We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Horseback Riding!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersGold level
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Horseback Riding!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

My friends and I went on a fantastic horse ride through the mountains. Our guide, Joaquin, did an excellent job! Would recommend this to anyone!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for the great comments about you horse back riding experience at The Lodge last week. We are so fortunate to be located at the foothills of the mountain and national forest just five minutes from the plaza downtown. I hope the next time you visit Santa Fe you have a chance to experience our Spa, Pool, Heirloom garden, Chapel and all the other activities at the resort. Thanks again!

Rich Verruni
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    100
    74
    86
    61
See reviews for
169
184
23
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I attended a business conference at Bishop's Lodge. It is a wonderful place to stay and the views are amazing. In addition, the service was great. I would return for a personal vacation in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
A special note of thanks for commenting on the great views at The Lodge and our great service. The location of the resort is so special, surrounded by the mountains and only five minutes from the downtown plaza. All our staff is trained to a four diamond service standard and they will feel proud when they read this review. I hope you have a chance to try our complimentary Yoga, Cooking demonstrations, Chapel and Art tours on your next trip to The Lodge. Thank you.

Rich Verruni
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Great staff. Beautifull scenery. Good food and service. Great horse back riding!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilgore, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We came to the Bishop's Lodge at about 7 pm after over 10 hours of driving and were exhausted.When we arrived at the resort and got to our room, it looked fantastic. Only one problem, there was no bed in the couch, which we were told would be there, for our 6 foot 2 son who couldn't very well sleep on just the couch. So we called the front desk and they said they would see what they could do. After an hour, we were called back and told that they still couldn't find anything but would keep looking. Yet another hour passed, and they said they were preparing another room for us and it would be ready in 20 minutes. ANOTHER hour passed before we were finally taken to our new room, which was filthy. There was a dead bee on the floor and another dead bug in a shower. Then we were told we couldn't leave the room because the room key card machine was broken and he would have one in the morning, and we were given free breakfast. The breakfast was fantastic, and as we got back to our room around 10 am to get ready to go to town, we saw the maids van pull up. After a trip to the plaza in Santa fe we arrived back at the resort to find our room had still not been cleaned. We called the front desk and were told they would send someone right up. 2 hours passed before we had had enough of this terrible treatment and left. Do not stay at this horrible place.

Room Tip: Stay away from this awful resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for your comments on your stay at The Lodge. I am disappointed to hear of the experience you had at the resort and hope to have another opportunity to show you our best. We hope that our guests respect our check in/check out times and give us ample time to clean our rooms to our standard during such a busy time. We failed to prepare your room in a timely fashion and I apologies for the inconvenience. We have a great team of hospitality professionals that work hard to deliver great service. Please give us another opportunity to show you and your family that we can do much better. Please call me for your next visit to Santa Fe.

Rich Verruni
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The first night we arrived, it was late. Dan, the manager, and Susan the bartender, made sure we got something to eat, even though the kitchen was closing. Then Dan, took my friend to our room so he would know where it was located.
The room.. First the remote control did not work. 2. We had to wait at least 3 or more minutes for the water to warm up to take a shower. 3. Our patio had wood planks and the nails were sticking up so that we had to wear shoes or we would have cut our feet.
Dinner. The salmon was awesome! The patio where we ate, not so much. We were seated next to a railing with greenery, and there were a lot of gnats. Not once did any one offer to move us. Two different employees stated that the candles would be lit soon, but they weren't sure that would solve the problem. We ended up moving the table away from the railing. In the morning, after it had rained all night, we sat on wet chairs while we ate breakfast. My eggs were undercooked, and the hash browns were mushy. Not very good at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. We failed to deliver the best level of service and I hope you will give us another opportunity to show you a better experience. The Lodge is a wonderful resort and a great setting but I can understand the irritation you felt from the bugs next to your table. I had our landscaper treat the area that you mentioned.

i hope you will consider giving us another opportunity in the future.

Rich Verruni
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I am just finishing a week long stay at The Bishop's Lodge and have had a wonderful time with my nine-year-old daughter. While we have wandered into Santa Fe most days, my daughter and I have been quite content to lounge at the side of the pool or in our very spacious, well-appointed room. Additionally, we've dined at the lodge for all of our meals and each one has been just right.
This is a wonderful resort for families wishing a break from a hectic routine and the lodge offers all kinds of programs for adventurous children. For the adults, the mountain air, gorgeous weather and surroundings are a terrific tonic.

Many thanks to all the staff at The Bishop's Lodge. We will definitely return someday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMarkD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

As others noted in their reviews, this gem has lost some of it's shine. This was our first visit after hearing about Bishops Lodge all my life. We stayed here with our kids (10, 16, 20) just one night on the drive home from Colorado to Texas. We got a deal ($188) on one of the travel websites, so it wasn't much more than a motel. Loved walking around the grounds, visiting the stables, and a brief swim in the pool, which is very pretty.

Our room was in the main building right next to the registration lobby, and had a king bed and sleeper sofa. Honestly, the carpet needs to be replaced, and the bathroom is just dated, although clean. There was a fireplace the corner which we did not use, and a patio that is not very private.

All in all, worth the small difference over a motel, but unless some of the other rooms are more updated, I wouldn't pay a premium to stay here, unless you are there for the amenities.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;