We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Old Santa Fe Inn to your Saves list
Old Santa Fe Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The room was small, but very nice, and the location was perfect for us as we planned to walk most of the time anyway.
This was the first place my husband and I stayed on our SW trip last October, and the style of the inn was a great way to settle into the SW environment.
Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, and this place did not disappoint. They served breakfast burritos with beans, fresh scrambled eggs, spicy salsas, cheese, and potatoes. The kitchen staff did a great job. (they also had the usual continental breakfast fare of waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt, granola, etc.)
The bed was also quite comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    256
    47
    15
    7
See reviews for
150
544
59
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Old Santa Fe is indeed an older hotel, with rooms facing and opening onto a central parking area. For me, this made coming and going more convenient, but some people may be concerned with safety. Give the location of the Inn, however, (it is located across the street from the Old Capitol and just a few blocks front he central plaza), it appeared to be pretty safe.

The rooms were clean and not without charm. We had a king with fireplace (gas). Our rate included the breakfast buffet, which was well prepared and substantial. Typical fare (cereal, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, toast/bagels) and a very hearty "breakfast burrito" bar. On top of all this, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, making our staff there over Christmas very pleasant.

Finally, given all the Inn has to offer, the price, compared to other similarly located hotels/motels, makes the Inn well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The staff is amazing, really let you know they value you as a gueat. Clean decorated rooms. Great location, for walking arount town..
Morning buffet breakfast was the best complimentary breakfast anywhere.
Looking forward to staying again when I return to santa Fe.

Room Tip: ask for King Kiva room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Not only are the people here amongst the nicest, our room was comfortable, clean and cozy. We had a suite which was a gift upgrade when they could not accommodate our request for a patio. We also were the first to sleep on the new mattresses!

We were a two-minute walk to the shopping district, less than ten minutes to the central plaza.

There is also a breakfast buffett which was good and offered a nice selection of eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, make-your-own-burrito!, cereal, granola, yogurt, fruit, hot waffles, breads, etc etc etc.

I will stay here again and again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We just spent a couple nights in Santa Fe at this wonderful place. You can walk to the plaza, museums and many restaurants from the Inn. The rooms are lovely with complimentary water and chocolates when you arrive. The price is very good and you get a delicious hot breakfast each morning. If you are in town on a Saturday make sure to walk to the rail yard and check out the farmers market. The Old Santa Fe Inn will leave you wanting more of this great town.

Room Tip: We stayed in a traditional double and a Kiva double, both rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wow Wow and Wow. We LOVED the Old Santa Fe Inn.

Family Owned.
Beautifully Decorated Room.
Plush Linens.
Kiva Fireplace was a spectacular touch.
Walking proximity to sights, restaurants, museums, shopping.
Gracious Friendly Staff.
Insanely good, hearty, healthy, savory breakfast.
Relaxing Lobby Area with room for reading; sitting by the fire.

But what really impressed us was the thoughtful touches – all the things we wish for in a hotel room but find rarely provided:

EZ Access Electrical Outlet “hubs” placed throughout the room.
iHome w/ Charging Station
Mini Fridge
Good hairdryer (not a weak wall mounted unit)
Plush robes
Jacuzzi Tub
Bathroom Light Switch that does NOT activate a noisy exhaust fan
Full size dressing mirror.
Comfortable sitting chairs

The Owners thought of everything we often wish other hoteliers would.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My family stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas. We were very keen to explore the Santa Fe area, and after reading many rave reviews in TripAdvisor we decided that Old Santa Fe Inn would be our base. We promptly booked two suites, one with twin beds for our two adult sons, and one for my wife and I and our 10-year old son. This was going to be a 'once-in-a-lifetime' trip and since we would be travelling all the way from South Africa, we made the reservations with specific mention of the sleeping arrangement required, and prepaid these suites through Expedia a full 5 months in advance.
Well we were in for a very rude awakening! We arrived at the Inn in darkness after many grueling flights to find that our specific sleeping arrangements had been totally ignored. The front desk staff member seemed too tired to care, and mumbled something about this being Expedia's fault since they only forwarded the booking details to them on the day of the customer's arrival (so our 5 months' advance arrangements actually meant nothing to them; they almost seemed happy to simply blame us and Expedia for the position we were in!). Although they did have suites that matched our requirement, these were no longer available... In the end my two adult sons had to share a double bed in one suite, and the roll-away bed that was eventually brought to our second suite later that night for our 10 year old son took up so much space that we literally had to climb over it to get to the small bathroom. We asked them to remove it the very next morning, and my wife and I and our 10-year old son shared the double bed in the second suite.
Perhaps this influenced the way we experienced the rest of the stay as well, but we were generally rather disappointed and will definitely not return to this establishment again. The highly praised breakfasts were only so-so, the general ambiance was almost geriatric, the in-your-face pleas for tips for staff (in the breakfast area; at the coffee area; in the rooms;...) only added insult to injury.
On the positive side, we found some really helpful staff members on days three and four, we could comfortably walk to the old town square, and we made good use of the free coffee in the Inn's common area.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere; there are many other establishments that are also within walking distance to the town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSmallwood, Manager at Old Santa Fe Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We appreciate your patronage, but it's a little unfair to state that your accommodation requests "were totally ignored". If we don't receive your requests from your travel agents until just before you arrive, and if we do not have the needed rooms available (we are a smaller, boutique property), there is little we can do other than to contact your travel agent and inform them of this, which we did. After flying all the way from South Africa, we understand that you were upset to find things not as you'd expected, but I believe this set the tone for a negative perception of many other things and formed the basis of an overall negative review. I urge anyone reading this review to consider the circumstances here. To the client who wrote this: if you contact me directly, we can discuss this further and see if there is anything else we can do to address this. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Address: 320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Santa Fe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.