We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Museum, Big Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Spanish Colonial Art

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Museum of Spanish Colonial Art
Museum Hill, 750 Camino Lejo, Santa Fe, NM
505-982-2226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 210 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum houses over 3,000 objects in its varied collection of Spanish Colonial art.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Little Museum, Big Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This museum is one of these little gems that you don't find very often. Situated in an old home on Museum Hill in Santa Fe, New Mexico, this museum houses art and artifacts from the early Spaniards in the area. While all the exhibits are very worthwhile to view, I found the early tools most interesting. Here are things that we use every day like sissors or tongs which are almost identical to what they used back in the 18th century. Too bad the inventor of the sisors wasn't able to get a patent on the product back then!

Also not to be missed are the old ledgers with costs for taxes and costs of items for the home. $8.71 for property taxes in those days. Ah yes! those were the days.

I was fascinated by the tin mirrors. I became quite excited about these works of art when I saw them last year in a hotel. I chased all over Santa Fe last year looking to buy a tin mirror. This year to my astonishment, they were on display in this tiny museum and I got the artist's name. Now to get me one of them shiny mirrors!! The tin is around the mirror and worked into all sorts of artforms. Very beautiful pieces of art. This is a museum for everyone to enjoy, including young children. You will be pleasantly surprised and happy that you visited. Only $5 admission fee for this exciting museum - a genuine bargain for anything today!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    1
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great stop on Museum Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This museum is small but also inexpensive. On our visit we saw beautiful furniture, carvings and tinw rock created by the people of New Mexico befor and I. The decade or so after statehood. The tin work frames and chandeliers are gorgeous and evoke a historical era. Don't forget to see the outdoor exhibits including a garden of plants that early artists used for dyes and paintbrushes.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Excellent with a caveat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Although not particularly large, this art museum has a very different type of art than you see most places, even in Santa Fe. I guess the word "charming" would be fair. I really enjoyed it, except that photography is not allowed at all. And that is an interest of mine, so I was disappointed, because there are some very nice galleries here. But I won't mark it down for that, because I did so enjoy the artwork and craft work.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Gem on Museum Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This treasure of a museum is contained in a hacienda-like building that is warm and intimate. Art treasures ranging from jewelry to furniture to devotional objects abound -- all created in the New World, and inspired by European art as taught by the Spanish explorers who settled in New Mexico and surrounding areas. . . The staff is very accessible and eager to share their knowledge of this wonderful collection. A very enjoyable afternoon, which expanded my horizons!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

While this museum is quite small, it’s entirely worth visiting. Nice historical pieces...of, well...Spanish Colonial Art, obviously! I probably spent about 30 minutes here. I'm not sure if I would return as they seem to be permanent displays, but I'm glad I visited, especially since I was using the 5 museum pass.

(This museum is part of a group of 5 museums that offer a $20 pass good for 4 consecutive days and unlimited admission during those days to all of the 5 museums: New Mexico Museum of Art, New Mexico History Museum/Palace of the Governors, Museum of Spanish Colonial Art, Museum of Indian Arts and Culture and Museum of International Folk Art. Separately, one time admissions would have been $42. Note that this museum is the smallest of those on the pass and its single admission of $6 is less as well. All the others have a single admission fee of $9.)

Keith

Visited July 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum of Spanish Colonial Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Spanish Colonial Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.