We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it weren't for the Resort Fee we would have really liked it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
The World
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“If it weren't for the Resort Fee we would have really liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed in the North Lodge, originally built in the 1912-15 period when the Pulitzer family owned The Bishop’s Lodge. It has not been renovated but was well maintained. Room 109 was large with two large arm chairs in front of the fire place. It had the original wood-beamed ceiling (vigas) that was charming. There was (very, very slow) wi-fi Internet in the room which had one desk (and no table or mini fridge). The air conditioning system was old and noisy (and not so effective either). The bathroom was large and had two sinks. The resort has 450 acres in the Teseque Valley. After a busy day looking for our longer-term accommodations in Santa Fe we came back to the resort and took a 1 ½ hour hike, all on the resort’s trails. The following day we took a 3 hour hike which started on the resort’s trails and connected to a trail in the Santa Fe National Forest. We could have hiked at least 9 miles to (what the sign called “the ski area”). We had a lovely dinner our first night there at La Fuentes Restaurant. On our first morning we had our own breakfast in our room. On the second morning we had a very good omelet in the restaurant and on our third morning we had our own breakfast in our room. There were 4 things that we didn’t like about the resort: 1) the toilet paper was scratchy, 2) the housekeeping on our first day was dysfunctional, (3) it was necessary to telephone Housekeeping to request clean sheets during our stay (what’s the point of staying at a hotel if you can’t have clean, silky and crisp sheets?), and 4) we hated the “Resort Charge”. This is a $14.50 per day, per person charge for things that should be part of the basic hotel rate (like using the pool or Jacuzzi). It is ridiculous. We asked at Encantado Resort whether they charged a fee like that and they said “no”. Additionally, when we checked out, our per day charges looked like this:
Room charge: $127
Room sales tax: $8.41
Lodger’s tax: $5.08
Resort fee: $29
And just when we thought the list of extras was finished, there was a final line called “Misc Sales Tax” $1.92. It was annoying beyond belief. The resort says it charges “$14.50 per person per day as a resort fee. The resort fee is waived for all children under the age of 13. Services which
are provided include scheduled activities such as yoga, pilates, tai chi, as well as unlimited access to the fitness center, swimming pool, jacuzzi, hiking and walking trails and tennis courts. Other complimentary amenities include parking, unlimited local calls, long distance access, (tollfree, credit card, collect), in-room high speed internet access, in room coffee service, bottled water on your day of arrival, daily newspaper and scheduled shuttle service to the Santa Fe Plaza.”
On our first night we arrived at around 6 p.m. and only went to dinner at the resort (paying for it of course—it wasn’t included in the Resort Fee). Still we were charged $29 for the Resort Fee we didn't use. Did I make it clear how annoying that was?

BTW, the hotel’s website had room rates that changed each day and ranged from $127 (what we got) to $225 for the same (un-renovated) room. Dimitri decided to talk to reservations and basically said he wanted the $127 rate and it was given to him (?). With all the extras, the daily room rate came to $178.

Room Tip: We stayed in an un-renovated room (109) in the North Lodge. See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    103
    76
    87
    61
See reviews for
172
185
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Really had a nice time. We stayed in rooms 202 and 203 in the Chamisa Lodge. The rooms were quite spacious and comfortable. Try a sunset horseback ride! Our guide, Joe D, was great and the sunset on the trail was gorgeous! Food service is average (although the jalapeno bacon is yummy). Wait staff was not always available, but overall, the property and surrounding views were well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I join the Signature Club last year. But due to a very serious illness I was unable to use
my coupon for a free night stay. I called and made reservations many time and then had to call and cancel. All through this a wonderful lady by the name of CiCi very patiently kept making the changes and finally extended my coupon until I was well enough to come.
I went last week the lodge was beautiful and the staff was excellent. But without the help of CiCi none of it would have happened. I will never forget her kindness. Thank you

