We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Southwestern Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Save Saved
You added Old Santa Fe Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Santa Fe Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #3 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Calgary, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Southwestern Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My best friend and I met in Santa Fe, where we enjoyed our six-night stay at the Old Santa Fe Inn, split into two parts by a one night visit to Taos. Nomar at reception took wonderful care of us, putting us into a wheelchair accessible room in case we needed it. We were, after all, there to celebrate 45 years of friendship, which could have made us very old indeed! We were very happy with the beautiful, clean room, which looked 'normal' to us, despite the handrails in the bathroom area and the walk-in shower, and we were unaware of his consideration for our needs until he upgraded us upon our return from Taos with an equally charming room! He provided us with local information, maps, drives to Taos, and restaurant recommendations. We looked forward to breakfast each day - plates of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, hot food at the burrito bar, tamales on Sunday morning. The lovely, comfortable public rooms, although not attached to the guest rooms (which are for the most part motel style) give a sense of 'hotel' to this establishment. There is a computer room as well, although the rooms have free wifi. I hope to return to Santa Fe one day with my husband and would definitely return to this hotel. It's an easy walk to Canyon Road, and to the Railway district, and we enjoyed the walk from town each evening after dinner. For an excellent local restaurant, try Del Charro Saloon for the creamiest green chile chicken chowder, great hamburgers and super margaritas.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, just ask for it! The hoteliers are eager to accommodate your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    626
    234
    43
    15
    7
See reviews for
140
493
56
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st. louis, missouri
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Old Santa Fe INn and it was everything I read about on TA. We paid for an upscale room and it was worth it for the space. We even had a little terrace. Too bad the weather did not allow much use. We arrived very early and were given a key right away. All we wanted to do was ask if we could park. We walked everywhere from this location but it is about 2 blocks out of the tight plaza area which made going places in the car also very easy. The breakfast room and food were really nice and the tea/coffee/cookies in the evening in the library were great. Everyone we dealt with there was super nice and helpful. I only downscaled from 5 stars because I thought our room, especially the bath was a little worn. It would never keep me from staying there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Very convenient location walkable to the historic center. Also a nice lobby area and very good breakfast. The room was nice although it could have used a chair more comfortable than the straight back desk chair. We chose a room with a fireplace that was cozy at night.We arrived early enough to find a parking spot near our room but I get the impression that this can be a problem when the inn is at capacity or hosting an event.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Old Santa Fe Inn in March during our annual visit to Santa Fe for Restaurant Week & the Fountain Pen show. We had a Traditional King Kiva room that was very comfortable. Bed was great and the fireplace added just the right ambience when it started to snow. Within comfortable walking distance to the Plaza & downtown as well as Sanbusco Center and Rail Yards. Breakfast was fresh and delightful every morning and coffee & tea available all day. The staff was very personable and helpful. My only semi-complaint - this is an old motor inn that has been converted to a boutique type establishment and the parking spaces are not really meant for folks w/large trucks like my Dodge. That said, it is certainly not enough of an inconvenience to prevent us from returning. Matter of fact, I think we have found our new regular stopping place. Planning a return in Nov. for our anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This Inn offered a great location for accessing the shopping area of Santa Fe. Everything was in easy walking distance of the Inn. The Kiva rooms were extremely comfortable, reasonably priced and were extremely quiet. I guess it is that adobe construction, but we could not hear a neighbor on either side of us and I know the rooms were occupied. The rooms have very quiet air handling systems operated with a remote control. There is even a fire place inside the room.

Breakfast was included and it was very nice. They had eggs, bacon, make your own waffles, a tortilla bar, juice and fruit bar. All very nice and the eggs were fresh.

The people at the front desk were very helpful and polite. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong with any room. We originally had a room on the second floor, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman MT
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in late February and found it to be very comfortable. Five minute walk to the Plaza. Very good value, as it was winter and rates were discounted. The breakfast bar was bland, but fresh, easy and quick. My husband could hear a little noise from the room next door, but I wear earplugs, so I found it very quiet:)

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not have anyone upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom suite and it was fabulous!! It was so cozy and warm, we didn't want to leave! We will stay here again if we are ever in Sante Fe. I highly recommend this place to any one :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Address: 320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Santa Fe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.