We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paint the Sky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paint the Sky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

The Bishop's Lodge is one of the most beautiful places to stay, and I travel a lot!
Our adobe suite was perched on the rolling desert that looked out at a sky that literally changed every few minutes. My mother and I kept alerting each other to the next beautiful rendering nature painted on the canvas of the sky. I am a traveling musician and a painter and was so inspired I wrote a song called Paint the Sky, it may even be the title track of my new album. The pool was delightful, the food delicious, the staff kind and very helpful, running trails that went on forever. We now make the trip to Bishop's Lodge a must for each year. Thanks to everyone there for making it so memorable and enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    103
    76
    87
    61
See reviews for
172
185
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basalt, Colorado
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our family has visited the Bishop's Lodge regularly over the last seven years and it's not the place it used to be. I grew up going to Santa Fe as a child and wanted to share that tradition with my own children, but sadly after this last visit we will be looking for a new location for our family vacations. Based on our recommendations, our friends and their children had been joining us for these reunions for the last four years but they too have had enough.

Working with the reservation personnel was less than satisfying - they didn't return repeated phone calls or emails, and they ignored our room requests including most importantly of all to be located next to our family friends. We ended up as a family of four in a king room without a pull out couch - one child slept on the floor and the other in a rollaway and we were still not located next to our friends. Most disappointing of all was that staff seemed unphased by the arrangement; I guess it's not an uncommon occurrence. In many hotels at least we would have been given a complimentary drink. And all of this for a repeat client who brings other guests.

The service in the hotel dining room for breakfast was horrible. One morning our breakfasts of oatmeal cost $23 the next over $30. And that was only when we could finally track our waiter down to get the check.

The rooms and grounds have deteriorated with time and only a major infusion of cash will help revive this once special place to its former luster.

The spa is great but so over priced that it makes it hard to justify - I could get two massages at home for the price of one here.

The one bright spot was the housekeeping staff - they did everything they could to help make our stay in our too small room comfortable.

It really broke my heart - I so love Santa Fe, but our future trips will no longer include the Bishops Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

As part of a business trip, the Senior Executive Team of the company I work for (which includes me), spent almost a week at Bishop's Lodge Resort and Spa located in Santa Fe, New Mexico. It would be difficult to find anything to criticize about this facility. The staff could not have been more professional or accomodating. We stayed in what appeared to be almost townhouses, each beautifully furnished with complete kitchen, livingroom and dining room. There were three bedrooms (in the one that I stayed in) each with a private bath and patio. Truly luxurious. The bar and restaurant staff were friendly and knowledgeable and provided excellent service. One night, we had Executive Chef Chris McLean come prepare an evening meal just for all of us. Truly the highlight of our stay. We really put him in the spotlight standing around him as he prepared our meal but he never missed a beat as he shared his background with us, explained each dish and even got some of us to learn a new cooking technique. Chef Chris' meal was elegant, sophisticated and he even accomodated the various diet restrictions we presented. Just so memorable. I would highly recommend Bishop's Lodge Spa and Resort, without hesitation. Just go!

Room Tip: If you want to be able to walk to the amenities like the pool etc.... say so when booking. The plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Front desk service was lackadaisical at check-in & for any special requests, we got a different type room than we reserved & they made no effort to accommodate. Worst of all, we walked in while Housekeeping was cleaning the room & actually witnessed the housekeeper "washing" the coffee cups out in the bathroom sink with her bare hand! No telling how many times that same cup had been "washed" that way, or where her bare hand had previously been. YUCK!! What else was "cleaned" this way??? The restaurant is very good, Chef Chris McLean is wonderful, personally greeting & taking care of diners' special dietary needs, etc. The restaurant saved this part of our trip for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

In Santa Fe for Indian Market, my friends and I decided to have a nice breakfast far from the frenetic Plaza area and went to Bishop's Lodge. The grounds are lovely. We ate in the main restaurant and found the food good, but the service was terrible. The hostess was running around with her telephone ringing loudly and our waiter was uninterested in us despite the fact that there weren't many people having breakfast at that time. Two of us took the breakfast buffet but the two who ordered from the menu waited some 15 minutes for a simple breakfast order. To save on washing I suppose, they didn't put spoons on the table. There wasn't a spoon to stir the coffee and the member of our party who ordered yogurt had to ask for a spoon several times. We were really surprised that such a lovely place had such abysmal service in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here Aug of 2011. We had initially reserved a deluxe suite for us and a traditional junior suite for the in laws. THE ROOMS LOOKED NOTHING LIKE THE PICS ON THE WEBSITE,! The AC /heat were along the windows. The carpet was filthy. The tub did not drain, the toilet did not flush and the whole place smelled of pinon wood smoke. the tv was a old tube tv from 15-20 y ago. the wifi did not work. i suspect that these were built in the late 60's or early 70's.

we called and complained and said we wanted to leave and our money back. they didn't apologize, but did offer us rooms in the "new" area - probably from the mid 90's. these were better and rather than try to find a new hotel late in the afternoon after a day of travel to get there, we accepted those rooms. as the day went ou, we realized that the shower seemed dingy and always musty smelling. the bed was incredibly uncomfortable and saggy. the balcony was dilapidated. tv was still outdated.

we had dinner at las fuentes. the food was horrible. the steak was way overdone and perhaps microwaved. the vegetables looked like and tasted like steam in bag vegetables from the grocery store. the quality would be on par with applebees (i imagine). strangely the prices however were just slightly cheaper than geronimo's and restaurant martin which were excellent. needless to say, we did not eat anywhere on the premises for the rest of the tip.

On the positive side, the staff were friendly and accommodating. I feel bad for them - they try to appease the guests, the best they can but they just don't have anything to work with. Another positive - their photographer for their website is a wizard! How they got pictures to look so different from reality is amazing! I could start a modeling career with their photographer!


I would never stay here again. The place is a run down shell of its former self. They claim to be rated highly by conde nast and travel and leisure, thought they don't say what year ( I suspect at least 20 years ago.) There is a ton of renovation needed or they can cut their prices significantly. Right now, this is a horrible value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We are currently staying as a family here having just been at Tamaya Resort in Albuquerque which was phenomenal in quality and service. Unfortunately this hotel is a sad contrast. Perhaps this was once spectacular but no more. Food is mediocre at best, service is not very accomodating and in fact, fairly unwelcoming. The room, while decorated fairly well is old and tired and needs updating. Fan in bathroon was clearly broken, carpeting had stains, and lighting was dim. Everyone is at an excessively slow speed and not at all engaging. I would not come back or recommend this which is sad because this was a special family vacation where we spared no expense. Major bummer!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.