Room Tip: Upgrade to a jr suite, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I will encourage my family and friends to go to Bishop's Lodge as a fantastic getaway. The setting was incredible. The historical and evolution/growth over time was well managed to maintain the intent of the retreat while providing modern facilities. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated with quality furniture and decor. Everyone was friendly and helpful (appeared to be happy with their employment). We had the Sunday brunch that was one of the best that I've experienced (especially the crab and desserts). We enjoyed the historic church thankfully still available for tourists. There was a fun Cowboy Barbecue that was an excellent family event (young and old). My grandchildren loved the horses and horseback rides. The pool was fun in spite of slightly cool temperatures. There were many simultaneous activities that were well managed. We all had fun (ran out of time to participate in all of their other tourist activities). We will be back and will definitely encourage others to try this incredible getaway practically in our back yard!

Room Tip: If you have handicap issues, let the reservation room know. Some rooms have many steps to the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We recently stayed at this resort and hosted an event. The staff is GREAT here if you are hosting an event. Everything went very smoothly. I am downgrading the property because of the condition of the rooms and grounds, which I am sure the ownership is well aware. We had to change rooms and know of others who had to change rooms. Mostly air conditioner problems I believe. Some updates have been done, but other amenities are years overdue for updating. The sidewalk near our building was completely disintegrated in places, causing a safety issue. I believe that the grounds can be saved but it's probably going to cost a lot. It's like they're in a "Catch-22" situation with the prices they charge and the need for $ to fix the place up. By the way, forget the restaurant unless you have more money than sense. But, like I said, the staff is really trying to do a great job with what they have. I'm not sure I would go back again unless they started offering some really good deals.

Room Tip: Don't settle for a bad air conditioner....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

i stayed here because it mentioned a rating by Conde Nast in its advertising. That was probably 20+ years ago, and nothing has been done to the hotel since. Including a towel change!

Mold is prevalent, the pool chairs are nasty. Floors are stained. Food was never hot, never cold.

This place is beyond help.

People were nice, because they knew we all were on a sinking ship.

Room Tip: good room are elsewhere, closer to town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hi Jill:

We appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you June 1st &June 2. Were happy that you received our Gift Card for a free night stay at Bishop's Lodge. We review and value every Trip Advisor review and advise our staff on areas of improvement. We look forward to seeing you again. We appreciate the second opportunity to help make your anniversary post weekend special. Please feel free to call me anytime. We hope that you can enjoy a true authentic Santa Fe experience at Bishop's Lodge Ranch Resort & Spa.

Sincerely,

Ruben Vasquez
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I live near Albuquerque and had always wanted to stay at Bishop's Lodge because of its beautiful setting and reputation as a fine resort. When invited to a wedding at the resort I thought this would be a good opportunity. The rate was very reasonable. It was a beautiful spring day. The wedding was lovely. The staff were very nice. However, our room was awful. The carpet was old and warn and in serious need of replacement. In fact the whole room needed an update. The handle was off the faucet in the bathroom. The lady downstairs offered to have it fixed "now" or "while we were out". I chose the later. It was "fixed" but fell off the minute my husband used it. A little thing but characteristic of the room. The bathtub was small, the t.v. like the kind you never see anymore. Also, we heard everything from the hall and rooms next to us including children crying and adults fighting. Over the years I have stayed at several hotels in Santa Fe and I have to say this was the worse. And I am sorry to say I wrote the resort after getting home (before writing a negative review) and never heard back. In fact the next day I received the standard "tell us about your stay" survey. And also I was upset to hear from a friend later that there actually are some nice, new rooms "up the hill" where they had once stayed. Nobody asked me if I would prefer a nice room even if the cost was a little bit higher. So in summary, if you want a lovely resort outside of the city there is another wonderful alternative. If you want the Santa Fe experience with a really nice room there are also lovely hotels within walking distance of the plaza. Needless to say I would not recommend Bishop's Lodge to family, friends or anyone visiting Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.