We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel 8 Route 66” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Save Saved
You added Old Santa Fe Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Santa Fe Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Hotel 8 Route 66”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

After a longish drive we arrived at Santa Fe. Our sat nav took us through side streets and it was only when we arrived at the Inn that we realised that we were right beside the historic centre .We had arrived early and our room was noT quite ready but we were able to park right outside, leave our stuff in the car and walk into the centre. Santa Fe is a great town to visit. Interesting architecture, historical buildings, museums, and a laid back charm which has not been ruined by the tourist shops. There was a festival on in the plaza with music and dancing, and a friendly atmosphere. the hotel was comfortable, reasonably priced and served an excellent breakfast. a good place to stop for the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    237
    43
    15
    7
See reviews for
143
501
57
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dennis, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here during the very busy Indian Market weekend and could not have been more pleased. From the gracious front desk welcome (Thanks, Matt) to the gift bag in our room, nearly every detail was perfect. There is great coffee available all the time along with a delicious breakfast and afternoon snacks. Location is superb--just 5 minutes to nearly everything. Wifi in our room was a problem--but it was fine in the lobby area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Good New Mexican breakfast with red and green and Starbucks coffee. Wifi worked easily and good enough with multiple devices. Rooms with a patio are 18, 19, 29, 32. Room 19 is over 18 and the noise carries easily. We started in 18 and mgmt ( thanks Danny) easily moved us when we asked.
Comfortable, well maintained, motel, drive up to your room, walk 2 blocks to the square, away from the square noise and traffic. Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent last weekend in Santa Fe with friends and family. It was Indian Market so the town was packed. We've been there many times but this was our first time at Old Santa Fe Inn (OSFI). What a nice property! We were in an upstairs 'suite' with livingoom (frig and micro wave) plus a very large bedroom with a king bed. The hide-e-bed sofa was the best I ever saw - you pulled it out then pushed a button and the mattress inflated to a very comfortable queen sized bed. A hot buffet breakfast was included and had something for everyone - even the little kids. OSFI is only a two block walk from the Plaza. The only reason I haven't rated it 'Excelent' is that it does not have a pool and that would have been great for the kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We selected the hotel, based on location, AAA rating, and some internet reviews. Like any hotel that we have never stayed at, we were not 100% sure of the property. Needless to say, our stay was like advertised.

The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Hotel service was good too. Internet service was good. The breakfast was excellent, far superior than what most motels typically offer, and also included 3 choices of fresh fruit. Parking was convenient, as you can park within a few feet of your room.

This is certainly not the least expensive hotel in town. However I think the prices are fair, for what you get.

This hotel will be my first choice on my next visit to Santa Fe!

Room Tip: I would suggest visiting in the winter. Rates are less, and the temps. are actually fairly mild.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My partner and I had the opportunity to stay at the Old Santa Fe inn during Indian Market this year. This time was even better that the other time we stayed during the holidays. I think we had become regulars there. You can tell they were busier, but they make us feel like home. They had goodies for us when we check in. The Chocolates were exquisite, they even gave us a "fancy" water bottle and a bag of local pop corn.
People in the reception was amazing. Nomar check us in and the only thing I can say is that he really is a super star! he is knowledgeable, personable and always with a big smile. (personal advice for management, is that they should use Nomar as their reservations department trainer) The service from the staff in the hotel was great but it was not the story while we made the reservation (the only bad thing). Ernesto and Joey where also great! You really feel like home in that hotel. The location is amazing and really we got a great deal.

Room Tip: Call directly the hotel to book the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSmallwood, Manager at Old Santa Fe Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive review! We appreciate your kind comments and patronage. With regard to the reservations issue, since we record all of our calls I will find this one, listen to it with our team, and we will determine what we can do better. We will make changes and step up training as appropriate.

Our front desk is far too busy to take reservations calls, so we will have to work to make our reservations department better, and we will. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in room 2, the upstairs deluxe suite overlooking Galisteo Street, with a view of the New Mexico State Capitol complex, for Indian Market week. Most Santa Fe hotels jack up their rates at that time, and Old Santa Fe Inn is no exception. Having paid a steep premium, I was less forgiving of the room's flaws than I might have otherwise been. The good: location, spaciousness, view, quality bedding, mattress, and carpet. The air conditioning worked well, and was reasonably quiet. The bedroom A/C unit pointed directly at the head of the bed, but was not too uncomfortable at night, when on low. The bad: thin walls, aging plumbing and bathroom ventilator fans. Whenever a certain one of my neighbors took a shower in the morning, it was impossible to sleep. It was so loud that in the evening, it drowned out my TV at normal volume. Room 2 is next to the one over the laundry room. I felt sorry for my neighbors in that room, because that noise was mildly annoying for me. The ugly: peeling paint on the bedroom wall and on the hearth, stained, dirty-looking jets in the creaky Jacuzzi tub, having to jiggle the toilet handle to stop it from leaking, and dirty windows (see photos). I did not get wi-fi in my room on the first day. The next day, I went to use my tablet in the hotel lobby, and the friendly desk clerk offered to help. He phoned the hotel's network administrator first, and then the hotel's service provider tech hotline, long-distance, wherever it was. Fine, but then he asked me to speak with this tech person. After answering questions and listening to a lot of Muzak, one thing led to another, and I was being asked by both the tech people and the hotel, to got to my room, and be available for the rest of the afternoon for a level 2 tech person to call. At that point, I refused to do the hotel management's job. Interestingly enough, wi-fi service was available in my room from that evening on, albeit weak and slow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSmallwood, Manager at Old Santa Fe Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your comments. We are looking into all of the items you mentioned and we will address each of them quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Address: 320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Santa Fe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.