We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Disappointed in this Gem of a Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Old Santa Fe Inn to your Saves list
Old Santa Fe Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed in this Gem of a Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed here 3-4 times over the years. You have "free" parking within only a couple of blocks from the plaza. The airport shuttle will pick up or drop you off here if you're coming in from Albuquerque. They have a wonderful breakfast, and in the afternoon offer snacks such as fresh guacamole and salsa as well as cookies. Someone is at the front desk 24/7 and you can always go into the lobby, which is like a living room, and peruse newspapers, books, while helping yourself to hot chocolate, coffee and tea.
The rooms are each decorated in a Southwestern theme and they had recently added big flat screen tvs. Telephone use is free as is Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: No restaurant but breakfast and snacks offered later in the day. A workout room and computer/printe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    269
    53
    16
    7
See reviews for
155
590
63
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The old Santa Fe inn was the place some college friends and I chose for our mini reunion
It was a great location and very helpf staff
The room was very comfortable and you couldn't beat the price
Would return here anytime

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We are so glad that we selected this Inn for our four day stay in Santa Fe. Helpful Tripadvisor reviews came through for us once again. The free parking and close proximity of this Inn to town made it a pleasure to walk to the various shops, restaurants, museums and other sights located there. Compared to other places in the area, this offered us everything we needed at a much more reasonable price. Included in the cost was an outstanding buffet breakfast served in a delightful dining area. The ladies who attended to the guests could not have been more friendly or helpful. One of our favorites even hugged me on our last morning. The other perk was the afternoon snack in the lobby area which included a choice of delicious homemade cookies, salsa, guacamole and tortilla chips. Coffee, tea and a cold beverage were also available. We tended to enjoy our snack in the outdoor patio just off the dining room.
The staff at the desk were extremely courteous and helpful. On our second day, we decided to stay all four days in Santa Fe and not travel to Taos. They not only managed to find a Junior Suite for us for that third day but had it ready for us to move into right after breakfast. Since we liked it better than the Deluxe Suite we had booked, they arranged for us to keep it the fourth day as well. The only disappointment in our entire stay was that the Deluxe Suite initially assigned to us had been in the front of the building near the road. Even though the road was pretty quiet and the rooms large, it lacked the brightness and cheeriness of the Junior Suite which was in a better location. Both rooms, however, were spacious and well decorated with comfortable beds and cozy gas-burning Kiva fireplaces.
Places we enjoyed visiting beyond Albuquerque and Santa Fe were: Acoma Pueblo ( west of Albuquerque), Sandia Peak lookout, the Turquoise Trail, Bandolier National Monument and El Rancho de las Golondinas (the “Williamsburg” of NM) which is a half hour drive south of Santa Fe (phone to check on their hours).

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanford, ca
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Have stayed in Santa Fe several times over the past ten years (mostly at Hotel Santa Fe). This visit, I decided it was time to try something new. No regrets!

Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast. Fair room rate for Santa Fe. The Plaza and Canyon Road are within walking distance of Old Santa Fe Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The inn staff couldn't be more helpful. They gave us wonderful suggestions for local and regional day trips. Amenities including breakfast and afternoon tea and cookies hit the spot. The plaza is a few blocks away from the inn which made getting to museum, shops, dining so convenient. Museum hill and canyon road wasn't far and we'll worth the time.
Our room was very nice, clean and the shower has excellent water pressure.
I would certainly return it the Old Santa Fe inn

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The rooms are cozy (but not overly small) and very comfortable. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. Having our own gas-burning kiva fireplace made for a romantic setting. What really stands out is the friendliness of the staff...which seems to hold true for all New Mexicans! We had auto issues, so didn't arrive until 1:30am. While we did have to "buzz" the night attendant via the intercom, he was very understanding and friendly (understand, this is more like a bed and breakfast vs. a hotel...the lobby is not manned 24x7). When we confused our checkout date, we received a call from the manager, asking if we would like to extend our stay at their most competitive rate (as cheap as I got on Hotels.com), or they offered to pack up our luggage and have it waiting for us upon our return for a late checkout. The breakfast was also well above average...Starkbucks coffee, authentic NM breakfast burritos w/freshly roasted green chile, and seasonal fresh fruit (amongst other things).

Room #32 has a private patio. It is small (4'x8'), surrounded by a log fence, as it backs up to another parking lot...but perfect if you're a smoker, or just prefer to lounge around outside instead of in.

We loved this place, and will always stay here when we come back to Santa Fe!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a very enjoyable 4-night stay at the Old Santa Fe Inn. Highlights included the clean and comfortable room, the fantastic breakfast, the extremely helpful front desk staff (thank you again Matt and Danny) and the perfect location -- close by to the Central Plaza and the Railyard section but on a quiet street. The only quibble I had was that our room (16) had a door to the adjoining room and that door, even when kept closed, let in a lot of noise (e.g., the TV) from our neighbors. Fortunately, they turned their TV off at 9:30 so it did not impact our sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Address: 320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Santa Fe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.