We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stargazing in Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astronomy Adventures

Astronomy Adventures
P.O. Box 31492, Santa Fe, NM 87594
505-577-7141
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #5 of 69 activities in Santa Fe
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Here in New Mexico, we still have skies that are clear and dark enough to explore the many fascinating jewels of the night. Our safe and secure observing site is an easy drive out of Santa Fe. Come spend an evening getting acquainted with some of nature’s most distant and beautiful creations. A giant telescope and our expert guide will spark your sense of wonder with close-up views of planets, nebulae, star clusters and distant galaxies.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Stargazing in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Astronomy Adventures is great. This was the second time we have done this with Peter and we will do it again.
If you enjoy looking at the night sky this is for you. We made a stop in Santa Fe on our way to Moab and we decided to spend some time with Peter.
His insights and knowledge of astronomy will make your night.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Educational and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The drive from Santa Fe took about 40 minutes but it was more than worth the trip. Peter is very knowledgeable and personable. He showed us a variety of interesting sights in the night sky. We got to see some planets, galaxies, star clusters and more. Peter did a very good job of explaining what we were looking at and allowed us enough time to observe the structures ourselves.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a unique adventure. Peter does a great job explaining what you are seeing. He is very organized and has a nice, comfortable set-up for viewing. He was open to our suggestions of what to look at and got our kids involved in the adventure. He was even able to arrange a visit to a nearby site for a rare viewing of a comet at sunset.
For anyone who has an interest in the cosmos, this is a great chance to personally view some amazing deep sky objects. This is very different than seeing the pictures from Hubble. This is real time, and a great connection to our past.
For those people who have never been interested in the stars. Go anyway. This is something different. What else would you be doing, going out to dinner at an expensive restaurant??

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Night sky fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We joined Peter for a night sky adventure recently when in Santa Fe. It was awesome. A great opportunity to see things you can't normally see and Peter does a great job educating you on the night sky. It is a small, intimate group which allows for open conversation and getting all your questions answered. I would highly recommend this for something different!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Astronomy Adventures, Santa Fe...It will take your breath away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Last summer while trekking through New Mexico, I headed south out of Santa Fe on the “Turquoise Highway” almost to the town of Madrid (you’ll remember that town if you saw the movie “Wild Hogs”.) I turned down a dirt road and several miles later I was out under the stars, far away from the city and peering through a magnificent telescope at stars and planets far, far, away. Astronomy Adventures is a must when you are in the Santa Fe area. The owner Peter, is a wonderful guide through the universe and is great explaining things to people of all ages and experiences. When I saw Saturn and it’s rings, I remembered that feeling of wonderment you get when you are a kid and you see something incredible for the first time. It’s fun, it’s educational, it’s incredible. Go experience it.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astronomy Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Astronomy Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astronomy Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.