We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, pretty setting on the outdoor deck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanti Luce 221

Tanti Luce 221
221 Shelby Street, Santa Fe, NM
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #183 of 472 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: East Alameda
Berlin MD
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great staff, pretty setting on the outdoor deck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were in town during a big event and the restaurants were all very crowded for lunch. In our search for a place to eat, we happened to walk by Tanti Luce 221 and we got talking to the one of the staff members. Great guy! Showed us around and gave us the history behind the newly opened outdoor area of the restaurant. We sat upstairs at the bar and enjoyed wine, salads and a basket of their home made chips. They have an extensive wine list. The food was good, the staff was more than accommodating. I would recommend giving them a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Some work is still needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The outside dining area is wonderful. The food was good. Some of the dishes served were very good. Our server.....a very nice guy who had little idea of what his job is. My wine glass sat empty for 15 minutes before I could track him down for a 2nd. If you didn't ask for more water, you wouldn't get it. As 2 other servers delivered our main dishes, he watched and couldn't be bothered to clear plates to make room for what was being served. Strong on personality, weak on execution. My suggestion TL221.....train your servers to make the dining experience predictable, not determined by your weakest link.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A new look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have been frequenting Tanti Luce since it opened. So, we were curious when they announced that they were going to expand into an outdoor patio and deck. We stopped by on Saturday night and dined up on the deck.

First observation - either you are stuck under a street light which detracts from the al fresco dining, or you are in a dark area where you can't read the menu and the table lighting is no help. We talked with the waiter about options to improve those problems; we'll see if they get implemented.

As usual, the food was good. We started with the stuffed green chili which was done to perfection. We each had a salad and then the chicken picata as the main course. The chicken was nice and moist and the risotto was prepared well.

On prior trips, we took advantage of the interesting selection of bar food and made a meal of various offerings there. Plus, the happy hour prices are a real treat - get there before 7 PM.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great staff, good food, worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We took my mom there for her birthday dinner while on a girls getaway to Santa Fe. Their breads were good, their proportions generous (not the elf food experienced at many European restaurants), and the staff attentive. We had paella, butternut squash, carpaccio and jicama salad. All perfect flavors and temperature. We tried Salad in a Glass, Cran Balls of Fire, Dark and Dirty and white wine.....winners, all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, wonderful service, very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a Groupon, a reservation for 6 PM and it was raining cats and dogs while we were in the car about 200 feet from the restaurant at 6 PM. I called and they came out with an umbrella. Rain almost stopped and we ran but what a nice gesture! The young lady was gracious about telling us about the renovation of the crazy, beautiful, old house. The waiter was funny, informative, non-pushy. We were skeptical about ordering sea food in New Mexico but the Frip Misto was delightfully wonderful. The purple corn crusted oysters were fresh, calamari was a bit tough but the shrimp was perfect. No extra grease at all. A perfect frito misto. My favorite was the poblano and corn soup. It was a bit too spicy for my husband but I loved it. Grilled portabella mushroom came with a green salad. It was another beautifully prepared, tasty dish. Bread was fresh, olive oil was fruity and life was wonderful. Only hyper expensive dish was the scallop. It was ONE scallop for $10 but my husband loved it. So, what can I say? We had a big lunch and not hungry at all. We ended up eating EVERYTHING like we never ate before. Yes, I will go back if I do go back to Santa Fe again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanti Luce 221 also viewed

 

Been to Tanti Luce 221? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanti Luce 221, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.