We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lunch in Town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Owl Coffee Cafe - CLOSED

The Green Owl Coffee Cafe
1698 St. Michael's Drive, Santa Fe, NM
505-471-9184
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Description: (505) 471-9184 This is newly opened and a great breakfast and lunch coffee cafe
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Lunch in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The food is yummy and the price is even better! Make sure you try the pretzel roll sandwiches! My children had bagels and yogurt ....they loved them. My husband had a rainforest salad and a bowl of green chili stew, he loved it. I think it would be a great place to have meetings in the warmer months on the patio.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quant and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This cafe has everything to offer. It has great food, staff, and nice atmosphere. I would strongly recommend coming here. The local coffee they brew is awesome too :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
“Inconsistent but promising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I had one of the best sandwiches ever -- a chicken pannini with mustard -- but my husband didn't find much flavor in his "sizzler" hero and the thick slab of mozzarella in it was stone cold; he almost sent it back. Still, sandwiches are almost always fairly unremarkable and mine was definitely well above average. It came with unremarkable coleslaw, a pickle and a small cookie. I thought the iced tea was bitter. The counter service is friendly and the food arrived in a timely manner. The waitress checked on us (and my husband chose not to complain to such a nice girl). $20 for two people. The remodel of an old gas station is surprisingly charming and very comfortable. They have a patio and drive-thru service. The breads are all first class and look beautiful. I instantly became addicted to the pretzel chips offered as samples. All-day breakfasts, pizzas, wraps, burritos, melts, quesadillas, and salads are the principle entrees, plus an intriguing variety of drinks, including smoothies.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Season the chicken”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had this for lunch last week at work. I had the chicken caesar salad and it was just alright. The chicken had absolutely no taste. I mean none which is really sad because it looked like it was seasoned. I also had a blueberry muffin and an iced coffee. Ok but you want to stay in business you have to season your food. Service was good though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Latte a bit weak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I wish the Green Owl had better lattes because it is a delightful location. I ordered the 20 oz. latte and it was very weak (seemed to have much more milk than espresso). I had lattes at Betterday and Green Owl during my stay and unfortunately I have to give Betterday Coffee much higher marks. The customer service was excellent so I hope they can improve their lattes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Owl Coffee Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Owl Coffee Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.