We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Save Saved
You added Old Santa Fe Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Santa Fe Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Portland, OR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

My husband and I have stayed here a few times, the first was in Dec of 2006, we were visiting family and he purposed to me while there and naturally that made our experience there 10 times better but we had one of the upgraded rooms with the kiva fireplace and I couldn't have asked for more, it's quite and romantic and feels like home and almost everything is within walking distance! They have the best breakfast buffet and the staff is super friendly and during our last stay in June when we came back to our room at odd hours of the night, we had problems with our room keys not working but there was always some one there at the desk to replace our keys and get us into our room.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    615
    230
    42
    14
    7
See reviews for
137
480
56
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

have stayed at this inn in August of 2009 and 2008 and look forward to being there in 2010. Alex at the front desk is gracious, knowledgable and makes me feel very happy. I really hope that she will be there in August of 2010 to take care of us.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We just came back from Santa Fe and the Old Santa Fe Inn was a wonderful find. It's located walking distance from the plaza, offers a great breakfast buffet (although it is the same every morning) and the room was clean and roomy. We stayed in a Junior Suite with a kiva fireplace. Definitely worth the extra money. They matched the orbitz and travelocity prices when they went below the amount originally quoted. Just call them ahead of time. Personnel was friendly and helpful. Only issue was a noisy heater but staff says they're working on upgrading. Ate at La Boca, a tapas restaurant that was excellent and not pricey. I love Santa Fe and would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We have stayed at the Old Santa Fe Inn many times. We found it quite by chance but it has now become a destination for us and our family. The rooms are lovely and very clean. The size and configuration fits all needs; suites to basic and some with kiva fire places. Breakfast is included and marvelous. It included freshly made eggs, bacon and potatoes and an expanded list of the regular items, waffles, cereal, fresh bakery breads, fruit and juices. This is all available in a lovely and friendly dining room. In addition the staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and extremely accommodating. We recommend it to all.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

My wife and I booked this property for a two night stay in Santa Fe New Year's weekend based on favorable reviews in TripAdvisor. When we pulled up to the property, it had the look and feel of an old 1960s style motor court. When we read up on the history of the place, it indeed used to be an old motor court originally built in the 1930s. Now, I have to tell you, that to a certain extent, the Old Santa Fe Inn is a very sophisticated and refined motor court style lodging. We booked a junior suite which was certainly roomy enough for the two of us. The room was furnished with a much welcomed kiva style fireplace. The bed was extremely comfortable, but the bathroom was cramped and basic.

The location was supreme; a two or three block walk to the historic plaza in downtown Santa Fe.

The bottom line is this: if you are looking for a luxury hotel replete with a lot of amenities, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a great location at a tremendous value, you should consider the Old Santa Fe Inn.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed here for two nights before Christmas. Overall, the stay was great - the location was great, the staff was very friendly, and you can't beat a breakfast burrito bar. The Old Santa Fe Inn is just a couple of small blocks from the center of town, which made walking very convenient.

The rooms were somewhat small, as mentioned in some of the other reviews, but they were very nice and charming. The only two drawbacks, which were minor, is that there wasn't a full length or make-up mirror, and the heating system was loud and weird. It'd be one thing if the sound was consistent, but it kept going on and off during the night, which was somewhat jolting.

These are minor inconveniences, however, and we'll definitely recommend the Old Santa Fe Inn to anyone going to Sante Fe.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

My husband and I booked this hotel based on the reviews. After reading the reviews, seeing pictures, and getting our room for under $100, I was really looking forward to coming here. Overall location was good, rooms were small but reasonable for the price, and staff are friendly.
However, we were disappointed at the thin walls. We checked in really late, and when we were getting ready for bed, we noticed that we could hear the people walking in the room above us. It was just annoying when you're trying to get a good night sleep. Then if they flushed the toilet, we could hear it too. Ugh! We were too tired and didn't think of complaining. I just decided that I would ask them to change our room the following day. (I have to also mention that their AC/Heater unit not only takes forever to heat up the room, but is noisy too.)
When I talked to the lady at the front desk the following morning, she seemed very concerned and told us that she wished we had called the front desk so they could have rectified the problem. That was nice. However, when she tried to give us a different room, I inquired about rooms with fireplaces. Then she said, "Would you like to upgrade?" as I had booked traditional rooms with no fireplace. After I asked her how much that would be, she looked at her folder and then said it'd be "$10 dollars." I couldn't believe what she was saying. At other hotels we had stayed, they would have automatically given us a free upgrade. No questions asked. It's not that I can't afford an extra $10, but it was more a matter of principle for me. That was a test of their service, which they completely failed. I ended up just switching to an equivalent room (no fireplace), but the room turned out to be much smaller than the first room we were in.
I'm sure 90% of the time travelers will have a pleasant experience at the Old Santa Fe Inn. However, it just wasn't the case for my husband and I this time.
This means that when you book here, just make sure you tell them you want rooms that are not near stairways and/or with rooms above you. Then you should be fine.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Address: 320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Santa Fe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.