We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Pueblo, co
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have spent two special Occasions at the resort, and each time have been impressed at the cleanliness, professionalism and attention to making our experience enjoyable. We have stayed at high end resorts in Aspen, Telluride, Breckenridge and in Palm Beach, and feel that this resorts amenities, staff and villas are a cut above. We are looking forward to planning our next trip back to Bishops Lodge.
Thank you,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
I must first thank you for taking the time to review your time at Bishop’s Lodge. I’m thrilled you had the opportunity to experience all that our resort has to offer. We are delighted that your are spending your special occasions here at Bishop's Lodge.

Again, we so appreciate your kind words and we hope you’ll visit us again soon!

Ruben Vasquez
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    107
    76
    88
    61
See reviews for
174
192
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keene, NH
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The name would imply a resort-like atmosphere, but the summer camp for kids at the pool (in the center of the grounds) and the local families with pool memberships meant non-stop 7-13 year old kids excited to be at a pool with their friends. There were 10-15 kids, even on Sunday and the pool is not that big. It was impossible from 9-6 to read a book or relax at the pool (a reason some people go to a resort). Furthermore a large tent was taken down with as much noise as possible (for several hours) and thus dinner was in town instead of at the hotel. Complaints to the front desk were answered with "the local children are part of our extended family." They seemed amazed it would bother anyone! The tent guys went on unabated for many hours - only yards away from the front desk, pool, and restaurant. Simply unacceptable.

Beautiful grounds and great potential. Perhaps advertising as a family hotel would be more fair to guests looking for R&R.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Located just minutes from the historic plaza in Santa Fe, this resort has all the fun and accomodations a family could want. We have 3 young children and were able to keep everyone happy for 3 days! We were hooked the minute we drove up to the property - old and rustic, but very well maintained; beautiful natural setting in the foothills; southwestern and historic peices of art around the property. Our room was very spacious with plenty of storage, a nice fireplace stocked with everything needed to make a fire, large bathroom and mini-kitchen, and a great patio. We spent some time at the pool each day - it was relaxing with plenty of chaises and a covered patio with cafe and bar. We also went hiking, horseback riding and skeet/trap shooting - activities that were fun for all of us. We found friendly staff everywhere and all were very accomodating. Finally, the outdoor seating at the restaurant was great with amazing views and of course perfect weather (July). We will be back year after year!!

Room Tip: The suites are very spacious, provide lots of storage, and have wonderful fireplaces and patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week and loved the laid back atmosphere in a stunning setting of mountains, open sky, no words can describe the natural beauty and weather. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The food great. The outdoor patio for meals was the best. We will be back for sure. The pool area was so relaxing. We just loved it.

Room Tip: I would not have stayed in the Lodge itself, although my husand liked the convenience. I would prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We are a family of four. Stayed four nights with a package deal.

Rooms were very clean. Food was good but pricey. I wouldn't mind the five-star cost if the service was five-star. We felt the service in the restaurant could be improved.

Overall, not a bad place to stay but did not stand out as exceptional, given the cost.

Fitness room could be cleaner. There should have been a way to wipe down the equipment after workout. Fitness equipment was limited.

Spa prices were too high. Horseback riding was fun but expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your experience at Bishop’s Lodge. Although we do pride ourselves on providing an authentic New Mexico experience, I will be looking further into this issue's with the Fitness work out area. We do provide towels for guest upon entering the fitness room along side of our pool area. Upon arrival and check in guest received a Shanah spa promotion or discount offer. Our current offer indicates if If you book any treatment from M-F 8am-2pm you receive a free lunch from our spa menu as well any beverage of you choosing. I encourage you to contact me directly at 505-819-4023 next time you visit Santa Fe so that we can change your perception of Bishop’s Lodge.

Ruben Vasquez
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Wonderful experience for our entire family!! The customer service here is immeasureable and the ride was amazing!! Cowboy Joe, Cowboy Jeff and Lynn were the best you could ask for and the horses were all very well behaved, which made for a wonderful scenic ride. Despite the bad weather we had for our original booking, they made sure to get us in before our stay in Santa Fe was over. Gosh ~ they even loaned us jackets, when we came unprepared!! This is as good as it gets!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
I must first thank you for taking the time to review your time at Bishop’s Lodge. I’m thrilled you had the opportunity to experience all that our resort has to offer and I look forward to passing kudos along to our “first rate” staff.

Ruben Vasquez
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyler tx
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Before booking I spent hours reviewing TA, mixed reviews had me worried but we took a chance.
I guess there are all types of rooms and we got one of the bad rooms. Old is ok as this is a historic place but there is no reason for the place to be as dirty as it was, the carpet was stained ,the switch plate in the bathroom so bad we had to clean it with germx. Pretty gounds but not worth it when there are so many other top resorts. In the past my favorite has been the Inn at Loretto. we visited Encantado and will probably book there next year. The restaurant is ok. If you can sit outside it is a wonderful view.. The scallops are yummy. Our server was bottom line rude and for the first time in my husbands life he only tipped 15% . Better option for fine dining and great attentative service is The Compound.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your experience at Bishop’s Lodge. Although we do pride ourselves on providing an authentic New Mexico experience, I completely understand your frustration and we will be looking further into this issue. I encourage you to contact me directly at 505-819-4023 next time you visit Santa Fe so that we can change your perception of Bishop’s Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.