We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The signature club - Private reception” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The signature club - Private reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I joined the signature club earlier this year an d have been taking advantage of the discounted meals (2 for 1), so much that the $149 cost of the club card has already paid for itself. My daughter graduated college las Saturday and I called the Lodge restaurant, Las Fuentes, to see if they could fit 10 of us in for the complimentary reception that is offered as one of hte special membership benefits. Dave Parker and his team including Dan Fleck who had everything set up for us on the patio when we arrived, arranged the whole event on short notice but you'd never have known that. Everything went smoothly, the food was excellent and the service was perfection. We had such a great time.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jcutropia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We celebrated our 10th anniversary and although I grew up in Santa Fe I had forgotten what an incredible place this is. The views are breathtaking and the atmosphere is the epitome of charm especially with the history of Bishop Lamy right there on the grounds. This will be our special occasion destination for years to come and we want to share a special shout out to Sarah who made sure this would be a most memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheriandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

My hubby and I stayed at this hotel for one night celebrating his B-Day and our 16th wedding anniversary. We had a lovely suite that boasted a sitting room, bedroom, balcony and a large bathroom. All was well until we climbed into bed to go to sleep that night. The bottom sheet was not fitted but was rather "wrapped" around the mattress leaving about 18 inches of the scratchy mattress uncovered at the foot of the bed. During the night...you guessed it...the sheet "unwrapped" itself from the mattress to form uncomforatble bunches under the body. Sleep was impossible for both of us as we had to get up several times during the night to smoothen out the mess. As we checked out the next day we brought this to the attention of the front desk. His response was the equivalent of a shoulder shrug. He said (with very litle concern), "Sorry, I'll let housekeeping know". No, we did not expect any freebies nor did not ask for any, but we did expect a verbal response that showed he cared about us as potential future customers. For a so called "high class" resort, can't they afford fitted sheets for their beds? I've also read a couple other reviews for this resort wihere other customers had the exact same complaint. So this is not an isolated incident and they are aware of the problem. This sleepless night certainly put a damper on our experience. We will be sure to tell anyone who asks to check their bed sheets when they check in or to avoid Bishops Lodge all together.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tennistraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Bishop's Lodge is a beautiful facility. We spent the week before Easter (family of 4) for spring break. We arrived at night, and the clerk gave us a map to our room, but it took us a while to find. We were surprised we couldn't park our car at near our room, so had to haul 4 large suitcases down a curvy, rustic staircase. It was a bit like being at a campground. We had a Deluxe room, and it was very nice. Nice balcony with chairs and a table outside that overlooked the horse stables and fireplace. Wireless internet connection for all our gadgets. Overall, we were disappointed upon arrival, because it was around 10 pm and there was no food available and after finding and unloading our luggage, had to make our way into town to find a restaurant. The clerk did offer us a couple ideas and gave us a map to the restaurant. I was expecting room service, and help getting to our room. The young fellow that was working seemed new and confused on how to help us.

I had picked this hotel for two reasons, first, the spa and second I thought it would have a lot of activities for children. I was mistaken on both accounts. When I was able to get spa services, the staff were excellent but the spa facility itself is very mediocre. I don't have a clue how it ever won any awards. The main problem with the spa was once again, lack of staff. I tried to schedule a facial and there was no one to give a facial till Thursday (this was on a Monday). It was not that they were booked, they simply didn't have the staff. Same problem trying to get my son a hair cut. Didn't have a person to cut hair till the following weekend.

One afternoon I sat and complained to our waiter at the restaurant lodge about how I was running into a lot of problems and he apologized, was very helpful and comped our lunch. He explained that it was still "off season" and the new hires were just coming on. I can't emphasize enough how understaffed they were. I want to say I loved the place, it was gorgeous and we had a fantastic trip and I can tell that if there was a full staff on, things would have been very different. The staff they did have were all very kind.
The horse backing riding and skeet shooting staff were wonderful. Unfortunately I had to book these through a bellman who had no idea how to work the computer. He was very polite, but didn't know what the heck he was doing.
There was one manager, Ryan who was bending over backwards trying to help our family get proper service. When he was available, things got done.
Our room was usually cleaned very late in the day. One day the gal came by to clean at 5 and we said we would be going out soon, could she do it then? Soon after, a manager told us that we were her last room and could she please just clean our room. We didn't want to hold her up, so just told them not to worry about cleaning the room that day. Again, this issue was because of there being no staff!
Despite all the difficulties we had due to their staffing issue, I would want to go back again. I would just make sure that it was not "off season" and be very clear finding out from a manager about what type of room you are getting, and how well staffed they are. It is a beautiful place... like a fancy campground.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moodster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

This was our first trip to Santa Fe and it was also our 33rd wedding anniversary. We wanted something quiet, accessible, unique and clean. Bishop's Lodge fit the bill perfectly. We loved our time at the Lodge. The staff was outstanding and the management went out of their way to make sure we had a memorable time. The views and surroundings are lovely and the in-room fireplace provides peaceful rest. This isn't the Ritz... but that's not what we were looking for. Elegant in it's charm, beautiful in it's care... perfect on all fronts. One more thing... I didn't turn my cell phone on, or use the internet for four days while we stayed at Bishop's... that tells you something!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and step up one level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cowolgies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Best place I have ever stayed. Everyone was so wonderful. The resort was beautiful and serene. Kim Harmon (employee with Bishops Lodge) was so helpful and attentive she made our trip even more enjoyable. She was knowlodgeable about Santa Fe and the resort. I had a message that was so wonderful the actual spa is very relaxing. I definetly will go back again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for Kim Harmon to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacicruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Thank you for shaing your wonderful experience at Bishop's Lodge Ranch Resort and Spa. We are so pleased that you enjoyed day at the spa and will thank Kim for a job well done. We look forward to hosting you for your next visit to Santa Fe.

Thank you,

Rich Verruni
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Wrangler Joachim was unbelievably knowledgeable and made our horseback ride fun and exciting.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deandraguey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at our stables and highlighting Joachim friendliness & area knowledge. We are proud of the stables team with their dedication to our horses and to the guest’s experience of the natural beauty of the Sangra De Cristo Mountains. We look forward to hosting you in the future the next time you come to Santa Fe.

Thank you,

Rich Verruni
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,162 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Road, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing