the bed was comfy but battered. The room was unbelievable hot even though I left the windows open and air conditioning on so something was off. And when I ordered room service, all my info was room and hadn't been updated - for some time. But at the same time it was charming and I enjoyed the little deck off the room. Spent a few hours horseback riding and the team there was fantastic! The shuttle was great about rides to town. Would definitely recommend and hopefully they'll update the property soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

When I first arrived my first impression was what a beautiful scene and breathtaking, there was a greeter at the door and he also opened the door for customers at the registration site. The room was gorgeous with the Santa Fe style look and the whole surrounding was peaceful and quite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Usually, I do not post reviews but on this occasion I felt it was important to describe our recent trip here. I selected the Lodge after reviewing its site, various reviews and thought that a place outside of Santa Fe might be enchanting. As we drove onto the property we first felt that the aspect of mountain views were a bit suspect for you could not see anything beyond the trees around the property. But that did not bother us for we felt that it looked relaxing and welcoming. Our check in process was fine and the staff were very nice. The front desk clerk gave us the directions to our building but not specifically to our room. She only indicated to the front entrance of the building. No problem, but our room was located in the back and with an outside entrance. First as we entered the outside porch we noticed that the wooden steps were just about to break ( a real safety issue) and the hand rails were splintered. Not a good beginning. As we entered our room we were in shock. The room has probably not been refurbished since the 1970’s. I do not know how the other rooms were in the entire lodge but this room was in horrible shape. The furniture was delaminating, the towels were so thin, I thought they only had one side. The sofa and accessories have not seen a cleaning since 1970 also. Overall, the room was a disaster . The screen door for the main entrance to the room had a simple hook and eye lock. This would be fine if the door had the corresponding eye hook. Useless. After dinner, which requires another post, we went back to our room and found a 4” water bug in our room. After disposal, we elevated all of our luggage and made a decision that it was time to leave in the morning. We told the front desk some of our concerns and their response was that the room was “rustic”.. Well this rustic does not meet my definition, this place was old and in need of a major update. So bottom line, you make your own decisions. Ours will be to not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#43 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.