We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, location, service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Old Santa Fe Inn to your Saves list
Old Santa Fe Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Comfort, location, service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a great motel style inn with comfy bed, nice linens and an awesome breakfast. Breakfast is a buffet but ingredients and preparation is above average. I loved the nutty raisin bread--obviously from a local bakery. The rest of the fam made their own breakfast burritos.
The proximity to old Santa Fe clenches the deal. It is in a quiet part of town just a few blocks from all the action.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Jr Suite and got a nice private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    256
    47
    15
    7
See reviews for
150
544
59
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sisters, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great location, free parking, yummy breakfast, warm and friendly staff....this motel exceeded my expectations. We loved being able to walk downtown or the Railyard District in 5-10 minutes and made it to Canyon Way in just over 10 minutes. Our room (#22) was a double queen and very quiet with a totally silent heater and very comfortable beds. Although the only place to sit was at the table by the window it was not an issue for us since we were pretty beat after a day of walking and gawking. Starbucks may not be my first choice in coffees but it is a huge step up from what is usually available and it's always available in the lobby. I'm sure there are much more refined options but if you're looking for a comfortable, quiet motel with a super helpful and friendly staff I encourage you to check it out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, I knew we'd made the right choice. With lots of amenities and a great location we loved being here. The kiva fireplace kept us warm at night after a long walk around downtown. Loved the breakfast. Workout room was well-equipped and functional. Bathroom layout great for two. We had the king room #17 which is a bit larger than some rooms. Gave me space for working on my blog at night without being bothered too much by hubby's tv. really like the fact that you can park next to your room like the old motor lodges. desk staff was so helpful, even printing out directions to a car wash.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We chose to stay at the Old Santa Fe Inn because of the reviews on Trip Advisor, and for the most part, this place was fine. The room was clean and the bathroom was okay. But this probably isn't somewhere I'd return.

We rented a Queen room because of an off-season deal we found, and I suspect most of the positive reviews on TA came from folks who had stayed in larger rooms. The Queen size rooms are quite small; there was nowhere to put our suitcases and when we brought lunch back one day, we had to eat it on the bed because there was nowhere to sit. Definitely not the size room you want if you plan on doing anything other than sleeping in there. And definitely not a room I'd pay $300 for -- wow! I am super glad we got a deal to stay there.

The second major issue was that we happened to be in town when a front came through, so it was extremely windy and cold. Even with the heater in the room going full blast, the room only managed to get up to 63 degrees. I had to hang towels over the windows to reduce the gusts of freezing cold wind coming in. Santa Fe is obviously hot in the summer, but it gets quite cold in the winter, so you'd think they might insulate their windows.

And finally, I did not experience any of the amazing service everyone raved about; I hear the owners were maybe out of town? All I know is the guy at the desk we interacted with the most was waaay too busy playing solitaire to answer questions or help us out; he grudgingly looked at us long enough for us to ask to store some ice and sort of threw the bag at us when we came to get it the next morning (I saw the computer from behind when we walked down the hallway; he was playing solitaire for two days solid as far as I could tell). Not friendly, not helpful.

The breakfasts were great. The breakfast room was cozy and welcoming, and somewhere I'd have been happy to sit with coffee for a while if I'd had time. The staff working breakfasts were friendly and fun to chat with.

And lastly, the location was great - definitely a plus to be located there.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 39 in cold weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nice, spacious, well decorated rooms, and it's easy walking distance to the heart of Santa Fe. The staff is friendly, and the service is excellent. The amenities are everything you'll need, and the continental breakfast is quite nice! This is a really comfortable place with great ambiance!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I chose the Old Santa Fe Inn because of the ratings and comments we viewed on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. We stayed for four nights in a room with a gas fireplace, microwave, small two door fridge flat screen TV and whirlpool tub. Though it was small, it had delightful atmosphere, excellent location, complete breakfasts and was spotless. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

we had thought about trying something different on our 6th visit to Santa Fe but realized that the Old Santa Fe Inn was still the best choice when it came to location,comfort and style. We had reserved a Junior Kiva Suite six months in advance just to make sure we'd get a room,being that our vacation was during spring break. On arrival everything looked just as we had last seen it but two things were missing, the two friendly faces of Michael and Alejandra at the front desk,we thought "Maybe it's their day off!" but as our stay continued with no Michael or Alejandra we realized that we probably wouldn't have the opportunity of seeing them before we left for our next destination.. These two employees made "The Old Santa Fe Inn' a joy to stay at, hopefully we'll see them next time....

Room Tip: If you're traveling with canine companions be sure to ask for a suite away from other rooms,the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Address: 320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Santa Fe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.